We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for conference centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #70 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed for 6 days and it is a great spot if you are attending a conference at the convention centre. The Gaslamp district is a really cool place to walk around and lots to see and enjoy.

Stayed in the Lofts and that was nice and not too noisy. The service is good and they looked after us with shipping in and out, epecially Raymond. The desk staff were friendly and very helpful and had a laugh.

The WiFi is terrible in the common areas and does not exist in the rooms, so if you need a good connection bring your own.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter-Mckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you sharing all of the great details about our service staff and that you enjoyed your stay in our Loft section. We are currently in the process of adding upgraded wireless internet to all areas of the hotel and will have the project completed in the next couple of weeks. In the interim we do provide free wired internet access in all of our guest rooms and complimentary Wi-Fi services in the lobby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,890)
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,351 of 1,891 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Gaslamp is one of my favorite places for a quick weekend getaway and this hotel puts you in the perfect place to take it all in. We had no problem with noise from the guests or the rail. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny but both were modern and nicely decorated. The bed was comfy and the lighting was adequate.
Now, on to why I only gave this place a 3 rating. Check In was easy but we were not supplied with any information on the hotel. The room was also sans information about on site dining or amenities. Just a couple of cute pairs of earplugs in case the train was too loud. We never did find the gym or pool. I am easy to give a little but there were a myriad of little things that added up. There was some porcelain damage to the tub that could have easily been fixed but was left ugly and staring at me when I took a shower. There were a few places in the shower that had black mold between the tiles. Again, another easy fix that was overlooked. The room and bathroom seemed fairly clean but the shower had black hair on the walls left behind from a previous guest. Ewww, The door to the bathroom had a broken closer at the top that just hung out dirty, rusted and useless. I'm not quite sure why it was there in the first place because even without it, the door would only stay in the closed position. Parking has gone up to $40 and for the money, I thought that the attendants were a little rude.(for $40 bucks you can open and close the door for me)
So Hilton Gaslamp could have been good but it was just OK.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank st0ked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to improve our services as we share all reviews with our staff. I apologize that you had some issues with your room as noted in the review. Our pool and fully equipped exercise room is located on the Terrace level directly above the restaurant. We look forward to future opportunities to serve you to your complete satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed for conference at Convention Centre December 2011. The hotel is the closest of any to the Centre - including the 3 large hotels on the waterfront - and I would choose to stay there again purely for that reason. It is also convenient for the Gaslamp Quarter and its entertainment options. The hotel is small but comfortable and has sufficient amenities. I had a room facing the railway tracks and was not bothered at all by noise from there. I agree that there is a bit too much noise audible from the hallways but that is not unique to this hotel! Overall I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as the convention center. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel is very convenient to the convention center. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was in good condition. My biggest complaint about this place is the noise. Noises from the hall are easily heard (moreso than in other hotels - don't know if it's thin doors or what). If you have a room facing the courtyard, you will hear a lot of noise from people outside. Last, but definitely not least, you will be subject to loud and long train whistles due to the nearby railroad crossing. Even if you are not a light sleeper, you might want to bring earplugs or ask for an upper floor.

Room Tip: Your best bet for reduced noise is probably upper floors facing K street.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellinJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us, our dynamic location in the Gaslamp district is adjacent to local transportation hubs and can be subject to noise. There is good news coming our way! The city of San Diego approved a "quiet zone" act where safety precautions will be added to track crossings eliminating the need for the trains to sound their horns. The project is scheduled to be completed in the next couple of months. We appreciate your business and hope that we have another opportunity to serve you to your complete satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference in the convention centre. The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the San Diego convention centre right on the edge of the Gaslamp district. It is therefore very convenient. As other reviewers have noted, tramway and railway lines run alongside the hotel. I was on the 10th floor of the hotel (I paid $5 per night for a room on a higher floor) and did not hear the tram but unfortunately the Coaster train was not able to pass through without repeated sounding of its horn which could be heard clearly on the 10th floor. I suspect that most hotels near the rail track including the Hyatt and Marriott would similarly suffer.

As for the Hotel itself, we were very well attended to on arrival and the receptionist even arranged for a room fridge to be provided. The room was well-appointed and sufficiently spacious. There were plenty of pillows and the mattress was perfectly comfortable - and absolutely among the best I've experienced. Top marks!

I did not eat in the hotel but did enjoy the lemonade provided in the lobby each afternoon. The only real downside to the hotel was the appalling internet service. Neither the Ethernet nor the wifi permitted access to MS Outlook email downloads. This is very poor for a hotel serving a number of clients staying on business.

Room Tip: Go high up!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrionSouthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the convention center as well as the Gaslamp district. Thank you for your comments on the room giving us "Top Marks". I am happy to announce that we are in the process of adding upgraded wireless internet to all area's of the hotel which should be completed in the next few weeks. We look forward to future opportunities to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Nice hotel, conveniently located across the street from the SD Convention Center. Rooms were nicely decorated, sort of modern with funk thrown in for good measure. Restaurant on-site was somewhat limited and expensive (breakfast buffet was $30 with tip), but on the other hand there are probably 100 restaurants within 10 minutes walking distance of the hotel, so this is really not an issue. Front desk and all staff were very service oriented, and all had a positive attitude. Fairly new hotel - I loved the fact that this property actually has windows in the room that OPENED!!! There's nothing like some fresh air in a room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We liked our room and the breakfast in the morning. Also, the location is excellent.

Mike in concierge was helpful to us.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: lofts are nice
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _Mundo_Traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel.
We appreciate you sharing with us your comments. It’s very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience great service from our concierge. We truly value your business and look forward to the next time you plan to visit San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,267 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,405 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 278 in San Diego
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 401 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-6929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £120 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing