We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Ranked #95 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This hotel is a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel to stay at while visiting the San Diego area. It's just a short drive to the major attractions & theme parks. It's just across the highway from the Del Mar beach and Torrey Pines golf course. The restaurant is excellent. They have great drinks, a happy hour, and even a sushi chef. You can sit in an area outside near the pool at tables or on patio furniture. They have movies & s'mores by the pool on weekends for kids. It's a beautiful hotel & should never be overlooked when visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelHoundd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    200
    65
    21
    17
See reviews for
123
109
27
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I spent 4 nights in this hotel and overall, it's a nice property that is well maintained. The center piece appears to be the pool area but unfortunately, I never had the time to enjoy it.

I had an issue with my air conditioning the first night which was promptly fixed by the maintenance team and they gave me a free movie for the inconvenience.

My only gripes with the hotel were an inattentive staff in the restaurant and charging me $20 per night to park my car. I expect to be charged for parking when I'm downtown, but not in the suburbs.

Given that most of my time at hotels is for sleeping, I'd probably choose a lower cost chain nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear T W,

Sorry you did not get a chance to enjoy the pool. Traveling can be very hectic and a dip in the pool can make the end of the day special. Sorry you ran out time!

When I travel, I expect great service in the restaurants. I too would be dissappointed if they were not attentitive. I will address it with our staff. Thanks for the Review, we appreaciate all the feedback we can get. I hope you stay with us on your next time through San Diego. Feel free to reach to me inadvance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on MMF to save a little money during a very busy last-minute weekend trip to San Diego. The rooms and property itself are nice, but be warned, this is not in Del Mar proper and is not remotely close to anything without driving. Nice pool and decent food onsite. It's a 3.5 star and worth a discount price but don't pay a premium to stay east of the 5. Good service and free parking were perks.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jjs_SMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for the compliments on our great service by our Associates, and the nice pool at the property. We always appreciate and take to heart the comments from our guest. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly prior to your next stay if we can be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had two reservations, and after speaking with Marriott they agreed to link these for us. It was our anniversary so I asked for a little surprise upon arrival. When we checked in, they didn't have our reservation on the system, we weren't given any upgrades (despite being an elite member) or a slightly better room even. It was Valentine's day and they forgot about the gift n the room, what an embarrassment!! The room was quite small and wasn't very clean (found hairs inside the drawers and the bathtub). The wifi was VERY slow and unless you are elite they charge you over $10 per day, not worth it.
The breakfast was very simple, worse than the one offered at the nearby Residence Inn, and very expensive too. We were also given access to the lounge but what they offer there isn't food, is just edible products. To make things worse, we had problems with the parking, as our room key wouldn't swipe at the gate, therefore everyday getting in and out was a nightmare. I spoke to a staff member who apologised and offered to remove the parking charges, however they totally forgot about the gift i had planned for our anniversary as well as the fact it was valentine's day. What really irritated me and made me write this review is the fact that they overcharged me by $200!! i'm still waiting for a refund and it's been over a week since we checked out. Lastly, the gym was basic but OK, the pool was clean and the jacuzzi too but unfortunately it was always busy, way too busy for us to enjoy. I wouldn't recommend this Marriott Property. Worst stay ever!!

Room Tip: Stay at the nearby Residence inn (brand new hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Platinum2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Platinum2000,

We take the comments and concerns of our guest very seriously and we like to respond directly. I highly encourage you to call me directly and allow me to aplogize in person. We can review the entire stay in detail. Please call me at your convienience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed in this Marriott hotel recently when I was visiting San Diego for family trip.
It was about 20miles away from airport and downtown San diego.
This was category 6 hotel which means =pretty expensive.
So I used my points to stay there....

I guess hotel itself wasn't glitzy or anything but clean and courteous

Staff were very nice and helpful, especially one gentleman who helped us with the baggage...

Only negative thing was the parking which was $20 per night....I am used to free parking in other marriotts....I guess west coast big city hotels are expensive and is the norm here to pay for anything that other part of country is free....

Wifi was another $20 to use it..so I stuck to my data plan...

Granted I got free room using my points, I am not sure if I want to pay my way to this hotel,even if this is category 6 ....(I consider it category 5...I think being in San Diego economy, it is category 6)

Room was clean and beds were very comfy....although room was kinda small...

This hotel is near Legoland...about 20min

But you will wonder whether I should have stayed at Marriott Residence Inn right across the road
and paying cheaper rate and free wifi and free breakfast...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Checked in and back out in one hour. Front desk staff less than warm or helpful. Rooms are small and showing age. For a few bucks more, found a nice room in the Residence Inn next door--and it included breakfast.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Kevin,

I apologize for the less than warm staff. I will address it with our team about how we make great impressions. I took the intitative to inspect the room you were assigned and am having a team address the quality of the room. Thanks for pointing this out to us. I hope you will consider us again in your travels to the San Diego Del Mar area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Sean, Ben & Darko are the best bartenders in San Diego. They serve the most creative & robust drinks Andrew is an excellent sushi chief. The yellowtail was delicious & fresh. Tracey Berlfein the restaurant supervisor greeting us with a warn smile at Artera. She recommended the Reuben which was an excellent choice. It was my birthday and Chris Vanderwall surprised me with a red velvet cake. Everyone at the bar & restaurant take customer service to the highest level!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#66 of 278 in San Diego
727 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Property: San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Address: 11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2592
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Marriott Del Mar is an ideal choice for a hotel in Northern San Diego, California whether you're traveling for business, pleasure, or planning a meeting. Our location in Del Mar is a seaside hideaway 20 minutes north of downtown San Diego and just south of Solana Beach. Along with our versatile meeting and banquet space, fine catering and luxury amenities we are an outstanding San Diego hotel choice for travelers simply looking for relaxing Southern California accommodations near the ocean. Our Del Mar, California hotel is convenient to beaches for surfing or sunbathing and also close to shopping at the Del Mar Downtown Historic Village. Events at the Del Mar Fairgrounds and golf at Torrey Pines also excite our guests. San Diego Marriott Del Mar provides an array of diverse and exciting entertainment! Our unique on-site restaurant, Arterra, offers a trendy dining destination with award-winning cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Take an evening to unwind with some cocktails from our full bar or outdoor lounge and enjoy some of your favorites at our fresh sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Diego Marriott Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing