We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
164
73
11
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
73
11
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschili's restaurantfront deskhi expressyogurtla jollarooms are bigbusiness tripbusiness hotelthe general managerthe breakfast areafree breakfastnice hotelstaff was friendly and helpfulquiet locationhotel is locatedminute driveclean rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My stay was OK but two areas that I was extremely disappointed with were the breakfast and environmental consciousness:

1. Breakfast: The food was very low quality and if you are vegetarian/vegan, there is absolutely nothing you can eat except for bread and a banana.

2. Environment: All the plates, cups, and utensils for both breakfast and in the rooms are all styrofoam or plastic and not recyclable. In the rooms, each cup and plate are also individually packaged in plastic bags. The environmental footprint of these hotels must be staggering. This was shocking to myself and others.

That said, I do agree with other reviewers that the front desk and staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vanc0uver-BC-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Vanc0uver-BC-Canada,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to meet your expectation.

We thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the breakfast and the environment being set. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for taking the time to write to us as we believe we can only improve our services through our guest feedback.

We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,
Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Ester or Bella at the front desk, Elisa the GM, great property. Stayed here two nights this month already. Clean, spacious rooms. Great free breakfast. Fair value, good location. Make sure you get a room that the bathroom for doesn't open toward the main entrance of the room, makes for tricky departure sometimes. Will be back for sure!

Room Tip: 211 is at the end of the hall next to the ice machine, ask to be on the other end....
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sully94534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are pleased to hear that your room was “clean and spacious.” As you mentioned, we do offer a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast, and we are glad that you took advantage of that. We are also happy to hear that you thought our property was a fair value and that it was a good location. We pride in striving in providing exceptional quality service and we are delighted to hear that, Ester, Bella Elisa, and the rest of our staff was no exception. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We look forward to seeing you in the future during your next visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here during March, 2012. We travel to San Diego often and decided to try a hotel away from the downtown area. The Sorrento area is just minutes away from downtown San Diego, but is also close to Torrey Pines and La Jolla. We were happy with our choice.
The rooms were clean, the staff was nice, and even though our room faced Lusk Street, it was very quiet. Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn Express fare. The pool was kind of small, but the kids using it seemed to be having lots of fun! My only complaint about our room on the fourth floor was that we couldn't open the window. This necessitated turning on the air conditioning unit, which was noisy. Also, the chair in the "business area" needs to be replaced. It's like sitting in a hole!

One of our favorite excursions while visiting San Diego was a visit to the wineries in Temecula, which we reached via Highway 78, traveling through the little town of Ramona, famous for avocado and citrus orchards, wine grape production, and the most delicious cinnamon rolls I ever eaten at The Ramona Cafe.
If you love visiting gardens, you must see the San Diego Botanical Garden, located in Encinitas. It's a very restful garden with lovely California native plants, magnificent palms, and huge bamboo groves. For the kids there's a large interactive children's garden that's fun for adults too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are away from the road. Windows on the fourth floor don't open.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear that you “were happy with your choice.” We are fortunate to be in a central location that is, as you mentioned just minutes away from many of San Diego’s well known sights such as Downtown San Diego, La Jolla as well as SeaWorld and glad you were able to visit a few of those places. We do strive in providing quality guest services and are glad you took notice that “our rooms are clean and our staff are nice.” We also appreciate your bringing your concerns to our attention as they help us in better servicing our rooms and amenities to our guests in the future. We thank you again for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are happy you enjoyed what San Diego has to offer and look forward to you visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here five days in March 2012. One problem was that, for the first time in our hotel/motel experiences, we could not open a window to get fresh air. Yes having the AC on all the time drowns out any road or freeway noise, but after awhile it would be nice to be able to get some fresh air without having to take the elevator down and run outside. No matter what floor you are on, most hotels have their windows set you can open them, at least, three or four inches. We went next door to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson and found the same thing, top floor windows that wouldn't open at all.

Having a Chili's restaurant directly across from the hotel was a plus for us. We were able to order online and, within minutes, walk over a pick up our dinner at the Chili's To Go door.

During the week there was very few folks at breakfast, but come the weekend there were so many people and families having eating that they there was no tables available and they kept running out of food. Even though there were signs that said "Trays Available" the staff told me "No, there are no trays." We thought, if there were trays you could, at least, snag some breakfast and take it back up to your room. Not the case here.

Hotel doors are heavy and will slam shut if you let them. Please think about the other guests and make sure your door closes quietly when you enter or exit. Thank You.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longball44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for investing the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We appreciate your feedback as it is invaluable to us and we appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. Guests like you only make our jobs easier to address the items immediately. We apologize that you weren’t able to receive the services that you might be used to while at our property. Please know that your concerns are being addressed with our staff so that we are better able to serve you in the future. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and we hope you may reconsider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Hotel desk manager Ester deserves a special thank for her attentiveness to myself . She never gets frustrated or loses her smile even with rude hotel guests. This entire hotel staff will do everything possible to resolve any problem there, though do not expect such after check-in.

Room Tip: no special views in hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom53151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and telling other travelers about your stay. We are elated to hear that you found our desk manager, Ester as well as the rest of our staff to be “friendly and helpful”. We take pride in striving to provide guests with more than exceptional guest experiences and are glad you took notice at check in. I also thank you for bringing up that your concern that after check in that this was not the case. Please know that we are following up with our staff to ensure that even after check in, that this should not be an exception and that all issues should be taken care of in a prompt and timely manner. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews