We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good time was had by all”

Pirate Ship Adventures
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A good time was had by all”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I had a six year old visitor from Germany who was all about pirates. We found a flyer on this at the Carlsbad Visitor Center. It was a wonderful experience. The pirates stayed in character the entire time and even had the young boy swabbing the deck. Even someone who spoke no English had a blast. For the adults, it was a nice cruise of the bay. Very reasonably priced. Some folks showed up in costume, which was fun. Yes, parking could be better marked.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lauralovesdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hop aboard this ship for a voyage to fun!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Wow! Our family (including 3kids; age 4-7) loved this! So much better than I expected and something that I can't wait to tell all of our friends about! The whole crew was hilarious. They included every passenger, and there were about 35of us, and really geared their jokes and antics for all ages. From shooting the cannons and swabbing the decks to deck games and finding a treasure, this was fully worth every penny we paid and we are looking forward to our next SD trip and boarding this ship again for sure!

Located near SD Airport, close to SeaPort Village. Ride (a bit of a tour but more for entertainment purposes) lasts about 1.5hrs but you will need to arrive a half our early to board.
Parking is easy to find, lots of spaces and free.
Bar below the deck w/kids drinks, beers, liquors and lots of souveniers.
Found a coupon online for a free eye patch and "grog".

Take your kids on this adventure. Trust me, you won't be disappointed!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank M3052TVmariem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun Time For The Kids”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We got to the habor area very early in case we got lost. There are no signs at all telling you where to go. We just had my husband go in and ask.We were told where to wait, and wait and wait! Boarding was supposed to be at 230 but it was 245 before anyone came for us. By that time everyone was worried that they werent coming at all.But when we did finally get on board it was fun. Our grandkids are 1,2 and 5 and they made sure even the little one was included. It was a fun time for all the kids on board even the kids who were young teens enjoyed it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank flaglinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Went out on the pirate adventure with family; boys 9 and 11. Had a fun time but the rest of the boat was filled with a very little kid's birthday. Captain was condescending to most of us and seeking tip more without the fun. The boat was fun if you make your own adventure. The trip around the harbor made of a fantastic afternoon. A bit too expensive. I would recommend for kids 3-6.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DayTripper5626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very fun!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Become a member of a pirate crew as you are sworn in and shown the bay at the same time. Great for both young and older kids. Participate in firing the cannons (squirt water) or swabbing the deck. Crew keeps you laughing the entire 1 1/2 hour tour. Reasonably priced.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank one_of_five2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pirate Ship Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Pirate Ship Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing