We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Nearby Hotels
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$421
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$652
HardRockSD.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,075)
Filter reviews
2,075 results
Traveller rating
842
745
303
125
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
842
745
303
125
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centergaslamp quartergreat locationloft roompetco parktrain tracksvalet parkinglight railthe gas lamp districtwithin walking distanceper nightdirectly across the streetrestaurants and barstwo blocksfront desk stafftrolley stopvery nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,500 - 1,505 of 2,075 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We didn't mind the train/trolley noise at all - never woke us or kept us awake. I appreciated the convenience of the trolley right outside the hotel - quick ride to Old Town & Little Italy.

Front desk, housekeeping and valets were all very attentive & helpful. Great breakfast, never felt rushed. We'll be back!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Mmmsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thank you for your four star review of the hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you choose us for your anniversary weekend. The lofts section of the hotel on 5th avenue is truly unique and we are in the process of totally transforming the rooms into our hotel within a hotel concept. We will be sure to inform you when the renovations are complete. We look forward to your next visit to the Gaslamp entertainment district.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel for our anniversary last weekend. We upgraded to the Lofts on 5th. Very nice hotel. The room was great. The staff was professional. There were 2 issues:1. The noise level. Motorcycles, cars, drunks, music from the Hard Rock. As long as you are prepated with an ipod to give you white noise in the background, you are probably OK. Also use the earplugs the hotel gives you. 2. The heater fan. The weather was cool so we used the heat. Since the ceilings were so high, the system was always coming on and it was too loud. We turned it off the second night. We will stay at the property again.

Room Tip: All of the lofts overlook 5th Street. if you have noise aversion, stay in the regular hotel on a high floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMichaelsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were in town for a conference, which made this location perfect, but it's great for so many other reasons. In one direction, it's a 2-minute walk to the convention center. In the other direction, it's a never-ending row of restaurants and night spots. We had Superior rooms and they were fantastic. There is a busy trolley stop outside and nightlife all around, so it can be a bit hectic, but if that's what you're after, it's perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGREENW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thank you for your four star review of the hotel. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as the convention center. We truly appreciate your feedback and will pass on your "Great Hotel, Great location comments to our staff members. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great location! I read that lots of people found it noisy here- we had a room on the 10th floor so had no problems. Lovely little pool and hot tub. Nice lobby area with wifi. Staff all very helpful.Good place to stay in San Diego. Perfect for all the bars,shops,restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelinapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had three rooms, all facing the train tracks.....after the first sleepless night - one of our group changed to the other side of the hotel (I did not switch as I thought we would hear the trains whichever room we were in) - but apparently it is a lot quieter on the other side. I did mention the noise on check out and apparently it is in the works to become a 'quiet zone' - meaning no more train whistles, but not sure when that is going to happen.

Location is good - right next to the Convention Centre. Service was excellent. Check in was good....the sink in one of our rooms was not working properly - went out for dinner and when we came back, it was fixed.

We did not receive wine on check in. Rooms were very nice - no mini bar which surprised me. Check out was fine.

We got a deal on this hotel, but I certainly would not pay the normal price. People should be informed that the hotel is situation right next to train tracks!

Room Tip: Ask for the side of the hotel that does not face the train tracks
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joannie3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us, our dynamic location in the Gaslamp district is adjacent to local transportation hubs and I'm sorry the train noise kept you awake. The city of San Diego has approved a "quiet zone" act where safety precautions will be added to track crossings eliminating the need for the trains to sound their horns. Construction is underway and the project will be completed in the next couple of months. Thank you for your comments on excellent service and good check in. We appreciate your business and hope that we have another opportunity to serve you to your complete satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews