We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oversold Hotel - On the street at midnight looking for another room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Diego Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Central
Ranked #11 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oversold Hotel - On the street at midnight looking for another room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Showed up at this Courtyard at midnight after a long 18 hour day and was told that although they had my reservation they were completely full. In all my years of travel I've never been bumped from a hotel - until now. It won't happen again, at least at this hotel - never again will I trust them with my travel and I'll make darn sure our corporate travel agency knows how they operate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COFamilyTruckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
COFamilyTruckster,
I am truly sorry that this happened. You are right, this is not acceptable and I hope that this experience does not resonate for future stays with Marriott. You deserve the flawless experience that the Marriott name offers and we did not perform.

I appreciate you sharing your experience and I hope that the accommodations that were offered suited your needs.

With regards,

Tiffany Marcelino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    167
    38
    11
    17
See reviews for
131
64
20
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Here for business , i found this property in good shape , clean and staffed with friendly helpful people. Its located in a central business area with no real amenities within walking distance . As a jogger, however, i did appreciate the long flat side walked avenues. There is also a very nice courtyard and pool . I enjoyed my stay and will book it again

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ctsv157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
ctsv157,

I am so pleased that our sunny San Diego weather allowed you to take advantage of the jogging around the hotel. If you do happen to get back when the weather is not as agreeable we do have a 24-hour fitness center that will allow you to keep up your routine.

Thank you for sharing,
Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our organization needed a place close to our event for the weekend. The Courtyard and all staff we dealt with before and during our weekend was very accommodating with all our needs. I would highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Heidi S,

I am so pleased that your meeting was a success. I will be sure to share your kind words with our catering and banquet staff.

Thank you again and have a great week.

Regards,

Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend for the Chargers/Cowboys game. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The hotel staff was really friendly and helpful with the area. The proximity to Qualcomm was excellent although there isn't too much else in the area. We did venture down to the Gaslamp district for dinner and the ride wasn't too long (maybe 15 minutes). There are also some gas stations and stores like Rite-Aid and Target in the near by area if you need anything late at night. We weren't in town to be tourists so it suited us quite well. The hotel seemed to be full of football fans and had a great atmosphere in the lobby/dining area. Also free wifi is always a perk. Overall, felt very comfortable and all needs were met/exceeded. I would definitely come back to this hotel again if traveling for a game.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJGirlvTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
NJGirlvTheWorld,

Thank you for taking time to look us up and share your experience so many months later! That is great! I hope you were able to meet our bartender Don, and have a quick cocktail at the Gazebo Bar. Even though the Chargers are not facing the Cowboys in the 2014 season, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have been using this hotel for a few years to travel my Girls water polo team. This is an ideal location to any area in San Diego, The hotel is centrally located with the Marriott standard of excellence. In addition working with Kimmy Bui has made the trips flow smoothly. She understands the needs of teams traveling as well as the accommodating the various changes that group travel creates. If you are looking for a high quality place that is totally accommodating for your group then look no further. We will be using this courtyard for many more trips in the future.

Room Tip: The two room suites are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Pat H.
You made my day! Thank you so much for recognizing Kimmy and our team for their hard work. We look forward to hosting your team again soon. I will be sure to pass along your message to Kimmy as well.

Thank you again and have a great week.

Warm regards,

Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Rosa is very accommodating and has looked after our groups needs and service during our stay and made us feel like locals and most of all friends. Our group is here on business, this will be a good experience because of the staff and her effort to make us comfortable and accommodate our needs.

Room Tip: Stay on the inside of the hotel area overlooking the pool it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Tim,

It is such a pleasure to hear your kinds words. Thank you so much for recoginizing Roza! She is a great asset to our team and I know that she is my go-to-gal for all the local spots! I am so glad that she shared her expertise with you and your coworkers.

We hope you come visit us again soon.

Warm regards,

Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I traveled with my basketball program and the stay was extraordinary. It was a group of 25 and we were able to enjoy our stay without incident and the hospitality was first class. My basketball program was treated to complimentary breakfast and I will forever be grateful and appreciative of the kind people who made our trip better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank torino j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Torino J,

We loved having your team here! I hope that we can host your team for your next visit to San Diego. Your girls were so great.

Have a great year and good luck in your next game.

Warm regards,

Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Central

Property: Courtyard San Diego Central
Address: 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123-1489
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#37 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing