We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great stay, terrific staff and facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Ranked #89 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had a great stay, terrific staff and facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Were here for the Surf Cup with 14 year old girls. Everyone at the hotel was very accomodating to the girls and their families. The staff could not have been better and the hotel restaurant, bar and pool are great. I would hight recommend this hotel for groups and families.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomerDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear DomerDad,

I hope you had a very successful tournament. I used to travel with my girls for sports; I know how important a good hotel is for the spirit of the competition. I am glad the family had a great time. See you next year for Surf Cup 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    195
    63
    20
    16
See reviews for
116
106
27
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here with a family group of 9. One the the best hotels I have stayed in. Great pools/ Excellent service. Quite. Shuttle service to beach, some 20 mins away.
This hotel is what a 5 star should be.
Don't bother with having the sit down breakfast go have it at the coffee corner, where you eat what you bought and not over indulge. Great views. Seating is limited to about 2/4 to table.
Highly recommend this hotel.
Would recommend you hire a car.
Note they tend to be VERY punctual about shuttle bookings etc 5 mins late and you have missed it (they will re-arrange but can be trying ).

Room Tip: 2 twins in room will be more than suitable for 2 adults + 2 children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5starholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear 5Starholiday,
We love being called a 5 star hotel. The staff clapped and cheered when I read your review to the morning stand up meeting. I also passed along the thought of being a little more flexible on the timing of the shuttle. Something for us to be more conscience of when picking guest back up. You mentioned the great view of the Torrey Pine Bluffs. I love this view in the evening when the sunset reflects off of the dirt cliffs. Bring your camera next time for a spectacular photo moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent the weekend here with friends. This is a nice family and business hotel. It is located close to the I5 and about ½ hour from downtown San Diego and 15 minutes to Mission Bay or La Jolla. Valet and self parking are available.

The hotel is very neat, clean and well appointed. The lobby area is inviting and has comfortable seating areas. There’s even a bookshelf filled with books just for children. The grill/bar is large and has a decent, menu and weekend brunch. There’s also an outside patio area with comfy furniture groupings and heaters. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The furnishings and carpet appeared to be recently updated.

The hotel was sold out due to a children’s soccer tournament. While everyone was very busy, the front desk, staff and housekeeping were always friendly and efficient. Our room was missing a hairdryer and within 5 minutes of calling the front desk, housekeeping delivered a new hairdryer. I also learned the hotel will provide forgotten items such as toothpaste to tide you over.

Overall, we all enjoyed our stay and would stay here again, especially since the rates are far less than downtown hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1TravelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear 1Travel Monkey,

I love the Handle! It’s a very creative name for your survey handle. I am delighted you picked up on the books for children. We really try and cater to the families that travel with their children; for business or leisure. Did you have a chance to have one of our S’mores poolside? They are a big hit with kids of all ages. I appreciate the comments. Since we are north of the Downtown are but close to so many of the attraction in the surrounding area, it is very convenient. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you soon……Love the Handle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel based on local coworker recommendations. Nice location for access... but in the middle of suburbia and they charge $20/day to park?!?! WiFi was also a charge item. When the room was as high priced as it was, these extra daily charges are excessive. Room was clean and average, nothing stunning. Nice pool deck for hanging out, but expensive all around. Not interested in returning except for the location was key to my business needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We monitor our pricing and strive to provide the best value for our guests. We are please you enjoyed the pool and lounge area. Thank you for allowing us to host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Marriott Del Mar for 4 nights and 5 days. The people are what make the difference. I'm not sure how Marriot got their brand down to their employees but they really believe in customer service. The front desk and the car valet people were calling me by my name which is very special-- I thought I was staying at the Ritz Carlton, not a Marriott.

We wanted to play tennis and the front desk people found a place for us to play tennis, made reservations and printed directions. They couldn't have been nicer.

The car valet person on Tuesday night was so helpful and friendly with a restaurant recommendation and directions--so helpful.

The "frosting on the cake" was Ken. I had checked out of my room and had to wait for my ride back to Los Angeles for 3 hours. I sat in the restuarant. Ken didn't hassle me to leave but made sure I had something to drink and eat. I even spilled my drink and made a huge mess. He couldn't have been nicer and more helpful.

This is the highest level of service for the money I have ever received staying at a Marriott and I have stayed at many.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Gene,

We are delighted to hear about the high level of service our Hosts provided during your stay, Thank you for your kind words of recognition, We were wondering if you have any feedback for improvement since you rated your overall stay as only one star. Than you for choosing the Del Mar Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Pleasant enough hotel, good sized rooms, quick in room services. Bar restaurant a little lifeless. Was annoying to pay for parking when there are some many free parking spots close by- next time will use them...plus $12 or so a day for wi fi in room- why?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the survey. We take the opinions and comments from guest seriously. We continuously look at our pricing and work to provide the best service for the price paid. I was pleased to read about our Associates and the effort they put forth each day. Again, thank you for the survey and we hope you will chose us again on your next visit to Del Mar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

From the moment you walk in and are greeted (maybe even by the GM Brian) to the amazingly warm and friendly guest staff everywhere (inside and out), you know you're "at home" in this Marriott -- for as long as you want to be! And when you couple this ambience with the AMAZING cuisine of this Marriott's restaurant "Arterra", you may find yourself wanting not only to capitalize on its wonderful breakfasts (don't miss its homemade hash), but wanting to return and nest back here in the evenings. So far i've loved their Diver Scallops with Bacon Brussel Sprouts as well as their Pork Loin with Cheddar Grits and Poblano Puree (both to die for). Bottom-line, nothing says hospitality like the San Diego Marriott Del Mar! : ))

Room Tip: Look over the front of the hotel for more garden and less freeway view as this hotel is back away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Donna,

I am so glad you had a great stay with us. The associates at Arterra are going to miss both of you. Thank you very much for the weekend. I hope you enjoyed all that Del Mar offers. I enjoyed our delightful discussion on horses. On your next visit, reach out to us prior to arrival and let us know you are on the way.

Thank you again,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
1.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Property: San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Address: 11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel is an ideal choice, whether you're traveling for business, pleasure, or planning a meeting. Our location in Del Mar is a seaside hideaway 20 minutes north of downtown San Diego and just south of Solana Beach. Along with our versatile meeting and banquet space, fine catering and luxury amenities we are an outstanding San Diego hotel choice. Our Del Mar, California hotel is convenient to beaches for surfing or sunbathing and also close to shopping at the Del Mar Downtown Historic Village. Events at the Del Mar Fairgrounds, golf at Torrey Pines and horse racing at the Del Mar Racetrack also excite our guests. The San Diego Marriott Del Mar provides guests with an array of diverse and exciting entertainment! Our unique on-site restaurant, Arterra, offers a trendy dining destination with award-winning cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Take an evening to unwind with some cocktails from our full bar or outdoor lounge and enjoy some of your favorites at our fresh sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing