We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEAT PLACE IN A BUSTLING AREA OF THE CITY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
USA Hostels San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NEAT PLACE IN A BUSTLING AREA OF THE CITY!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I thought the staff were thoughtful considerate helpful and the free breakfast was great... the cozy open-air feel of the joint was extra exotic... I will very likely stay again with usa Hostels sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Guest Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for the review - we appreciate your happy words! We love the coziness of our hostel and are glad others do too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    185
    55
    25
    9
See reviews for
12
47
247
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hostel is the place to be!
It is in the middle of San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, surrounded by clubs and bars. The ambiance is great! Everything looks very nice and clean. The staff is excellent!

I would recommend it to everyone :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 93Malina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Guest Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave comments. We always appreciate them. Especially great ones! Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Excellent location. Despite the noisy street outside, the room was quiet, although there was a fan near to the room. Definitely I will stay in my next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Centurion421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We only had one night in the USA San Diego, but it was ideal. Perfect location and nice (colourful) rooms. In particular the staff were really helpful - Mark (I think?) was fantastic, recommending the BEST restaurant, helping us buy our zoo tickets and even carrying our suitcases down the stairs when we left. The make-your-own pancakes in the morning were very fun. It has all the usual pitfalls of a city-based hostel such as noise, but this is expected and not a problem. We would have appreciated parking onsite, but managed to find some close by that wasn’t too expensive. All in all - a great hostel experience! Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Extremely clean with very functional rooms. Right in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and really close to trolleys and bus stops. The only thing that could have been a tiny bit better is the social activities, there were pub crawls but I think other activities could have been arranged. Overall I had an amazing time and felt really comfortable visiting San Diego on my own.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank a_sama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Thanks to all the staff especially the Spanish chick ! Also what a cool place , just wish we got to try and climb the suicide bunk haha ! Thanks for a great stay and if we come back we will be staying here again !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

All they need is a filtered water pitcher & handheld scrubbers instead of germy sponges & a few other small things & I would give them 5stars.

Front desk does an excellent job!

Sometimes there is too big of a line & they should have two people helping during peak hours more often.

It is definitely far better than HI-San Diego...

The staff is from across the globe & they seem to work well together & have good camaraderie.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin T. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Diego

Property: USA Hostels San Diego
Address: 726 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego's original backpacker hostel, located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter for 20 years. We're in the midst of the city's most popular bars and clubs. We offer the best value and most fun in hostel accommodations with daily breakfast, free and discounted activities, free wifi and more. Our staff are always happy provide insider tips on where to go, eat, etc. Our quirky decor in a historic 1880's walk up makes our hostel unique in many ways. All rooms are shared bath. Dorms feature 'privacy pods' with privacy screening, a light, shelf and outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your USA Hostels San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing