We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Night Family Trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Ranked #225 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I would like to say i enjoyed my family getaway. The hotel front desk Demetrius was so welcoming i appreciated him a lot, never going to sorrento mesa it seems like nothing to do. He gave me helpful advice. Now to the room, for the rate Evelyn provided it was great she was really sweet as well, the room was quiet and cleaned. There were only two bad things i could say, when you turn the heater on, if it hasn't been on in awhile it makes the alarm go off for like 5-10 min very loud. In addition, there was the other bad thing, we were downstairs and the upstairs neighbors were really rude between 2-5 am they stay up making noise and it was very unpleasant and couldn't get much sleep on the last night. However, if you have a family and want something near downtown as well as near la mesa etc, this place would be close around 20 min to both areas.

Room Tip: We were on ground floor i would recommend a upper flr just in case you have neighbors however, we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shortcake28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to thank you for comments. I'm so pleased to hear that Demetrius and Evelyn were able to provide you and your family with helpful advice on things to do in San Diego and providing you a great room rate.

The housekeeping staff here pride themselves in making sure that all guest rooms are cleaned and your comment reassures that. I do apologize that your stay had a little bump in it due to the guest above your room being loud. T

hank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

My stay was for a month and business related, I worked long hours and ESA provided great service to me.. The setting was good more like condo type building versus large hotel building. The staff are friendly and very helpful, specially Jennifer at front desk. When ever I asked for anything, it was quickly provided. My room was clean and very functional. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Michael - I received a copy of your review, and wanted to thank you for taking the time to recognize the level of great service that is provided by our associates. Jennifer is a great asset to the team and it is great to know that she was so helpful to you during your stay.

It's great to hear that we will continue to be your lodging choice while in San Diego. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to your continued business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I understand these hotels are not fancy, but I do not understand why they should provide us with a stinky disgusting room..
the bath room literally sticks. I had to go bye deodorant and disinfectant in order to spray it. they sent us the maintenance guy after we complaints, and he just came and sprayed with stupid anti-smoke.. couple of sprays and left.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nasser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

hi, I stayed for a month and stay was nice. The service is nice. .April is very friendly with speedy answers and advises and very helpful. Regular housekeeping with clean room and kitchen.
Breakfast is nice. and kitchen is fully equipped with utensils and induction is also available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Harry - Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that the service our staff provided was to your satisfaction. It is also great to hear that April was very helpful. We pride ourselves on presenting each guest with a clean and comfortable room. From reading your comments in regards to our housekeeping service, they tell me that we are doing just that!

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

- Very good front desk services and support, e.g. April is very friendly with speedy answers and advices
- Regular housekeeping with clean room and kitchen
- Convenience location with many nearby restaurants and shops

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAR-China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that to know that our staff was so helpful, especially April who provided you with friendly service and was able to answer all of your questions in a timely matter. As well, I am happy that you enjoyed our location, which is close to restaurants and shops in the area.

Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Rooms not cleaned properly once a guest checks out.
When I checked in, the room was having food left overs of previous guest in the kitchen sink.
Carpet was not clean, and was full of Pet hairs...
Bathroom lights were out.

Should be your last option to Stay.
Many times breakfast would be finshed as they dont forsee the no. of guest in the hotel and qty they have in stock.

Room Tip: Pay couple of dollars extra and choose some other good options available in the near by vicintity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank sunaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Sunaad - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for the level of cleanliness in your room and that our grab-and-go breakfast was not properly stocked each morning. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am committed to confirming our rooms are cleaned and inspected more thoroughly moving forward. As for our breakfast, the staff and I are going to increase our quantities so that we can continue to provide enough items for all of our guests to enjoy.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. I invite you to contact me at mme@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

How do you feel about discovering an empty condom wrapper on the floor just slightly obscured by the bed skirt? One side of the mattress seriously smelled like wet dog and there was a nasty looking stain on the bottom sheet just at hip level...plus cigarette burns on the blanket. Loudest bathroom fan I've ever heard and that includes the sound of the fans from neighboring rooms. No shower mat or grips in the bathtub/shower and the floor was pretty slippery. Walls are so thin you can hear things you don't want to hear. Maid service is only provided for stays of a week or more and I learned that when I checked in so I was okay with it. I stayed 2-weeks and went to the office three times for clean towels, and once for toilet paper and Kleenex. They were out of tissues the entire time I was there but offered extra toilet paper. Once when my husband asked for clean towels they only had one bath towel...for both of us. The vending machine was broken throughout our stay so no bottled water and I certainly didn't want to drink the tap water let alone use one of the glasses. It was relatively inexpensive to stay there and I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Katy - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so sorry for that your room was unclean and we were unable to provide for all of your needs when it came to towels. In response to your feedback, I am working with our housekeeping staff to improve our cleaning procedures and inspection policies moving forward.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. I invite you to contact me at mme@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#187 of 279 in San Diego
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Address: 9880 Pacific Heights Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-4702 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £78 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
San Diego Homestead Suites
Homestead San Diego
Homestead Suites San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing