We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Ranked #227 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Pros:
Quiet. Surrounded by storage facility and many business parks so not a lot of all-day tourist traffic.
Friendly, helpful staff at front desk and around property.
Comfortable, clean room with kitchenette.
You will get whatever you need for the kitchen - just ask at the front desk.
Extra linen is available whenever you need it.
Appliances, hair dryer, air-conditioner, tv, wi-fi all worked (except fridge had a small leak)
Beds were comfortable (one bed had creaky box spring).
Lots of cabinets and shelves in kitchen for storing food and supplies.
Shower and sink worked well.

Cons:
We stayed in Room #368 on 2nd floor. The bed closest to the kitchen had a very creaky box spring which the hotel should replace.
The refrigerator leaked water. We noticed that ice had formed on one of the shelves and it may have been melting and running out the bottom.
Not all the lamps were plugged in so we had to move some furniture to get to the outlets. (Maybe a housekeeping issue).
Had to kill a roach in the bathroom.
Cabinets show signs of wear and tear.
Common areas and stairs outside rooms had some trash and cigarette butts strewn around but were immediately cleaned after phoning the front desk.
Traffic is heavy at the start and end of the business day because of surrounding business parks.

General notes:
Did not take advantage of the "Grab-n-Go" breakfast so can't comment on that.
Usually found a parking spot in front of or near room.
My personal taste would be for the hotel chain to lighten up the colors in the rooms. Seems too dark at night, even with all room lights on.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from Mira Mesa Blvd. are quieter. I always prefer an upper floor anywhere to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Front desk staff chewed me out when I told him of a broken bed and non-working phone in the room just assigned and requested a different room. All amenities promised are not in the room, you have to ask the front desk. I asked for coffee pot and he just left that after a few hours, no coffee or creamer. It seems I need to get it myself.

Bathroom sink and tub were dirty, no hot water available when I tried to shower at 4am to catch an early flight.

Room Tip: Don't select this hotel and not sure if all Extended Stay are so dreadful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anurag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Ended up at this location for one night by way of Hotwire.

Check-in was fast and Demetrious was pleasant. Our room was small with no frills, but clean. On our way to our room, we saw several other guests walking around and doing laundry. It was very quiet at night. Parking was a little, tight, but there were enough spots. Decent location for a short drive to La Jolla or Sea World.

Overall, nothing fancy, but nothing to complain about, either.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinemaniac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff at this property was pleasant and helpful. However, the odor of cigarette smoke was overpowering in the first nonsmoking room that we were given. The second room still smelled of smoke but it was not as strong. The carpet was dirty. The condensation from the air conditioner leaked and soaked the surrounding carpet. (The desk clerk did provide old towels to absorb the water and said he would put in a maintenance request. The repair did not occur during the week we were there.) The hot water in the bath tub did not turn off. The latch on the door did not work properly so it was necessary to manipulate it to close the door from the outside.
We stayed at this property 4-5 years ago and I just don't remember it being so dirty.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel_OL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The employees were wonderful, very helpful.
Especially after the room caught on fire from cooking... They moved us into another room nearby and allowed us to get back in over next days to get belongings.
My only complaint is the box springs squeek like a porno. Overall very well worth the value, especially if customer service means something to you.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renalyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that to hear that our staff was very helpful, and will be sure to pass along your kind words. While the fire incident was unfortunate, I am glad everything worked out and all was safe. We appreciate your feedback regarding the issue with the box spring and wanted to let you know that we are in the process of replacing them on an ongoing basis.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've been staying at this location for awhile now & have been happy with my stay. The hotel is in a great location with plenty of restaurants & shopping near by. And the staff here has been very accommodating & helpful with any of my needs. Everyone always seems to be in a good mood & never give me any issues. I like having the kitchen & the bed is very comfortable. An added bonus is that I can hook up my dvd player & watch any movie I want. I also want to send a special thanks to the head manager Louis, who has always helped me with any concerns I had.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Neat, economical and quiet.
Simple kitchenette, comfy beds and nice location. Rooms are small and laundry facility is basic, but will do considering the tariffs.
Lots of restaurants and breweries nearby.

Room Tip: Try choosing rooms above and behind the lobby. Other ones are close to Mira Meas blvd. which has tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vijincet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Address: 9880 Pacific Heights Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-4702 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £78 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
San Diego Homestead Suites
Homestead San Diego
Homestead Suites San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing