We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Ranked #84 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
198 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

First time staying at the Marriott Del Mar. Stayed for 3-nights with my family on vacation. Minutes from Del Mar Beach, 20-minutes from San Diego. Pretty centrally located to everything. Very nice pool, hot tub, and gym.
Room was nice, concierge lounge was nice as well. Had one night when something happened and we didn't have water but it was fixed by morning. Only thing I didn't love was the breakfast in the restaurant. I think hotels try to be too fancy. I don't need banana bread french toast. I just want good old fashioned stuff. Other than that it was a great stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteeleB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    199
    63
    20
    16
See reviews for
118
108
27
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a great business hotel in Del Mar. I travel a lot for work and I keep coming back to this property (one of the best Marriott properties in SD). Swanky pool area, clean fitness center, nice onsite restaurant (with sushi!), and one of the best domestic concierge lounges Marriott has - platinum members will appreciate it.

I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
255 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at the Marriott Del Mar. The hotel is very modern, beautifully decorated . Our room was a corner room , spacious, with a very comfortable bed. The bath had a good shower head, nice amenities and plenty of space around the sink counter. We had gold lounge access which was great. Tasty food and lovely room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We found many shopping centers around the hotel with many restaurants and snacks available. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: high floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryjoe0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our event at the Marriott, specifically the food and service from Arterra, was phenomenal! They were able to accommodate us last minute with a private room, wait staff and a wonderful lunch. We felt pampered and special. We will definitely return for future private events. Thank you, Arterra!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here overnight for a work training class and I was very pleased with the cleanliness and modern feel of the hotel. My room was very spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable, plus the amenities (soap,lotions,towels)in the bath were very nice. Also every staff person I met from the desk to the waitress in the restaurant were sincerely focused on my staying there being the best stay at a hotel. I will recommend this hotel to friends family and co-workers. On a final note, I recently came from a stay at Treasure Island in Las Vegas and this hotel was absolutely better than there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevencosta6265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here overnight for a visit with our family. It was a disappointment in several ways. First, the king room we asked for was not available. Second, we were given literally the worst room in the building, with the view of the giant air conditioning system. (Room 202, for those of you who are wondering. Do not accept this room when you check in.) I understand that someone has to take this bad room sometime. But to give this to a loyal customer with status runs counter to common business sense in my opinion. Finally, the breakfast buffett was also sub-par. It's more at the level of the casual breakfast offered at, say, the Residence Inn. It's not the quality I was expecting from a full service Marriott.

Other than that hotel staff is good. The overall decor is a bit dated, but still ok.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 202.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Siyuen,

We appreciate your feedback and your patronage. We strive each day to meet and exceed our guest expectations. We apologize for not meeting your expectations on your last visit with us. We hope you will come back and experience the San Diego Marriott Del Mar in a better light. Please contact me directly on your next visit to ensure a better room placement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Two weeks ago, I held an event with 240+ people at the San Diego Marriott Del Mar, and I have had an opportunity to reflect on why I continue to not only frequent using this hotel, but am proud to say that I hold events there regularly.

The staff is an absolute pleasure to work with, and I would complement the management team for not only hiring such a great group of people who clearly love their job, but are also passionate about making their customers feel valued. Their attention to detail and focusing on customer service has helped ensure that my events, whether they are large of small, are important to them. Whether it is the sales or event team, chefs or banquet staff, they all have a can-do attitude that is so often hard to find.

I look forward to my next event at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, and seeing how far the staff can continue to raise the bar on perfection.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#66 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
1.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Property: San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Address: 11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2592
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Marriott Del Mar is an ideal choice for a hotel in Northern San Diego, California whether you're traveling for business, pleasure, or planning a meeting. Our location in Del Mar is a seaside hideaway 20 minutes north of downtown San Diego and just south of Solana Beach. Along with our versatile meeting and banquet space, fine catering and luxury amenities we are an outstanding San Diego hotel choice for travelers simply looking for relaxing Southern California accommodations near the ocean. Our Del Mar, California hotel is convenient to beaches for surfing or sunbathing and also close to shopping at the Del Mar Downtown Historic Village. Events at the Del Mar Fairgrounds and golf at Torrey Pines also excite our guests. San Diego Marriott Del Mar provides an array of diverse and exciting entertainment! Our unique on-site restaurant, Arterra, offers a trendy dining destination with award-winning cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Take an evening to unwind with some cocktails from our full bar or outdoor lounge and enjoy some of your favorites at our fresh sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your San Diego Marriott Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing