We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel ,great price central business location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Central
Ranked #25 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have stayed here many times for business. It is central to north and south. 20 minutes to airport, free parking, friendly staff, nice pool area. Typical Marriott Courtyard, but a little more friendly. The management tries to make it one step above. Right off 163 and Balboa. Easy to downtown, the airport and the road tomEscondido n

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank calsun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne M, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear calsun99,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to know that you have stayed at our hotel many times for business and great to hear that we are meeting your needs. As you mentioned, our central location is ideal for both business and leisure activities with easy access to downtown and other great areas of San Diego.

Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff and nice pool area. Glad we are taking care of you. We look forward to accomodating you again soon.

Best regards,

Roxanne Marlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very nice hotel. Treated me very well. Staff was friendly and very helpful with any questions that I had. Hotel location was very close to my employer which was great for me but a fair drive from the downtown activities if that is what you are looking for. I ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. Workout facilities were very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne M, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear John M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Courtyard Marriott San Diego Central. It is great to know that you found our hotel very nice and that our friendly and helpful staff treated you very well. Furthermore I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the workout facilities during your visit. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I don't have any complaints about our stay at this courtyard. I wanted to book a house on AirBNB for a weekend in San Diego with friends, but my husband ended up booking this to save money. Not only was it 20 minutes from anything downtown, but it felt like it was in the middle of nowhere, besides the freeway right across the street. Not much around but some restaurants and gas stations. And considering where it was i'm not sure saving the $30/day was worth it; after taxes and fees, it ended up being about $100/night, and we could have booked a 2 bedroom house for $130/night and been less than 5 minutes from balboa park and downtown.
Other than that, it was a pleasant stay. Nice pool, room was a good size, had a coffee maker and mini fridge, and super comfortable beds!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne M, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear chasetravelbug,

Thank you for your review. Although you had your mind on alternative accommodations other than a hotel during your visit to San Diego I am happy that you chose the Courtyard San Diego Central for your lodging needs. Furthermore I am pleased that overall you had a pleasant stay and you enjoyed the nice pool, your room and the comfortable beds. We appreciate your feedback.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for my last 2 nights in San Diego. This hotel is located within 20 minutes of the airport,which Made it ideal for our situation. No complaints here! Rooms were clean,pool and spa were very nice and clean. I never had a chance to try out the onsite restaurant, although it looked very nice! Did the job by being close to the airport and the staff was friendly .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Btz2994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne M, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Btz2994,

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to know that our hotel location was ideal for your travel needs and that your room, the pool, and the spa were nice and clean during your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience regarding the staff friendliness. Everything we do is aimed at providing our guest with an excellent hotel experience. We are thrilled that you had an excellent experience and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travel needs bring you to the San Diego area.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

First class all the way around. Don in the bar was hilarious!! Great company from a class A bartender. Cleanliness throughout entire hotel. The breakfast was awesome. The kitchen staff gets a 2 thumbs up. Pam the Mgr was prompt to our needs and made sure our son was entertained at the pool and suggesting activities and sites surrounding the city. We will definetly return to this hotel with our friends

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear George,
Don is such a shining star! Thank you so much for recognizing him, I can’t wait to share your feedback with him, and Pam of course. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed breakfast. Pam Schwartz, Director of F&B just changed our dinner menu and Don created a tasty new craft cocktail list. I hope you have the opportunity to try them out the next time you are back.
Thank you,
Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was pleased to spend a night at this location. Upon checking in I was introduced to Marriott's pilot program where Platinum members not only received points at check in but also a gift from the small marketplace. The staff was very helpful with dinner recommendations. The room I was in was very spacious. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not too far from the Airport for an early morning flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Gus,
As a Platinum guest we thank you for your continued loyalty to Marriott! We are excited to share the new platinum incentive. To spread the excitement, we at the Courtyard San Diego Central, also have a property specific program that awards our Silver and Gold guests with a welcome gift as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

You know what the San Diego Central Courtyard by Marriott in May looks like and offers, because it's no different than most Courtyard by Marriotts. The rooms were large and clean. There was a breakfast buffet and a Starbucks counter. I stayed at this particular hotel because of its location near where I was traveling for business. The location didn't disappoint. I wouldn't have stayed at this hotel if it wasn't for the location, but I didn't mind staying there either. Other travelers seemed to be of a similar mind, as the hotel was busy while I stayed there. Some minor quibbles: Hotel staff asked if I wanted a newspaper delivered to my room, but didn't follow up. The woman minding the Starbucks counter clearly didn't want to tend to customers--one time, a long queue developed with angry customers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear JRo70,
I am glad that our central location was convenient to your needs. I am sorry to hear that our service did not meet your standards. We have just implemented a new process to ensure that newspaper delivery requests are completed, I am sorry that you had to experience our faults prior to them being addressed. I hope that we can make it up to you the next time.
Best,
Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Central

Address: 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123-1489
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £104 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing