We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best check-in experience ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #39 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I arrived late at night from Seattle. The desk clerk, Emma, was great: warm, cheerful, helpful, could answer every question (including the temperature of the swimming pool). When she offered the Eco choice for service, she reassured me I would get fresh towels and complementary drinking water replaced. Service at the hotel continued to he great--overall warm and caring. A great stay (and at government rate, a great bargain).

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Carlo1217

Wonderful to hear how helpful Emma in providing you with the "best check-in experience ever". And I was and very happy to know you chose to participate in our Make A Green Choice sustainability program. The initiative has been in place in many Westin hotels for years and we are committed to conserving energy wherever possible. Your choosing to join us in this effort is much appreciated.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

From the moment I arrived at the Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter I was welcomed and provided with amazing information and service!! Everyone on the staff was personable, helpful, and took the time to make sure that my stay was top rate. I accidentally left some of my belongings in my hotel room, though I didn't realize this until two days after I left the hotel. When I called the hotel, they were kind and quick to locate my belongings and return my call within 24 hours. One week later, I had all of my belongings back home with me along with a lovely note from the Housekeeping Manager. Thank you Daniela!! You and your staff ARE amazing, and I am grateful to all of you for my stay and wonderful experience in San Diego.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for business and for pleasure. It really is one of the best hotel in San Diego. Great location (you can walk anywhere), great room (nice, modern and clean) and great service (everyone was sincere and helpful). I will stay here again when I am in San Diego!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4travel360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear 4travel360

“One of the best in San Diego” “Great location” “Great room” “Great service”… All music to my ears and I couldn’t agree more! Thank you for continuing to choose to stay with us when you are in town. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Close to everything we wanted, especially the Gaslamp Quarter. This property offers exactly what you can expect from a Westin Hotel: everything is clean, rooms are big and modern, very attentive staff, fast vallet service. I just still can't understand why 4* hotels always wants extra money for average Internet connection.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

So happy this hotel has kept personal service in lieu of digital. The concierge was extremely helpful and made me feel nurtured, cared for and important.

Beautiful hotel, incredible service, so well laid out. Must stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I live in San Diego. We needed a place to stay while our house was tented for termite treatment. We have two large dogs. While many hotels allow small dogs, it is very difficult to find a hotel for large dogs. The Westin did not just allow my dogs, the dogs were welcomed. I am a Starwood Gold member and have stayed at a number of Westin hotels. On each occasion, the Westin has promoted their Westin Heavenly Beds. It was only on this visit that I became aware of the Westin Heavenly Dog Bed. When we arrived in our room it had already been prepared for the arrival of thee canine guests. Two Westin dog beds were on the ground. Food and water bowls, dog biscuits, poop pick up bags, and a map identifying nearby places for the dogs to go to the bathroom were laid out for our use. If you enjoy traveling with dogs, the Westin Gaslamp is a great place. Thanks Westin. Being out of the house for termite treatment is a real pain. The Westin made it a lot easier.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Last minute stop in San Diego and needed a hotel. The Westin Gaslamp offered me a 250 per night room for 130 dollars by combining my military discount with my SPG (starwood prefered guest membership). Thank you very much!
The room was modern and very up to date. I am going to guess that it was renovated very recently. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was top notch. The bathroom was super clean. I liked the ceramic bamboo tiles on back-splash very much(gotta copy that for my own place)! The shower was ultra modern with a rain-shower head and body spray.
The location was perfectly situated in the Gaslamp quarter. Restaurants abound and there is a very lively night life.
Con: they charge extra for in-room Wifi. I despise the treating of internet by hotels, restaurants, and coffee shops as a commodity. If you are a hotel manager and reading this - if you want my business then you must offer internet for free to your guests. It is one of my major deciding factors.

Room Tip: Views are limited due to the location of other large buildings (its in the downtown core).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#61 of 278 in San Diego
969 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#47 of 278 in San Diego
1,002 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,483 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £114 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing