We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for stay in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #74 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I'll start with the positive.
- awesome location
- great staff
- nice perks for HHinors members
- room was clean
- nice weight room

The negative.
- $41 a day to park??
- room furniture needs to be replaced ( this is nit-picky)
- $23 for breakfast??

Bottom line - I will stay again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SSinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Hilton should be embarrassed by this hotel. I kept a list of issues so I could be sure to put them on TripAdvisor and warn others away.
Soft, lopsided bed -awakened with a sore back
Room had a connecting door so I could hear the couple next door having sex until 1am
Desk chair was either broken or extremely poor design - it reclined so far back I was practically lying down and would not lock upright.
Balcony, which I was charged extra for, was so narrow a person couldn't even stand on it.
Television reception and picture quality was poor at best and zero movie channels - I believe HBO at least was supposed to be included but that channel wasn't coming in.
$41 parking fee wasn't for the entire 2-night stay, but rather per night.
In-room internet was not free - $12.95/night

Room Tip: Don't pay more for a balcony - it's only 6 inches wide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We're sorry to hear about the conditions of your guest room and noise disruptions caused by neighboring guests. Guest input such as yours will help us to improve our services and better serve our guests. In all of our guest rooms we utilize Serta pillow top mattress sets which is a Hilton standard. We will be sure to inspect your particular room and ensure that all standards are in place. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to future opportunities to serve you to your complete satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very central location for 4th and 5th street, where lots of restaurants and bars are located. Also very close to convention centre and bay front. Quality of rooms good. Decor simple but well maintained. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your five star review of the hotel. I am happy that you had a great stay at the hotel and found our hotel to be a good value. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as Petco park and several area attractions.
We look forward to your next visit to the San Diego area and serving you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Had a great stay at the Hilton Gaslamp for a conference at the Convention Center. Entire staff was phenomenal! Exceptional customer service. Would highly recommend this location for business or a weekend stay with the wife.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our suite was stained and filthy. The carpet was frayed. The drapes, sofa and chair were absolutely filthy. The lobby is nice, but I would not stay there again. It definitely needs a face lift. It's in a great location, but there are a lot of other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jodi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for posting your review. We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. I will follow up with my team immediately to ensure we take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future as we normally score high marks with our housekeeping staff. Thank you again for sharing,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent one Thurs. night at this hotel and was not impressed with their security. There are street people hanging around outside and a street drunk came into the bar and started shouting profanity. Hotel patrons at the bar threatend to kick him out if he did not leave immediatly. Additionally when staying at this hotel, request to not be on the train track side. It does get loud and they know it as they provide you with ear plugs beside your bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 921cherylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to improve our services as we share all reviews with our staff. The hotel does enjoy a great downtown location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as Petco park and several area attractions. The Gaslamp Quarter Association is very aware of the homeless problem and have instituted a safety ambassador program throughout the downtown area with great success. We appreciate your comments and hope that we have a future opportunity to serve you to your complete satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Overall the hotel is very nice, but if you wan to eat in the restaurant, make sure you are aware of the meal serving hours. Not much can be doen about the price, but there is a expection of food to price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to improve our services as we share all reviews with our staff. We do offer a full service restaurant and bar at the hotel serving breakfast starting at 6:30am along with all day dining service from 1pm until 10pm. I apologize if the hours where not communicated properly at registration. I am happy that you enjoyed your overall stay. We look forward to serving you again on future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,185 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#28 of 286 in San Diego
5,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 401 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-6929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#68 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £127 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing