We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #38 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Very helpful”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I came for a convention, and I must say, I was treated the way a guest deserves to be treated. I needed a special meal that wasn't on the menu during our banquet, and the captain, Dawn Burke, filled my needs very quickly and with courtesy.
That night we had a problem with our number of tables in the room, and Mondala was able to dispatch a crew that turned what could have been an uncomfortable situation into a non situation.
I would definitely return here if these two fine employees are indicative of the service here. Thanks

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Micros101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    556
    137
    40
    27
See reviews for
276
408
50
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile


Stayed over a week for convention with the family.

PRO- clean modern spacious rooms with pleasing neutral relaxing color scheme, rainfall showerhead, multiple carousel outlet plugs at desk, good gym, good little cafe for coffee and quick grab n go breakfast, good conference rooms, polite efficient front desk and concierge. Convenient as next to post office and a plethora of restaurants. Good central downtown location. Parking attendants were quick polite professional and helpful. Everything looks upscale.

CONS - PRICEY ROOMS, VALET PKG $38/day ouch!!! Nickel and dime you on everything- FREE IN ROOM WIFI FOR ONLY 3 DEVICES per 24hr period (we're a family and have 8 devices, have never experienced limits, only at Westins), needed to print tickets but the business lobby computers were LIMITED TO 15mins Free Access every 24hrs, then you're charged $ afterwards and you only get first 5b/w pages printed free, afterwards you have to pay 40cents per b/w pg

Outdoor pool and jacuzzi was freezing but kids insisted on going swimming and I dutifully sat outside freezing to monitor them. The pool area had no attendant for poolside food/ drinks or even clean up. Everyday that we were there at around 4 or 5pm there were used towels strewn everywhere and trays of empty plates half eaten food and drinks around, used towel hamper was always piled up full. It just looked unkempt and untidy. Elevators were so slow even though they had a bank of 4. The room was NOISY even as high up as our 10th floor room with Police/Fire Sirens at night, noisy game day/convention/ party drunken people at this GasLamp location. Walking around at night with kids after dinner at nearby restaurant not so appealing with all the downtown problems associated with being close to this upcoming gentrified area (read: homeless sleeping in doorways and sidewalks panhandlers sketchy bars clubs etc) It is an urban area and they are revamping HORTON PLAZA so the area should improve. Didn't have enough soap as we used up our bar within a few days and they didn't replenish until asked. I understand their wanting to go 'green' and maybe save a few green by doing all this environmental conservation thing but I'm on vacation and don't necessarily subscribe to all this. This is the 3rd Westin we've stayed at and it just seems each and every time we've been so DISAPPOINTED with this brand.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklegirl_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westingaslampSD, Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
sparklegirl_19,
Clean modern and spacious room with professional and helpful staff in a location that is second to none is us. You have descriped us very well. Thank you.

We have a heated pool and jacuzzi that is a rare in city center hotels. Food and beverage is served through Room Service and menu is posted right by the phone. Attendants are out there during the peak usage days. Pool area is not so popular during the winter although it is still much warmer compared to the NorthEast.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Charles Cho
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Upscale hotel in great, convenient location. Our room was clean and nice. It sits right next to an outdoor mall and the gaslamp quarter restaurants. The staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotwhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a night while we were in San Diego. We can't say a lot about the amenities but we can say that it's in a great location with lots of bars, restaurants and shops walking distance away. It's close to the airport and the front desk staff were wonderful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wisewoman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusby, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great location. Great staff! Clean rooms, and nice lobby for gathering. I was there for a work conference and the dinning areas were clean, food was good and again the wait staff did an awesome job attending to all. Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisterKristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just got back from an amazing weekend in San Diego. Was in town for a bachelorette party and had the best time. I was so excited to get out of the cold and have some fun in the sun.
The hotel is right in the gaslamp and very close to the airport. Wish they had a free shuttle but it was only a $15 cab ride away. My friend had the rooms all ready for us and we had a great view of the city. The room is simple and clean, nothing fancy.
I highly recommended going to the lounge bar for Happy Hour. They have really good appetizers and drink specials. Michelle was our waitress and she was so nice and friendly. She recommended some fun bars in the area that weren't so club like. She is actually why I did this review.
All and all it was a great weekend get away, maybe one day Ill be back!

Room Tip: wifi is free only in the bar, kinda a rip off in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centralwendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westingaslampSD, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear centralwendi,

How amazing to know that the interactions you had with Michele were the reason you took the time to post this wonderful review. I can’t tell you how happy and proud I am to know that she made such a lasting impression and helped make your weekend in sunny San Diego a memorable one. Wow!

Best,

Keri Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the end of March, 2014. It was our first experience at Westin hotels. Check in process was quick, friendly and fast. The hotel has highest floors for Starwood preferred members and as gold members we were on the highest floor with the good view of the city. Room was clean and well maintained with the plenty of space. One issue: you will hear very well what happens in the room next to yours. Hotel is located right next to the Gaslamp quarter, short drive to Seaport village, close to I-5 highway and etc. At the shopping mall that is almost attached to the hotel, we found a great organic grocery store.
There is lot to see at San Diego and we did not have enough time to see everything. Coronado Island is a must place to visit with a nice beach, shopping and just walking around. You will get a great view of San Diego from the Cabrillo National Monument. Old town is another place to visit for shopping, dining and entertainment. We have spent the whole day with our 8 years old son at Legoland. It was about 30 – 40 min drive from Westin and well worth it. Go there if you have young kids.
One major issue we had during our stay was the constant noise coming from somewhere outside that even technician was not able to identify. We were offered to move to another room on the next day and were giving a credit for the troubles.

I would definitely recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#59 of 279 in San Diego
896 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#29 of 279 in San Diego
972 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 910 Broadway Circle, San Diego, CA 92101-6114 (Formerly The Westin Horton Plaza San Diego)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarteris ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic and vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. Your unparalleled San Diego Accommodations include every imaginable amenity as well as proximity to all a Gaslamp Quarter Hotel offers: the very best of San Diego shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural activities. With striking bay and cityscape views, The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel features 450 guestrooms and suites, all tastefully remodeled to create a sense of calm and balance—a sanctuary of soothing color palettes, natural wood and stone accents and stylish décor. It’s a Downtown San Diego hotel without compare. Here you will enjoy incomparable San Diego accommodations like a Heavenly Bed®, flat-screen TV and spa-inspired bath amenities. You will leave feeling rested, energized and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing