We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
Ranked #75 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is definitely an older Hampton Inn, but for the most part is pretty great. I barely interacted with the staff, but when I did they were outstanding. Room was clean, a nice size (I think I had a room designated as having a "study" but that was mostly a desk and sofa next to the bed). TV worked perfectly. A/C worked great. Bathroom was meh but 100% serviceable.

Two gripes:

I guess this is going to become "a thing" now... The internet is free, but if you want the faster internet, you've got to pay for it. That sucks. I didn't want to pay the extra, so stuck with the free slower connection and it dragged a bit. Oh well.

The other issue: The back side of the hotel is close to the train tracks that run through downtown San Diego. I was in a room along the south side of the hotel, and the clanging bell noting when the gate was going down for the trains to pass was pretty annoying, and a lot of trains go by, especially in the morning. I get it, we're in a city, trains will be trains, etc., but if you're going to stay here (and this is no reason to not stay here!), ask for a room away from the back side of the property.

So basically all good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKinLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear "DKinLV', I really appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown, and thank you for your good review. I want to address your concern regarding the premium access internet. I want to assure you that our bandwidth caps did not change as a consequence of the Hampton Inn Brand's decision to introduce premium access. This was solely a decision that enables users who need better speeds to get it. In other words we did not decrease the speed for the free connections to accomplish it. I also do apologize for the noisiness due to the train lines, but I am glad that you found this would not be an impediment for you to recommend against staying with us. It is my hope that we have done enough to earn your future business.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

The location was fantastic, only a few miles from the San Diego Zoo, USS Midway, Seaport Village & Gaslight District. Within walking distance to most, or the trolley is right behind the building. Though they give you ear plugs because of the trolley, trains, planes & traffic, we barely noticed them. The service was mediocre and one of the front desk attendants was snotty when we informed them of a problem. The elevators also stopped working on a very busy weekend & the stairs are not easily accessible from the main floor (in the back office area) or functional (they don't go to all floors).

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear "Kelli S", I apologize for the delayed response, but reading it concerns me greatly. I would like to encourage you to contact me at your earliest convenience so that I learn more from your comments and can properly address a resolution. I can be reached at 61-652-4905. Thank you!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Lovely hotel and great breakfast. Nice location and easy walking to lots of stuff. Was noisey however because the train is only a block behind the hotel. Good for traveling around beautiful San Diego, but noisey at night. They leave ear plugs on the nightstands in your room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear "Larry M", thank you kindly for your review on this site of the Hampton inn San Diego Downtown. I apologize for the noise level in the room caused by the train lines. I hope that the next time you are in our area you will opt to stay with us. Thank you also for your business.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Excellent value to price ratio; a good location; close to downtown, airport and a trolley stop in the same block. This trip was my 7th visit to San Diego bay area. If will have an opportunity to visit Sana Diego area in the future, this Hotel will be my first choice to ask for accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kalervo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear "Kalervo H", I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown during your seventh visit! I hope you will continue to visit America's Finest City and will choose our property once again. Thank you for your business!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel is nice and clean and the staff is helpful and friendly. It is location very close to the city trolley system so it is easy to get around relatively inexpressively. The bad is that it is located adjacent to the rail tracks not only for the trolley but also for the Amtrak and Coaster. The noise varies throughout the hotel and was tolerable, but might disturb light sleepers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear "James F", thank you very much for your balanced review of our property and especially for your business. I am glad that you found the hotel clean and the staff helpful. We hope to serve you again soon!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We chose to stay here again because of the location. It is close to all of the downtown attractions and the MTS. The price and cost of parking is also reasonable for being right downtown. The room was clean and beds were great. We were on the front side of the building and did not hear the train at all. The breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnrdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear "dnrdavies", first and foremost I want to thank you for your repeat business as as based on the review headline it appears you are a repeat guest. We at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown strive to make guests feel like home and to provide them with the best accommodations and amenities possible. It appears in your case we are successful. I hope we will continue to be your first choice when in San Diego.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We've stayed at this hotel multiple times. There is a trolley stop behind the hotel that makes it so easy to get to many of "must do's" while in the city. The harbor and tour boats are walking distance. And if you're a runner, it's a great location, running along the harbor. The airport shuttle is convenient and quick. The staff is beyond helpful and accommodating and the breakfast is full of choices!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear "Scott M" reading that the staff at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown is beyond helpful rings like music to my ears! I am so very glad that you are a repeat guest and there is nothing we would like more that to keep you as a continued guest when you are in San Diego. If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#176 of 286 in San Diego
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 286 in San Diego
2,789 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Address: 1531 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £74 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing