We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Hostels San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This was my first time staying at a hostel. I didnt know what to expect but i was satiafied at the end. Very friendly staff. Welcoming atmosphere and I made great friends during my stay. The place was clean as well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1204peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    190
    55
    25
    9
See reviews for
12
50
255
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hostel is located right in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter - you literally walk out between two restaurants. The beds are some of the most comfortable I have ever experienced, and that's saying something. The staff are so helpful and there's even little slips with directions on how to get to different sights around town (including Mexico!). And iPads available which was pretty sweet...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Guest Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for your great review. We're so happy you noticed the little touches like the directions on take-away paper. All our managers are travelers themselves and we try to think of what we'd want to help make our holiday easier and then create that for the guests. That's why we love guest feedback. Happy Travels and if you're going to San Fran or Los Angeles, we have fun and comfortable hostels there as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao Pessoa, PB
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very nice hostel, perfect location! There are many nice restaurants and pubs to go around the hostel, the rooms are very good too, big lockers and plugs located in the bed and lockers. I enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Halliss0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Guest Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We don't get many comments about the powerpoints in the lockers so it's great to read that someone likes them...we've just figured no news is good news on this item, but it's always nice to hear our efforts to provide secure storage while charging your electronics is appreciated. As long time backpackers ourselves, we try to figure out what will make our guests' holidays with easier, comfortable and relaxing. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location but very loud at night due to all the bars surrounding it-bring ear plugs. Close to bus stops and the trolley. Outlets in bed are nice. Decent sized lockers and clean rooms. Kitchen is wonderful and free pancake breakfast was nice. Staff was a little rude at times but overall it was a nice stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank springless_autumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Guest Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall, but of course, expect our staff to be welcoming and friendly. We'll try to contact you separately to discuss this! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suhr, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

its in the center of the gaslamp quartier and in walking distance to the public transportation, convention center and great location for starting trips to the environement - great staff, atmosphere as well as comfort for a hostel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleator83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Chief Operating Officer at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for the great review! We are always trying to come up with new ways to make our guests comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great hostel! Lots of activities planned for guests and in a good location for bars and restaurants! Only complaint was the lack of a window in our room, and possibly the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept on! However, the room, like the rest of the hostel, was decorated nicely with lots of bright colours! Nice building. Good kitchen facilities and a good breakfast included.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyhox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very nice hostel and what I like about the USA hostels is that they have really thought through what a traveler needs: big lockers, many plugs. In the USA hostels the plugs are in the lockers and at your bed. The one in San Diego is good. The only remark I have is that the staff was really young and I missed the entousiasm which you see in other hostels. The girl who checked me in did just that and did not share what was going on at the hostel and so on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ber10e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Diego

Property: USA Hostels San Diego
Address: 726 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego's original backpacker hostel, located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter for 20 years. We're in the midst of the city's most popular bars and clubs. We offer the best value and most fun in hostel accommodations with daily breakfast, free and discounted activities, free wifi and more. Our staff are always happy provide insider tips on where to go, eat, etc. Our quirky decor in a historic 1880's walk up makes our hostel unique in many ways. All rooms are shared bath. Dorms feature 'privacy pods' with privacy screening, a light, shelf and outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your USA Hostels San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing