We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #36 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunny San Diego”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was organized by SPG as the hotel I booked was no longer with Sheraton. Great central location with everything you need in walking distance. Great staff. Special shout out to Paul on the bellman's desk, he is extremely pleasant and shows great concern for your comfort. Definitely recommend for first time visitors to SD

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sully1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Sully1953

Thank you for the special shout-out to Paul! He is one of our many star associates and I will make sure he has a chance to read your review.

I was also pleased to learn that our SPG desk was able to help you find the perfect hotel in the perfect location! Our award winning SPG program is extremely popular, and with so many brands to choose from it's nice to have the chance to experience a different hotel within the Starwood family.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back San Diego.


Be well,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    547
    130
    40
    26
See reviews for
273
402
50
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tours, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed there in spring 2013 for a fiew nights. The room and the bathroom were comfortable but it looked a little bit "old" compared to the rest of the hotel and would need some king of refreshing. Delicious breakfast. The wifi is not free which is quite surprising in a business hotel….Cabs are most of time available just in front of the hotel. Don't hesitate to go shopping and especially in the Mall.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audrey4382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Like many hotels in larger, older cities, this hotel has been rehabbed. The finishes are lovely and on par for a Westin. However, the rooms are very humid. This could be from a lack of ventilation in the bathrooms, or some other ventilation issue. My room actually smelled like mildew toward the end of my visit. Additionally, the ceiling in my room appeared to have had water stains recently painted over. The dampness was a complaint among my travel companions as well. Those with chronic respiratory issues or allergies should reconsider staying here. The meeting rooms were perfect for our needs and the service top notch as always. This particular hotel is in the Gaslamp Quarter, which chock full of eateries and bars and not far from Coronado Island. I just can't rate it higher because of the worrying dampness of the room.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KD1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Kara D,
I am glad you felt the meeting rooms were perfect and the service was top notch. It is truly what we are known for and thanks for the acknowledgement.
In terms of dampness, I have stayed here at the hotel for over 3 month and I actually thought my room was too dry due to the weather in San Diego so I must say we had a completly opposite expereince. It is really hard to be damp in San Diego with little to no rain.
Call me and let me know more so that I can look into it again.
Looking forward to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
619 238 2615
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solebury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

The property is showing its age. I had a few maintenance issues with my room which were promptly dealt with. Rooms are nicely appointed, comfortable bed. Missed not having a concierge lounge. Location near Horton Plaza and many restaurants is a plus.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Flyboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
MNPilot,
Nicely appointed and comfortable bed, it is. We just went through a $25M renovation and most of our guests are praising our product. However, I know I service is second to none. Next time you visit us, please share your experience on our first class service. Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Westin San Diego Gaslamp this past weekend. Everything was wonderful from the valet, through the check-in, slumber, pool, coffee, check-out, and departure. Everything ... except ... my daughter left her fluffy blue slippers - new from Xmas. A call to the hotel upon our return to Los Angeles - the slippers were found within 30 minutes and FedEx'd to our home. We now have the fluffy blue slippers in our possession, and would return the the Westin without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Evan M,

What a great review! Not only was I pleased to know how much you enjoyed the hotel (the Heavenly Bed is hard to beat!), but I was particularly happy (yet not surprised) to read how the staff jumped to it and ensured your daughter’s slippers were returned as quickly as possible. We have a terrific team here and it’s always gratifying to hear stories such as yours and to be able to share them with our staff.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip down from LA!

Kind regards,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We live in SD and just stayed here one night so our daughter could have out house. We were war my greeted and service was prompt. We enjoyed our room and it was very clean. We got a list of nearby restaurants and had an overall great experience. Would use again if we needed a local place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggyf532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I would like to extend a big THANK YOU to the staff at the Westin. I was there for a military ball a few weeks ago and I was so impressed. Everything the hotel had designed and set-up for the military and their guests was AMAZING! The most amazing part was the staff. I stayed here for a few days before and after the ball and was sincerely touched by the wonderful staff. The valet guys out front, Andy and Thomas, the front desk girls inside Bri and Shayna and the wonderful event coordinator Mary. All these people made our night and my staff so special. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janellj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing