We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Front Desk Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #85 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
“Very Friendly Front Desk Staff”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express hotel 3 different times in the last number of months. The afternoon/evening check in desk person (Eli) was very courteous and went out of his way to make you feel hospitable at this hotel. He answered everything with a "yes sir". I asked and found out that he was prior military. A great job Eli, very good manners and knows how to treat customers.

I will stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We would also like to thank you for your continued loyalty as a guest. It’s always great to hear that we have “very friendly front desk staff.” We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and are glad that you took notice. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    67
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
36
11
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hated this hotel, expensive, in the middle of an office estate, first room smelled, second had water running down the walls, third was by the front door.

We use Holiday inn all the time, it was by far the worst we have ever stayed in.

Never again

Room Tip: Cannot believe that people pay the rate they charge here, its a business hotel not for holiday maker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our property. I apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered during your stay. I understand how aggravating it can be to switch rooms several times during a stay. I can assure you that we are very proud of our property and are confident in the service and quality that we offer. I hope that you would reconsider staying with us in the future when you are in our beautiful city. Thank you for always choosing to stay at our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

As always this hotel is consistent. Consistently friendly, clean and ready. My frequent business in the area lands me here quite often. Not a five star hotel, but a great place to spend the week. You are always met a smiling hello coming and going. Breakfast is always ready in the morning. Cookie or popcorn after a day of meetings always makes me smile..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Loyal guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your continued visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoy staying with us and that we have been "consistent" to your needs and accommodations. We hope to continue making you smile! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley, we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We used this hotel on a tour of California, from the UK. It was excellent, and close enough to the attractions of San Diego. You do need a car though! Staff were very friendly and welcoming - good breakfast and nice little pool and gym.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We hope that your visit to San Diego was as "excellent" as your stay with us! Thank you for staying and we hope to have you stay with us again if you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We drove around for hours looking for a place to sleep after Courtyard Marriott oversold our hotel. The Guest Services Assistant, was able to offer the last room available and delivered a rollaway bed before we were able to get our suitcases out of the truck. We woke up around 6 am and breakfast was amazing. There was an abundance of options to choose from. We enjoyed it. We were only there for nine hours and we would stay again.

My only recommendation would be to improve the mattress and pillow quality. The staff that we encountered was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Even though you happen to stay with us by accident we are very glad you did. We do our best to accommodate every guest as much as we can and I am pleased that you were able to stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast buffet and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much you would stay with us again. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I haven't even stayed at the Holiday Inn San Diego -Sorrento Valley yet and I am already impressed with the employees working there. I needed to make changes in my reservation due to illness and Hotels .com wouldn't help. I first spoke to Eli at the Holiday Inn who explained the situation to me and gave me the managers name and time she would be in. The next day I spoke with the general manager ,Alicia Santos ,who went above and beyond to accommodate my needs. With employees like this who care about their customers is why I choose Holiday Inn Expresses for my travel needs

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Mary,
I am so pleased to hear that the staff at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley have been able to "already impress", you. At our hotel, we understand that you are our guest and that is it our job to make you feel like one, even when you have yet to stay. We also understand that circumstances change and we do our absolute best to accommodate our guest. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience, I do hope that you get well soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

HIE is very clean, fairly nice pool, and a Chili's right outside the front door. Staff is very courteous, wifi isn't too bad. Located only 25 minutes from the airport which makes it an easy place to get to after a long flight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realrexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley and for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We know that traveling on business can be exhausting, and I am pleased that your stay with us was and take advantage of our amenities we offer. We hope to have you stay with us again when you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing