We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #111 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not that impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a weird layout of hotel. You go in to register at a really nice looking lobby, then we had to get back in our car and drive down past three drive ways. The middle part of the hotel is old with outside exposed doors and then the other part is aging, but nicer. Still not as nice as the quality of the lobby however. We had to walk across the parking lot, through the gym past the bar to get to the pool. The pool was cold and hot tub was not very big. Seemed like when I viewed the property on line from lobby pictures this was going to be a really nice hotel for the money, but the lobby is the only part of the whole compound that is that nice. I would say it is over priced for what you get, but not horrible. The $10 for parking is kind of high since they are not assigned per room. The hotel was clean, just old.

Room Tip: The kids suites are fun for the kids. There are bunk beds a desk and tv however the wall only goes u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisem306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear denisem306: Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. First and foremost, please allow me to apologize for any confusion you encountered with the layout of the hotel. Due to the different construction and expansion that our hotel had, many people are surprised to find that the hotel has a unique layout and not your traditional hotel that people are accustomed to. Rates vary depending on season and availability, therefore rates can be competitive or deemed high in comparison to other properties in the area. We will always do our best to give our clients the best possible rate. I totally understand your frustration with the hotel parking fees. Unfortunately there are costs associated with maintaining parking lots and structures, particularly in densely populated urban areas like San Diego. We would certainly like another opportunity to win back your good faith to our hotel during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    279
    133
    49
    40
See reviews for
226
152
30
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very standard room but clean and nicely appointed. We were in the new section and also was very quiet. Concierge was exceptional in helping us with an issue...not many people would sit on a phone for three quarters of an hour and still smile at the end of it!!!

Room Tip: Ask for carpark views rather than harbour views and you will have quiter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janfin4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Janfin4350: Thank you so much for your nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and you are happy with the service that our concierge provided you. We are so fortunate to have staff that genuinely cares about our guests and provide service with a smile. Looking forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this hotel with the family of 4. We stayed in one of the poolside rooms which was a good location for the kids but the rooms are quite old. The staff were all very friendly and the restaurant food was quite good.

The location means you can go across the road to the marina where you can find some great eateries and a nice walk along the water. The hotel also had a small convenience store and bottle shop which is handy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thecraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear thecraw: Thank you so much for posting your review and talk about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside. We appreciate feedback from our guests regardless of its nature. I am happy that you like the location of the room and that you find our staff very friendly. We take pride in making sure that all our employees provide the best customer service possible to each and every guests. I am sorry that you felt the rooms were quite old. We are currently undergoing renovation and that includes all case goods. We sincerely would like to see you again on your future visit to San Diego and see all the improvements we have done with our property. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The location is good for Point Loma/Harbor Island/Shelter Island access. Very close to the airport, and has a free shuttle. You can walk to several good restaurants. Rooms are pretty dated and ordinary. Small bathroom vanity area a little too separate from tub/shower room. We had a room with a ground floor patio, which was pleasant. The affiliated Point Loma restaurant has decent food and good service. The whole facility is spread out in rather odd fashion; the gift shop is in a different building from the main lobby; the fitness center is in yet another building. The pool area was clean and a nice temp, but the whirlpool is small and has weak jets.

Room Tip: Not sure. Most of our family (we were all there for a wedding) was in a different building, where ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear macrabbit: Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit and stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am happy to hear that you did enjoy the location as we are indeed centrally located and there are so many ways to enjoy the area especially at Liberty Station which is just a few blocks away from the hotel which boast a wide array of bars and restaurants, a promenade, retail and commercial district. Many people are surprised to find the property to be a little bit spread out compared to other standard high rise hotels in San Diego and sometimes create challenges for our guests. I am happy that you enjoyed our heated pool. This fall we are going to renovate our pool area and converting our existing 6 person jacuzzi into a 12-person jacuzzi. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to see you again to our property during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Most importantly the property is clean and in a great location. It is also conveniently located near downtown and next to several marina side restaurants within walking distance. I will stay here again but will request the room to be in the new building.

The hotel appears to be a combination of what used to be up to 3 separate properties. The check in area is in a new building that is very nice, another one appears to be older outside entrance motel and one maybe the old Bay Side hotel? I was put in the old hotel part. The room was large, very clean and relatively comfortable. Though the furniture and décor appears to be from the late 1960’s. The bar/lounge is located in the middle of the properties and is in need of an update. Attempted to order several common beer brands, all of which were out of stock. Did not try the property’s restaurant but it did not appear very inviting.

Room Tip: Request front (new) building room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickeytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear pickeytraveler: Thank you so much for giving us a 4 star rating and posting your review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. Many people are surprised to find that our hotel is spread out differently especially with the addition of the new Bayside Building. We are currently renovating to include all case goods to mirror everything that is in the new building and we expect completion by June 2014. The renovation also include updating the bar which we already started and made quite a few changes. Perhaps on your next visit you will see and enjoy all the improvements we have done with our property. I have forwarded your comments to our Restaurant Manager regarding the beer selection and availability. I apologized for any inconvenience you might have experienced. We are looking forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Recently stayed 2 nights for a high school reunion.Very conveniently located near the airport ,Liberty station,Shelter Island and Sunset Cliffs and its a short walk across the street to the bay. The entire staff helped to make our reunion special from the Group event planner to the chef, bartenders and servers every thing went extremely smooth . The hotel room was clean and the beds were very comfortable (bathroom was on the small size) but a great value for the area in San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nita z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My daughter and I have stayed here twice while visiting her Navy boyfriend stationed at nearby Point Loma NS. The location is conveniently located near the airport, the Point Loma and Sunset Cliffs scenery, and is only a short drive from downtown. The property was clean and pleasant, the rooms were comfortable and light-filled. We ate at the associated restaurant and ordered from room service during our week-long stay; we were quite pleased with our meals. No complaints whatsoever. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SML-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.7 mi away
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#52 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing