We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
Ranked #72 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great stay at this hotel. Nice rooms with a decent view and a nice pool. My son was able toplay his games free on the in room internet. Location was good too. We went to Midway to tour ship. We were also offered a ride by the hotel staff to Hooters in the Gaslamp District instead of having to pay a cab! It was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear "Charlotte B", I am so glad that you found The Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown to be so in line with your needs. Like you mentioned, we certainly provide free Wifi and a complimentary shuttle services to nearby locations provided subject to availability as we also go to the airport which is a priority. I am glad to see you enjoyed one of my personal favorite establishments. I hope we can serve you again soon!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Service throughout the Inn is fantastic from room cleanliness to the breakfast. Front desk folks are great. Train whistles, trollies bells and trash trucks are the only distraction at the Inn. Little Italy is close by as are several seafood places.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear "Tom R", thank you very much for your business and for taking the time to relate your experience about the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown! I am glad you found our hotel clean and enjoyed the breakfast. I am sorry because of the noise caused by our proximity to the train lines. We hope that despite this, we have earned your repeat business should you ever be in our area.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have stayed in 100's of Hampton inns across the us. This was one of the worst based on a comparison to other similar hotels. Yes there is a train, yes there is noise but that wasn't the big deal. Building is old rooms are smaller than most other hamptons. Layout of the hotel is just goofy. Doesn't have that comforting feel like the others. If you like Hampton inn you won't like this place. If you are just looking for a place this will work ok.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tcroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear "Tcroll", I am so sorry that you felt that our hotel compares negatively to other hotels of our same chain. We pride ourselves in trying to maintain all of the chains standards and I truly believe 'that we do. I am sorry that you found our layout goofy and the rooms smaller, but unfortunately I cannot do anything to correct those two issues. I am sorry that we could not impress a senior contributor on this site such as you, however I do thank you for your business. If you are ever "just looking for a place to stay", I hope you will consider us again.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were very worried about this hotel as we didn't read any reviews before we booked, and the whole train noise thing was a bit scary but how pleasantly surprised we were! We were 5 rooms back from the train line and while you could hear them ever so slightly while you were awake, they certainly did not disturb us at all during the night. Our room was a bit on the small side, but you get that when you are a family of five but the staff were great, the complimentary breakfast was great, it was really well priced and in a pretty good location, so how could you complain!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rider1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear "Rider1964" thanks for your review of the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown, your business, and for seeing past the issues with the train line noise. I appreciate the distance you traveled to come and visit our fine city and I thank you for choosing us.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Thank you Hampton Inn San Diego Hampton Inn. I took my wife and daugher for a 4 day trip and loved the hotel. Shuttle picked us up at the airport and took us to hotel. I felt bad as I overheard a few people at the airport terminal say they had been waitng to get to their hotel for over an hour....Thank you Hampton for being quick!!! Check in was great, what a quick and seemless process. Room was spacious and clean, housekeeping was great at helping straightening out our room daily. Lobby was ultra modern and hip. Breakfast was great, fantastic breakfast hosts! Chuck & Maria , van dirviers, were fanastic, helped us get to and from airport, and seaport village. What a great location along the harbor! Again, thank you for a great trip.

Sincerly,
Sean

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear "Sean F", thank you for taking time to review the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown upon your return home after staying with us, we appreciate your input into this great travel community. You know Chuck and Maria will be really hàppy to see their names mentioned. I hope we have done enough to earn your future consideration!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We are staying in the Hampton inn san Diego, wow it's noisy, the train sirens sound every 3 minutes up to 00:30 and start again at 3:00am. The noise of the train feels like it's inside our room.
Decor is ok, compfy beds, soft sheets, ample storage space, shower is good, lighting in bathroom is great.
Breakfast was good, good variety, but on disposable plates, cups and cutlery, very strange.
It's ok for a night or 2 or you are a sound sleeper.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemski D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear "Gemski D', I am sorry that your visit with us has not been great in part due to the noise from train lines that run behind us. As a senior contributor to this site we appreciate your feedback. I am also sorry that you found our usage of disposable silverware strange, we are using the Hampton Inn Standard. Thank you for your visit, and perhaps we will see you in your next visit.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to San Diego. It is a great location. Staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. The rooms were very clean with plenty of space. Breakfast was very large with many options.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dymullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear "dymullen" thank you for your business and for the great "word of mouth" advertising for the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown. I like that you found our staff friendly and that you would highly recommend us. We are at your disposal for your next trip to San Diego!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#173 of 278 in San Diego
508 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#63 of 278 in San Diego
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Address: 1531 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £105 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing