We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #74 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
clovis, United States
2 reviews
“cozy rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

When I walked in, it was awkward as there was renovations/remodeling going on with the tile floors. Front staff didn't promptly greet me so there was an awkward moment where I wondered if i was in the correct area to check in. Overall size of the room was standard. However the bathroom was TINY. If you need more bathroom space, I would not recommend this room. Toilet paper is hidden under the sink (surprise); little counter space. The room has an uncomfortable accent chair, good sized desk and bedding is nice. The two lamps on the nightstands did not provide enough lighting. Overall, it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Donna K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    655
    264
    105
    53
See reviews for
232
508
103
694
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you are looking for a top notch hotel in the Gaslamp district...look no farther than this Hilton property. I am a Diamond member...and this is one of the nicest properties I have stayed in.

My wife and I stayed in the Lofts across a terrace from the hotel. That was a great location and I recommend it to anyone staying here. It does feel like a boutique experience. We had a great room on the 3rd floor on the north side. We faced a cool bar across the street...but we didn't hear a thing. Our room may have been the quietest room we have ever experienced. The room was tremendous. Very new and fresh. The bathroom was big and spacious with nice features. Our balcony was great as well. Overall, we loved the room and would recommend the Lofts to anyone.

A couple of downers...but nothing major...the restaurant and fitness room. First, we had complimentary breakfast because of my Diamond status. So...we ate at the restaurant because the price was right. However...I am not even sure if free was worth it. Do NOT spend your money on breakfast here. Its terrible. Eggs were runny, sausage was gross, bacon was soggy, they were out of milk for cereal, blah, blah. It was bad overall. My suggestion...go into the Gaslamp district and get a meal at one of the fine local restaurants. I didn't ding the hotel for the breakfast...because it was only one meal...but wow...what a bad meal.

The fitness room is awful...but there is a great place to run right across the street by the convention center. Once you cross over the tracks and over the convention center...you can run along the boardwalk for miles. Its a beautiful run...and it certainly beats the 3 pieces of equipment in the fitness room. I didn't ding the hotel for this either...because I should have never considered running indoors anyway. So, in a weird way, "thanks" for forcing me out and enjoying the beautiful scenery.

Last, be aware of the stout $40 for valet parking. It is what it is.

Don't let these minor issues flaw what is otherwise a fabulous hotel. My wife and I will definitely stay here again if we stay in downtown San Diego.

Room Tip: Stay on the north side of the hotel (away from the trains). Also, try to get a Loft room. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsingCommonSense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just visited this property and it is in a great location. I paid with hilton points and being a diamond member they still upgraded us to a suite which was very nice. Breakfast service was quite slow and took awhile for coffee/juice refills. That would be my only complaint. Hotel staff was helpful, right in front of the trolley line and the convention center. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddieave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Weather issues at home caused me to be stuck in SD for the night, so I checked into this hotel--and what a sweet surprise! Lovely rooms, comfortable in every way! The location could not be more ideal, as the gaslamp district has great restaurants and nightlife, coupled with convenient shopping at the nearby mall (Nordstrom, Macy's) and local boutiques and galleries. Super-friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SIGRAFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the hotel. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as Petco park and several area attractions. We appreciate your comments on our friendly staff and look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is well situated in downtown SD. We were able to meet family and friends at local restaurants and the ball park with ease. We parked our vehicle at 5he hotel and id not have to use it until it was time to leave. Great place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Leo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for your five star "Great Place" review of the hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post a review as we share all guest comments with our staff. The hotel does enjoy a great location and is very convenient to the Gaslamp district as well as Petco park and several area attractions. We look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hotel is situated in a very good location both for business and pleasure - near good restaurants and malls, night life, culture and even wellness activities. never a dull moment and you will get things done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights for a conference across the street. Location is perfect for the conference but so do other hotels! The room was $329 per night. It was spacious but bathroom was substandard. There was a big burnt hole in the bathtub, right at where you have to stand for the shower head. There were also stains on the bathroom floor, rust on towel racks. I was also missing a mini fridge. When I asked for a razor, they brought me a used one with obvious stains. Breakfast at the Leaf was just okay. Tables were always sticky and I often found stains on my cups and cutlery. The whole experience was screaming bad management! I will not recommend this hotel. Extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose the room away from the railway if you prefer quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwmwmw301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonGaslamp, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at our hotel. I understand that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of bathroom and the razor you received and I am deeply disappointed by that. I sincerely apologize for this and that your room was without a mini fridge. I assure you that we will use your review to improve as we work to ensure the comfort and satisfaction for of all our guests. I appreciate your honest feedback as we share all reviews with our staff. We look forward to future opportunities to serve you to your complete satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
The Horton Grand Hotel
#66 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing