We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #110 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here at the Bayside for 4 nights 3/20-3/24. We booked a room in the newest building, I think they were called Executive rooms. This building had just opened in 2013, so needless to say it still had that nice new construction smell! It was nice to have a clean room and large enough for our family of 4! The onsite restaurant was nice b/c kids eat free! The pool was nice, as was the putting green area! Just felt like a nice place to relax! We would stay here again if we ever find our way back to San Diego!

Room Tip: If you want to upgrade, stay in the newest building! Very clean! Large rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    279
    133
    49
    40
See reviews for
226
152
30
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the HI-Bayside for three nights. Our boys, 9 and 13, loved the on-site amenities. They spent many hours playing shuffleboard, live grass putt-putt, and ping pong. It was a little chilly for the pool, but they checked it out as well. The grounds are beautifully manicured and spotless. We opted for the kids' suite "Zoo Room," but ended up switching rooms due to the noise of the ice machines and banging housekeeping door. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My husband and I liked the proximity to San Diego sites, and we had a great view of the harbor...not a bad way to wake up! If we are ever lucky enough to find ourselves in SD again we will stay at the HI-Bayside.

Room Tip: Try to steer clear of the ice machines and elevators. The pool side rooms seemed nice, especially i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larryhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I travel last minute to San Diego a lot for work and the Holiday Inn Bayside always accommodates me very well (even not being IHG platinum). First and foremost this hotel is always easy on the expense report. While most other hotels in the SD area change their rates depending on the season, H I Bayside is always consistent. Best winter deal in town. Restaurants on the bay are across the street. The rooms are very recently updated and the other amenities look awesome as well (unfortunately don't get to use them as much as I'd like with work). The staff is always friendly and will work to get you the best room available. The property is also minutes from downtown (Gaslamp and Embarcadero) and even closer to little Italy. Great location and great service!

Also, whenever checking in, even if he isn't helping me, Keith always remembers me and says hi. It's those little things that make life on the road more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older buildings are updated just as nice as the new building (as of last stay, they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j5gronbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was visiting a client on Point Loma and the hotel was very convenient. My husband arrived a day later while I was at work and did not receive good instructions on how to find our room (his name was on the reservation and they did give him a key). Our room had doors on both sides for adjoining rooms. We could hear voices in the other rooms on either side but at least the neighbors were not too noisy and did not stay up late. We were in the "tower" section and I had trouble finding the business center in my building. When I did find it, the computers were restricted as to what you could do so I had to change my strategy to get printouts of work items. It seemed like anyone could walk into the building off the street which I am not used to in hotels that I stay in. However, I did not see anything that made me feel insecure. The Point Loma Cafe was very good for breakfast. I also recommend Point Loma Seafood and Pizza Nova for lunch or dinner. There are other good restaurants in the area. We used to live in SD and always appreciated the good restaurants there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Robin N: Thank you so much for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you might have experience during your stay of not being able to get the print outs you needed for your work and also trouble in finding our business center. We are currently renovating and that will include the upgrade of our business center. I also want to apologize that your husband was not given a good instruction on how to get to your room. I do understand that our property is a little spread out and people find it confusing at times even with a good direction so I can only imagine your husband's frustration. I hope that you will consider us again when planning a trip to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I followed my husband on a conference trip to San Diego and we stayed at the Holiday Inn San Diego. It is a beautiful old resort that has been maintained meticulously. I tend to be quite picky about hotel rooms and this room was well decorated and clean. We stayed on the second floor in the main building in beachfront room. It was easy to get to the room via stairs while still providing a gorgeous view.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level Contributor
560 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Generally well-kept up property.

Nice view right onto the Bay at Shelter Island.

Good exercise area. Where was the controller for the TV?

Plumbing problematic in the room: Leaked; tub wouldn't hold water. These are issues that didn't happen overnight. WHY hadn't they been addressed? Not noticed? Noticed but no one cared?

Room Tip: See if you can ask for a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear William D,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the view.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the the bathroom condition. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We are in the new section and the rooms and view of the harbor are great. Great location, near airport and nice area to walk along the sport-fishing area. Very nice staff. Several nice restaurants in the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stephen10023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.7 mi away
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#53 of 279 in San Diego
1,345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing