We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping challenged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #72 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Housekeeping challenged”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I had stayed in the loft area previously and had a good experience. I usually stay at the Marriott, but thought I would give this another try, as they don't charge to receive my convention pop-up.

The desk said that my room had been renovated, but there was no evidence of that. In fact it was looking pretty tired. I had several problems: my cell coverage was horrible; I had to stand at the window to get a signal; this is bad, as I use my phone as a hot spot. The lamp next to the bed did not work; the light in the closet stayed on constantly; the stopper in the sink was broken; shower handle was loose; the showerhead was old and all the settings on it were completely worn off; the tile on the shower wall had a horizontal crack about 3 feet long and the grout was stained; the next morning housekeeping did not replace the coffee, I called to get some sent up, but had to call again an hour later to remind them. The room had only a chair with a vinyl cover.

From the fire plan it looked like I got one of the smallest rooms, so I may have just been unlucky, but I wasn't happy with the maintenance of the room.

The location is good. The staff was very pleasant. However, they would not give me late checkout. I'm going back to the Marriott next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to improve our services as we share all reviews with our staff. I apologize that you had some issues with your room as noted in the review. Our housekeeping staff normally receives high marks on our guest feedback channels and this is not typical of the high standards that we strive for. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our "very pleasant staff". We hope to have future opportunities to serve you to your complete satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    674
    276
    110
    56
See reviews for
254
532
104
723
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is a great hotel. I stayed in the Loft section of the hotel and it honestly felt my own little townhouse. The staff was very nice and the location is obviously great - Gaslamp is where you want to be in SD and it is very easy to get on the freeways to hit the other spots (La Jolla, Del Mar). Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Stay in Loft area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamLoewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you so much for your five star review of the hotel and high recommendation for the hotel. We do enjoy a great location and are very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as the convention center and local attractions. Our newly renovated loft rooms are very special accommodations and truly one of a kind in San Diego. We appreciate your comments on our friendly staff and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights due to a conference I attended at the convention center. This Hilton is literally 15 minutes from the airport, right next to the Amtrac and commuter train lines. It is also, as noted, within easy walking distance to Petco Park and in the heart of the Gaslamp distance. I timed it and it took me 5 minutes to walk to the convention center. I found the staff friendly and helpful, but I am a very friendly person myself. The rooms were typical Hilton, the beds were VERY comfy. I heard the trains only one time, one night during my stay, but I did take the advice of earlier reviews and requested a room away from the street, so that may have helped with the noise - of which I really had none. Really liked the outside lounge area off the restaurant with its comfy big chairs and sofas and firepits. Several of my colleagues who were not staying there asked to come back there with me for drinks and appetizers a couple of evenings. Yes, the front of the hotel is facing a dog park and there are quite a few homeless people sitting on the benches in the park daily. Perhaps, because I deal with the homeless every day as an ER nurse, they did not frighten me at all. I was disappointed to have to pay $12 a day for wifi, though.

Room Tip: I'd agree with the poster who recommended asking for a room facing the inner courtyard across fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank flapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

As many have commented, the location is absolutely perfect whether you're attending an event at the convention center, getting away for a weekend with your significant other or spending time with the family in SD. On top of that, their customer service is incredible and worked with me about a reschedule/cancellation even though I was within their cancellation period. That level of service blew me away as did the hotel and its staff once I was able to visit. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel and cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you so much for your five star "Over the Top Customer Service" review of the hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post a review as we share all guest comments with our staff. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as Petco park and several area attractions. We appreciate your comments on our friendly staff and we look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

A lot of people complain about the train noise but I did not find it a problem, I could hear them but they did not keep me up at night , great location across from the convention center and just two blocks from Petco Park. Only things that did bother me was the AC wasn't blowing cold enough for me and the bathroom door is on this auto close arm . Being picky now but a clock-radio with an iPod connection would have been great

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stopped ere with my wife for 5 nights after staying in a Hilton in Pheonix AZ
Staff were not at all friendly . The room we had Watson the 9th floor with a fantastic view. Our problems started. When we discovered earplugs by the bed. The hotel is less than 50 ft from the main Amtrac railway line which runs 24 hours a day and 40 ft from th San Diego tram way ( trolley)
The noise during the night was unbearable with the sound of the trains horn and the bells from the crossing.
The room had no mini bar , bathroom was small and the air on was very loud . It was clean as you would expect but it lacked everything else
Breakfast was poor and the staff lacked the normal friendly attitude
This is not a bad hotel by any means but it's not for holiday makers. Probably ok for locality to the convention center but take you sleeping pils and large ear plugs

Room Tip: Get a room which is high on the side which faces onto 5th ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to improve our services as we share all reviews with our staff. I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies for the noise issues that you experienced. Our dynamic location in the Gaslamp district along with several other hotels in the area are adjacent to local transportation hubs and I'm sorry the train noise kept you awake. The city of San Diego is working on a "quiet zone" act where safety precautions are being added to track crossings eliminating the need for the trains to sound their horns. Construction is nearing completion and should be in effect shortly. in the next couple of months. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to future opportunities to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The location was perfect! We were there for a family wedding & were able to get a great rate (though I had to check daily for a few weeks).
The employees at the front desk were friendly enough but not attentive at all. I stood there for more than 10 minutes while the guest in front of me was being assisted & during that time, no fewer than 3 other employees came through & told me they'd be with me shortly, but none of them ever did.
Housekeeping was very quick to respond to a request. The room was clean & comfortable

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdmc0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel and giving us a five star rating. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to improve our services as we share all reviews with our staff. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our housekeeping staff. We look forward to future opportunities to serve you to your complete satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,123 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 278 in San Diego
4,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 401 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-6929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing