We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend with One Issue, Noisy Pipes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #85 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here last weekend while visiting zoo and museum. The king room was adequately furnished, clean and well-kept. The microwave and mini-fridge are a real plus. The breakfast buffet exceeded our expectations with eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy along with fruit, pastries, cereal, and juices. There is something for every member of your family. The buffet room gets a little crowded in the morning but people finish up quickly and a table can be found. The buffet attendant Martin works hard at keeping food items well stocked.
We will stay again if we can find a different room. We stayed in room 218 and we could hear our neighbor's shower as if they were in our room. It was loud and noisy. If you are an earlier riser than you should be okay. But if you are trying to sleep in, well be prepare to be awakened.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphh909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are happy to hear that your room was “adequately furnished, clean and well-kept.” We strive to work hard in providing a well maintained property and are glad that you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and we are so delighted to have exceeded your expectations with the variety of items that we offer to our guests. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very clean and comfortable place and extremely reasonably priced. I stay here very often and this is one of my preferred places. In addition to the place, the people here are fantastic - especially the manager, Elisa Santos! I stayed here last week and there was a power outage in the area which wasn't the hotel's fault. Because of this there was no hot water and I couldn't take a shower. I was expecting only a partial refund but the manager issued a full refund! Very pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We would also like to thank you for your continuous loyalty. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service so to hear that our staff is “fantastic” is always great to hear. We try our best to accommodate our guest as best as possible so we are delighted to hear that we were able to do just that. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very niced updated Decor. Double room was very large, with a nice sitting area, and large bathroom. Showers were nice, beds were very comfy with a selection of pillows. Breakfast was included in the rate, and was pretty decent, eggs and waffles available. All in all, we really felt we got our money's worth. We spent 1 night here before spending 3 nights at the nearby Marriott Courtyard (as part of a wedding party). Between the two, I would definitely choose the Holiday Inn Express. The Marriott was more expensive, and didn't include breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We strive to give the best service and quality to our guest and we love to hear what you have to say about it. Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express & Suites, we hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express hotel 3 different times in the last number of months. The afternoon/evening check in desk person (Eli) was very courteous and went out of his way to make you feel hospitable at this hotel. He answered everything with a "yes sir". I asked and found out that he was prior military. A great job Eli, very good manners and knows how to treat customers.

I will stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We would also like to thank you for your continued loyalty as a guest. It’s always great to hear that we have “very friendly front desk staff.” We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and are glad that you took notice. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hated this hotel, expensive, in the middle of an office estate, first room smelled, second had water running down the walls, third was by the front door.

We use Holiday inn all the time, it was by far the worst we have ever stayed in.

Never again

Room Tip: Cannot believe that people pay the rate they charge here, its a business hotel not for holiday maker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our property. I apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered during your stay. I understand how aggravating it can be to switch rooms several times during a stay. I can assure you that we are very proud of our property and are confident in the service and quality that we offer. I hope that you would reconsider staying with us in the future when you are in our beautiful city. Thank you for always choosing to stay at our hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

As always this hotel is consistent. Consistently friendly, clean and ready. My frequent business in the area lands me here quite often. Not a five star hotel, but a great place to spend the week. You are always met a smiling hello coming and going. Breakfast is always ready in the morning. Cookie or popcorn after a day of meetings always makes me smile..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Loyal guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your continued visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoy staying with us and that we have been "consistent" to your needs and accommodations. We hope to continue making you smile! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley, we will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We used this hotel on a tour of California, from the UK. It was excellent, and close enough to the attractions of San Diego. You do need a car though! Staff were very friendly and welcoming - good breakfast and nice little pool and gym.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We hope that your visit to San Diego was as "excellent" as your stay with us! Thank you for staying and we hope to have you stay with us again if you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £96 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing