We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
Ranked #70 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Great Stay!!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Thank you Hampton Inn San Diego Hampton Inn. I took my wife and daugher for a 4 day trip and loved the hotel. Shuttle picked us up at the airport and took us to hotel. I felt bad as I overheard a few people at the airport terminal say they had been waitng to get to their hotel for over an hour....Thank you Hampton for being quick!!! Check in was great, what a quick and seemless process. Room was spacious and clean, housekeeping was great at helping straightening out our room daily. Lobby was ultra modern and hip. Breakfast was great, fantastic breakfast hosts! Chuck & Maria , van dirviers, were fanastic, helped us get to and from airport, and seaport village. What a great location along the harbor! Again, thank you for a great trip.

Sincerly,
Sean

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear "Sean F", thank you for taking time to review the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown upon your return home after staying with us, we appreciate your input into this great travel community. You know Chuck and Maria will be really hàppy to see their names mentioned. I hope we have done enough to earn your future consideration!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    521
    240
    120
    73
See reviews for
403
363
108
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We are staying in the Hampton inn san Diego, wow it's noisy, the train sirens sound every 3 minutes up to 00:30 and start again at 3:00am. The noise of the train feels like it's inside our room.
Decor is ok, compfy beds, soft sheets, ample storage space, shower is good, lighting in bathroom is great.
Breakfast was good, good variety, but on disposable plates, cups and cutlery, very strange.
It's ok for a night or 2 or you are a sound sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemski D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear "Gemski D', I am sorry that your visit with us has not been great in part due to the noise from train lines that run behind us. As a senior contributor to this site we appreciate your feedback. I am also sorry that you found our usage of disposable silverware strange, we are using the Hampton Inn Standard. Thank you for your visit, and perhaps we will see you in your next visit.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to San Diego. It is a great location. Staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. The rooms were very clean with plenty of space. Breakfast was very large with many options.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dymullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear "dymullen" thank you for your business and for the great "word of mouth" advertising for the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown. I like that you found our staff friendly and that you would highly recommend us. We are at your disposal for your next trip to San Diego!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls,Sd, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Everything great except the noisy room heat/air conditioning unit. Staff very accommodating and gracious. Close to railroad track and rail crossings make noise most of the night but still got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear "Steven S" I want to thank you for staying with us at the Hampton inn San Diego Downtown, it is greatly appreciated. I am sorry that you had some trouble with the AC in the room so I will make sure to pass along your comments to our engineering staff. I am glad that you found our staff gracious and accommodating, that is what we strive to do. We hope we will see you soon.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel is very centrally located. The staff was amazing, very helpful and knowledgeable on what to do in the area. They helped make our stay wonderful and enjoyable! I would highly recommend this Hotel. You can everywhere from here, anywhere in San Diego. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Evelin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear "Evelin H", thank you so very much for your patronage and for your review. Here at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown we strive to make a guest stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible. I am glad that you enjoyed most if not all aspects of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again soon. Thank you!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great value for money in a great location. Staff were really helpful - especially the shuttle service. Just call when you arrive at the airport and they will come and get you - it takes about 10 minutes to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear "Anna S", thank you for taking the time to give Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown a review on this great travel site. It was our pleasure serving your lodging needs while in our city. I hope that the next time you are in our area you will choose to stay with us again.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Was worried when we went to the room for the first time and saw ear plugs on the night stand... The front desk clerk neglected to clue us to the fact that the hotal backed up to an active Amtrak (and perhaps freight) train tracks and the local commuter transit line. Fortunately, outside noise was not an issue...perhapsbecause our room was not along the back wall of the buolding. The hotelwas completely full our first night which translated into a challenge the next morning when we went downstairs for our "complimentary" breakfast. Seems that the breakfast crowd nealry overwhelmed the staff's ability to keep up. The $12/day parking was also a bummer.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room toward the front of the hotel to avoid/minimze potential noise from the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerBill2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear "TravellerBill2000", thank you for staying with us and completing a review on this site. I am sorry that full disclosure of the train was not done at check in, but I am glad that you were not bothered by the noise. We do have some information on the web site that speaks to this situation. I am also sorry that you experience at the breakfast service was not great due to how busy our hotel was over the time you stayed with us. I sincerely hope you liked our hotel enough to give us another opportunity, perhaps during a slower period during the year.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#69 of 278 in San Diego
628 reviews
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#175 of 278 in San Diego
501 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
Address: 1531 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing