We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
USA Hostels San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“all very average”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My main complaint with this hostel is the staff. They are not terrible but are completely uninterested in the guests. It feels like a cheap hotel, not a hostel. There were a couple of guys working there who were genuinely helpful but they were unfortunately a minority and not always around. I would walk through reception and even checked out with barely a word being said.
After a terrible pub crawl we didn't get involved in the other activities on offer. Apparently we missed nothing.
I would go again as a high turnover of staff could mean a totally different experience. Not to mention the fact that it is just a place to sleep; get out and do your own thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb_crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    188
    55
    25
    9
See reviews for
12
49
252
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This hostel is in a great location right in the middle of the Gas Lamp district and is surrounded by restaurants (would recommend the Urban Bar and Grill for yummy food that isn't too expensive). It is clean and the staff are all very friendly helping you lug your bag up all the stairs. This hostel has a great feel from the bright paint to all the people who hang around on the couches making it quite a social hostel. The free breakfast was great to fill up on and it is close to a Westfield Mall, the waterfront and public transport. the only negative thing i have to say is it can get quite loud at night due to the San Diego night life. Maybe ask not to be put in the front rooms where we were and it might be quieter - but it's not a biggie. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side can be loud so ask for rooms further back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Had a private double room which was comfy with a tv with lots of channels. Wasn't too loud to sleep either. Staff were friendly and offered good suggestions like delicious Mexican at las Hadas nearby. Only negative is the showers were very hot cold. The kitchen was awesome with free pancake mix every morning and was never too busy so you didn't have to wait too long if at all to get cooking.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Pro: Good location in town, close to bars, shopping center, public transport, walking distance to park and zoo. Active hostel, something usually happening every night. FREE PANCAKES in the morning, as many as you can cook. Good clean kitchen. Dorm beds have dividers with a small shelf in each bed with a powerpoint and bed light. The beds are comfy too. Rooms also have lockers (provide own lock). I never used it as i always felt safe and everyone was cool I was with. Free washing powder is a plus too. Helpful direction notes to destinations are available around the hostel as well as recomendations.

Wifi is ok

Con: was FREEZING during the night in winter, also the showers are terrible, goes really hot and freezing cold constantly during the shower. wifi is free but computers cost

Room Tip: The cheapest dorm room is next to the common area. Sometime it can get LOUD, book here if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

A very clean and nice hostel. The rooms are great with a privacy divider means that you never have to fight for a powerpoint !! KItchen and amenities are sufficient and clean. Was a little quiet when we were there but I can imagine the atmosphere would be fantastic when its full ! I would definitely stay here again. Price from memory was also pretty fair for a 6 bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed for six nights in this hostel, it got a good location in the older part of town. Lots of nice restaurants, bars, clubs and shops in the area.. Close to busstops and trolleystops.. Airport bus stops just a couple of blocks away.
The hostel is always clean and staff is very friendly and helpful with anything.. Breakfast is alright, very basic but better than nothing..
It's quiet at night and they arrange things every night if you feel like hanging out with the rest of the guests. Overall we had a great stay and i'd definitely stay there again!!!

Do NOT go on their Tijuana-tour though!! It costs 19 dollars to come and they say it's like a tour of Tijuana by night.. The trolleyride returntrip is FIVE dollars if you go on your own, not sure where the other 15 dollars went.. The guide just lead the way to bars and clubs, she wasn't really telling us anything about Tijuana itself and were making out with her boyfriend pretty much all night.. Also, she made us pay through her and we had to tip a certain amount which she took the half of..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiabeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed here a few days and had an awesome time!
The small hostel, hidden between buildings in the very cool Gaslamp neighborhood is very comfortable and cosy, makes you feel just like home. The rooms were small, which meant not so many people in one room. Had some very fun roommates and made good friends with them.
Only the bathroom was a little far away from our room.
Everywhere carpet, plants and couches to chill out, a really cool kitchen and of course the typical USA hostel breakfast pancakes.
Made an amazing and fun tour to Tijuana with a cool group of people and AWESOME staff, was a great night, will never forget this!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Diego

Property: USA Hostels San Diego
Address: 726 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego's original backpacker hostel, located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter for 20 years. We're in the midst of the city's most popular bars and clubs. We offer the best value and most fun in hostel accommodations with daily breakfast, free and discounted activities, free wifi and more. Our staff are always happy provide insider tips on where to go, eat, etc. Our quirky decor in a historic 1880's walk up makes our hostel unique in many ways. All rooms are shared bath. Dorms feature 'privacy pods' with privacy screening, a light, shelf and outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your USA Hostels San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing