We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Nearby Hotels
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$337
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$251
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$168
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$180
US$162
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$325
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
162
73
11
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
73
11
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschili's restaurantfront deskhi expressyogurtla jollarooms are bigbusiness tripbusiness hotelthe general managerthe breakfast areafree breakfastnice hotelstaff was friendly and helpfulquiet locationhotel is locatedminute driveclean rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

perfect location, the hotel is close to business sites and is extremely quiet. Breakfast server was constantly making sure that everything was fully stocked, front desk really catered to my requests, and house keeping did a great job. very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogelio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are touched that you think we are the “perfect hotel”. We are also pleased to hear you “very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel”. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a weekend getaway with my girlfriend and I loved the place. The location is perfect because it is literally 10 minutes away from everything (Seaworld, la jolla shores, and most importantly Coronado island). Great location and Roy was extremely helpful, he told us of all the fun and exciting places to visit. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are thrilled to hear you “LOVED” our hotel and that our staff was “extremely helpful”. We work hard in providing extraordinary quality service and are touched you took notice. We look forward to seeing you and your girlfriend again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days. Close to business sites at Sorrento Valley & just minutes away from Carmel Valley, LaJolla & the coast. This hotel is very close to great eateries like Opera Cafe, Come on In Cafe, & Chilli's & many other venues. The staff is very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The warm breakfasts there are great, the rooms also have alot of space. Enjoyed my stay there...I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear you had an “amazing experience” at our hotel. We are also pleased to hear our staff is “very accommodating, friendly, and helpful”. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfasts and are pleased you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We hope to see you and other future travelers alike soon, during your next stay in San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I was absolutely astounded at the quality of service at this location. Having very recently traveled to Japan and been fortunate enough to stay at luxury hotels in that country, the accommodation to my needs at this Holiday Inn Express was all the more impressive. Thank you Cece!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank animatronioesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are so thrilled to hear that our hotel provides “phenomenal service”. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are pleased you took notice. Again, thank you for providing feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to Sorrento Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night before moving to Southern part of San Diego. Wish we could stay here longer :) Great location off the highway next to a Chilis restaurant; a little over 10 minutes drive to La Jolla shores and downtown. Very warm, smiling and friendly welcome at the reception; felt at home right away. Merian at the front desk was extremely nice and deserves special mention. Our room was huge with a large king bed (with two sets of soft and hard pillows!!), work desk and a small couch. The TV looked a little dated and could be up for an upgrade though.. Breakfast was pretty good comprising of scrambled eggs, sausages, biscuits and gravy in addition to the standard stuff.. Overall we loved our short 1-night stay. Would love to come back here..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supramuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are so pleased to hear that you had a “wonderful experience” at our hotel. We are also delighted to hear that you had a very friendly welcome from our staff. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary deluxe breakfast and are glad you took advantage of that. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service in addition to a well-maintained property and are happy to know we accomplished just that. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We would love for you to come back and stay at our hotel just as much as you would like to! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews