We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad hotel ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #110 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

After trying (unsuccessfully) to get from Atlanta to Los Angeles, we ended up in San Diego with no place to stay. It was late and we were tired. After calling many hotels, we finally found one room left at this hotel. The room was called the Zoo Room. It had one queen bed and a set of bunk beds, with decor resembling the San Diego Zoo (better suited for a family obviously). We didn't see much of the property but can say the staff was extremely hospitable. Since we landed at the airport so late there wasn't a shuttle driver available to pick us up. So we took a taxi and they reimbursed us for the fare. It was a fairly decent room at a decent price, with great customer service.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Michelle V: Thank you for taking the time and review our property during a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside here in San Diego. We appreciate and depend on feedback from our guests to help us achieve the very best level of service possible. I am happy to hear that you find our staff to be extremely hospitable. Your acknowledgement and recognition of professionalism and hospitality by our hotel associates will be shared with all the departments. Maybe in your future visit you can enjoy all the hotel amenities and services we have to offer. We are looking forward to serving you again if you happen to be in San Diego in the future. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    278
    131
    49
    40
See reviews for
223
152
30
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
220 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel in a room the front desk agent called "our cheap rooms" and that was a pretty accurate description. This property is a combination of a new building and the "cheap rooms" and we had the latter for two nights. Rooms are expensive here and the only good thing about our room was a door that led to the pool area --

The rooms in our part of the hotel all open directly onto the parking area, something we try to avoid. The other issue was a questionable smell from the mattress, however the hotel was sold out during our visit and nothing else was available.

For the price of our room on any other visit we'd seek out a better property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Bill L : Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and talk about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the room that you stayed at . As is indicative of the hospitality industry, rates vary depending on season, availability and the market condition therefore, rates can be very competitive or deemed high in comparison to other properties or other cities. We will always do our very best to achieve the best possible rates for our clients. Allow me to apologize for not being able to accomodate your request for an upgraded room than what you reserved as we can only accomodate what our inventory would allow. We do our very best to accomodate all of our guests' requests,however sometimes we fall short of this accomplishment. Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. We hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn Bayside, we would sincerely like another opportunity to win back your good faith in our hotel. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

There are so many hotels in San Diego it became a little overwhelming! We were only in San Diego with our kids for 2 nights but so glad we had reserved a room at this Holiday Inn. The price was a great value we felt. Our experience was that the property as a whole was well maintained and the staff were very nice and professional. We did not encounter a single problem. As IHG rewards members we were upgraded to an executive suite in "the tower" which was a nice surprise. The room was large enogh and very clean and modern. We found it was also very quiet and we slept great. The Point Loma Cafe served a great breakfast where kids eat free. The fitness facility at this Holiday Inn was better than the majority of hotels we've stayed at with several different machines which is a real bonus for us. Also we really enjoyed the pool area which was well maintained and clean. The bar was nicely set up and you could bring a beverage over to sit by the pool or at the bars outside chairs. OVerall it felt more resort like than a chain hotel. The hotel is minutes from the airport and if you are renting a car it's a very easy drive to many of the other sites (zoo, old town, gaslamp). We enjoyed the views of the area the hotel was in also. Really great stay and if we are ever back in San Diego I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Become a rewards member and you may get upgraded at no additional charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donnellyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear donnellyjen: Thank you so much for letting us know of your experience about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am glad that you had a great time and enjoyed all the facilities we offer. We take pride in taking care of our guests and provide them with the best customer service possible. Last but not the least, thank you for your nice comments about how well maintained and clean our property is. We are very fortunate to have a great Housekeeping and Maintenance Department that takes very good care of our hotel. We hope to see you again here in San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a 1 night stay in San Diego and wanted something reasonable. We reserved three rooms and for a very decent price. Upon arrival they informed us that they upgraded 1 of the rooms which was awesome. They told us kids under 12 eat free and we used the pool til after the posted closing time and no one came out to ask us to leave. I would stay here anytime the staff was very nice and accommodating. The location was great right across the street from a nice row of restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rlrubio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this quickly at the last minute and should have done more homework. The property is spread across three separate buildings but the online listing shows a picture of a nice updated Holiday inn facility, which does exist but not necessarily what you will get. I booked a room that was labeled "economy" but still about 200 bucks. Well I ended up in a poorly maintained two story motel like facility. In Room 208 the sink was plugged up, toilet took at least 10 minutes to fill and never really stopped running, TV remote didn't work, non-smoking room smelled like smoke, sink towel bar fell off with no one in the room, inadequate parking, and constantly apologizing and comping for complaints at front desk. Basically it's a total nightmare. You would likely do better at a lesser named budget hotel. Just when my impression of holiday Inn was starting to change due to their revitalization efforts, this killed it. On the positive side, it's 5 mins from the airport and about 10 mins from the lively downtown gaslamp area. But my experience was awful and was certainly not what I expected from a modern Holiday Inn. Make sure you understand what building you will be in before you book although there is no excuse for lack of maintenance at any hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzyeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear jazzyeric: Thank yoiu so much for posting your review about your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Bayside. Upon reviewing your posting I was concerned that your visit with us was not as enjoyable as we both would have liked. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Good maintenance is a standard expectation for our hotel, and it concerns me that you stay has been otherwise. Be assured that our Chief Engineer has been notified of all the shortcomings mentioned concerning the sink, running toilet, TV remote that didn't work, sink bar towel and already took all the necessary actions to correct these deficiencies. Again, thank you for your comments. It is through these comments such as yours that we can continue to improve our service. WE would be grateful if during a future visit to San Diego area you would give us the opportunity to provide you the superior service we expect all our guests to receive. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Bayside for 5 nights to attend a conference in San Diego. Holiday Inn Bayside is a bit out of the way, so taxi to about 13 USD was required every time we wanted to go to the Convention Center or to a restaurant in the Gaslamp district. On the other hand, it is convenient to reach the Fashion Valley Shopping Mall that contains all necessary shops for Sunday shopping.
The hotel is clean, quiet and easy to deal with, has a good breakfast restaurant and a friendly bar by the pool. The only negative about the hotel is that the pool is not clean so I didn't care for a swim.

Room Tip: I asked for a room "high up", which worked very well. I would not have liked to stay on gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 190479Okr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Ok, by no means is the high end hotel, but it is a clean hotel with basic amenities. It has an outdoor pool hot tub. The bar puts out appetizers daily at 5pm. The restaurant inside the hotel is reasonably priced, and if you don't want to eat there, you can walk across the street or around the block to any number of places to grab a bite. There is a laundry room located in the hotel, and it cost about 1.50 to wash 1.25 to dry a load of laundry. Parking cost 10 dollars per day, but if you are willing to walk you can locate a place to park for free on the street. Of course if you do this you will be carrying your luggage to the car since you have to pay to bring your car in the lot.
The staff is friendly, and the hotel is only about five minutes from the hotel. if you like to fish Point Loma has a number of fishing boats across the street, and most can be book online. Overall, a decent place use by families, military, flight crews and tourists. Enjoy the stay.

Room Tip: pool is on the first floor, so many people will be around that area, for privacy get a second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thratko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
0.8 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.7 mi away
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#51 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing