We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #83 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
1 review
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent stay especially on customer service by Marian Foster. She made my stay so easy, effortless, comfortable, and unforgettable experience. I highly recommend this hotel and looking forward for another stay in this same location.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMack1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear JohnnyMack1221,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear you had an “excellent experience” at our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable stay and are thrilled to have accomplished said task. We anticipate your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    67
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
36
11
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here on business trips often (2013 and 2014). The staff are very hospitable and accommodating. I have no complaints with the rooms I stayed in. Ester and Veronica Antonio had been very helpful especially contacting our office and managing administrative related items so I don't have to worry about those things during my stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear you received “great service” while at our hotel. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. We appreciate your kind comments and agree that Ester and Veronica are vital to our team. We hope to see you again, during your next stay in San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is immaculate. The breakfast buffet is good. The pool is clean. Now that we have the basics out of the way, let's discuss the AMAZING SERVICE that we received. We are traveling cross country on a family vacation. We had reservations and stopped at a gas station about 3 miles away as we were almost out of gas. We filled up and our car battery died right there. We got a ride to the hotel from a great guy who works at the transportation team for Qualcomm. It was about 9pm when we finally got to the hotel. The next morning I tried several mobile mechanics and even the local Honda Dealer. No one could or would help us. I went to the front desk and was greeted with a very cheerful voice by CiCi. CiCi asked how she could help me. I told her I had a problem and she replied that "she solves problems for customers." I smiled and said, let's find out. I explained that our car was 3 miles away. I needed a way to get to an auto parts store, buy a battery, and then get back to our car to install it. She enlisted the help of Jorge, another employee at the hotel. She even offered to let us use her car if we needed to. Jorge took me to a parts store. I bought the battery. He took me to the gas station and helped me install the battery and made sure everything was fine before he headed back to the hotel. Simply put, CiCi and Jorge saved us a lot of money and a half a day's vacation by going above and beyond their duties. We are extremely grateful. Best Regards, Bill and Family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfamily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear our customer service is “far above and beyond”. We appreciate your compliments to CiCi. She really is a gem at the front desk and we are so glad you were happy with her service. We also appreciate your compliments to Jorge. We strive to deliver outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego and sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was immaculate. So clean. Everything looked new. Didn't feel like I had to keep my shoes on while walking around the carpet, like some of the other places we've stayed. Breakfast was great. Received wonderful service. Everyone who worked there was very friendly and very accommodating! Thank you to Ester at the front desk! We will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear our guests rooms are “immaculate” and “so clean”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are pleased you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are thrilled you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This Holiday Inn Express is near the I-805 freeway and near many restaurants and businesses in San Diego.

My wife and I got in late at night after being on the road for 8 hours. We were greeted by Eli. He was very helpful and efficient in checking us in. He made sure we had water, the proper number of pillows and blanket. Eli was kind enough to approve our late check out for the following day as we were exhausted.

My wife and have consistently experienced exceptional service when choosing Holiday Inn Express for our lodging needs. We were pleased that this hotel lived up to the standards we enjoy.

The room we had was clean and quiet. The bed was firm and comfortable, and the shower pressure was good. Of course the breakfast was good as usual.

Our checkout was efficiently processed by Ester. Ester answered all our questions, was friendly, and helpful in that she made sure we had good directions before taking off to our next destination. Indeed, we had a stress-free rest, which enhanced our driving safety during our many hours on the road.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DancerCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear that you received “friendly and efficient service” at our hotel. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are delighted to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband was sent on a business trip to San Diego and I was lucky enough to go this time.He always asks to stay at a Holiday Inn Express whenever he travels because of the good experiences he has had.What a nice hotel!!The staff were just as friendly and helpful as they could be.The whole property was kept immaculate.They work all day here to keep it clean and neat.The breakfast put out everyday had to many choices,so I had a little of everything!!!Our room was large and I really loved the bathroom update!!!Thank you again,Veronica and staff.I hope to get back soon,Paulette S.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are thrilled to hear you had the “best stay ever” at our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property, as well as outstanding quality service and are delighted to have accomplished said tasks. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are glad you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A week before my stay here, I started to look for places north of downtown San Diego that were location friendly for work. I do stay with locations from the Intercontinental Hotel Group, but not nearly as much as I did 5-10 years ago. I had never stayed at this property and it fit all of my requirements. I found a slightly better rate on one of the major third party web sites than on Holiday Inn's, so I looked up their "Best Rate Guarantee". It states if the traveler finds a better rate within 24 hours of booking, IHG will extend a complimentary first night to the guest and notify the guest of the decision within 24 hours of notification. Well 24 hours came and went and so did 48 hours. I called the reservations 800 number and asked for guest services. They didn't have a clue about the rate guarantee or what to do about it. I decided to call the Holiday Inn Express in SD and speak to a manager. There wasn't a manager available when I called, but the general manager called me back within the hour and did what I would have never expected her to do: personally guarantee the promise and extend the offer from the IHG website! When I arrived at the hotel, Cece did a nice job of getting me to my room before 1 pm, and upon check out the GM made sure to meet me and introduce herself to me! I can't remember the last time I stayed at a hotel when a manager who worked there put 'their money where their mouth is' and actually gave a s***! They have won a new customer with me, regardless about the idiots at IHG corporate. I hope someone from their offices reads this as a reminder how THIS IS HOW YOU WIN RETURN GUESTS! Thank you Elisa Santos!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Viking94708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear we “have won a new customer” with you. We strive in providing our guests with outstanding quality service, as well as a memorable stay and are thrilled to have accomplished such task. We look forward to your future stays with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing