We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay, courteous and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay, courteous and friendly staff”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was my family's first time in San Diego and our first time at a Westin Hotel. It was by far the best Hotel experience ever. Everyone from the valet attendants to the front desk clerks were courteous, professional, and helpful. I plan to stay at Westin hotels whenever I travel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    540
    129
    39
    25
See reviews for
267
399
48
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

As a SPG platinum member, I was very surprised with the quality of customer service at the hotel. It was truly genuine and we had some amazing experiences from check in to check out. There was even a circumstance when we requested assistance from room service and Austin identified our exact needs and even returned to help without us asking! It was above and beyond.
Definitely a memorable experience, and I would be enthusiastic to return the next time I visit San Diego.

Room Tip: I stayed on the side with a city view- it was just ok. I'd be interested to see what the water v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucktown21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My sister and I stayed at this hotel while she attended a conference in San Diego. The hotel is an easy walk from the convention center BUT it is tucked away so you feel like you are on a little island with lovely shops and restaurants. The staff throughout the hotel very welcoming, helpful and accommodating except for the bar area during the superbowl. My sister got annoyed because the bartender was saving seats. She had asked at the front desk about super bowl Sunday and no one indicated that she should reserve a seat.

As others mentioned the valet parking is a whopping $38/night and there is no "self park" option. BUT there is a lot diagonally across from the hotel and it is $28/night. I parked there after the first night and felt that my car was secure.

Don't eat at the hotel for breakfast. The service is pleasant but VERY slow and over priced. Walk down the street to Café 222 and have a DELICIOUS breakfast for half the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrvineHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Our family visits this hotel a couple times a year and we always love it's proximity to the mall. Very convenient to be able to visit the CVS for snacks, the movie theater at night, and the food court for an inexpensive dinner. It's also a short trip to Sea World and the zoo, so perfect location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohkneebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

For decades, I've stayed in numerous hotels in and out of the San Diego area; with and without kids. The Westin GQ has been the best! I've booked hotels through on-line travel services, AAA, directly through the hotel via phone, website and/or hotel rewards programs.
Location, value, cleanliness, and professionalism of the staff stands out. It all started with Steven Khuon when I checked in. He made me feel like a VIP and his disposition gave the impression that he was glad I chose this hotel. Steven was proud and confident of his hotel. Upon check out, my family and I were at the valet and he came over once again to check in on us to make sure we were satisfied with our stay. Who does that? He remembered my name! The Westin GQ is our go-to hotel in San Diego!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcamerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I went to San Diego and while we realized that next time we're there we'll stay in a beach hotel, this Westin property was great! Staff were really kind and nice. The room is very clean and we had a great view of the city! The only not so great part is that we had to pay #38 dollars per day for the valet parking, they do not have parking. There's a parking lot in the mall next to it but you can't leave your car overnight. Be prepared to add that on to your final bill.

Room Tip: Pick floor 15 and ask for a view, the day and night view is amazing! Also, research about where to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marisabalfoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I just love the Westin Hotels with their very comfortable beds. The Westin San Diego Gaslamp District is located next to the shopping Mall and all restaurants, shops and the Marina are walkable. Very nice breakfast Restaurant. Absolutely to recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naitsabenomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#60 of 279 in San Diego
864 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
960 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
876 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
1,898 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing