We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE - QUIET AND COMFORTABLE will return next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PB Surf Beachside Inn
Ranked #167 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We spent 12 nights here- July 3-15th. The rooms are all newly and completely rennovated and very clean! I felt very comfortable to entire time and so did my family. We had family staying at Pacific Terrace who paid $500 a night and they came over to see our rooms and were totally jealous that we got rooms so nice at such an inexpensive rate. We had very quiet suites and never had any problems with noise even on the weekends and during the 4th of July.

Since the property is under new management they did have had some issues with the coding of the room types and getting the booking situations straight as previous customers stated. We had a few issues ourselves, but Jim Silver was very accomodating and kind to us and totally made it up to us and I feel he was more than fair and very courteous to us. I believe they are working very hard to get this all figured out and these issues will soon disolve completely. It takes a lot of work to remodel a hotel and completely change over management so quickly. And anyone who remembers this place from last summer before the remodel and management change knows a lot of work was done!

In this area, finding affordable hotels AND good customer service is very hard to come by! Our group had initially booked several rooms at Beach Haven Inn across the street and I switched after the manager there was very rude. Some of my friends didn't switch and they really regretted it after seeing our room at Seacoast and hearing about our experience with the management, while their rooms were very crummy and the management treated them like second class citizens... not like paying customers!

Overall, I totally recommend SeaCoast Palms Inn and my advice would be to maybe expect some bumps in the road but the management will be very helpful when dealing with reasonable people! Don't be a jerk and they'll be accomodating! If you want a completely worry-free experience then fork over the big bucks and go to Pacific Terrace, but to me it just isn't worth all that money when I could have a room just as nice and a great vacation experience at half the price!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrittneyMendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

It's really nice to hear that a few mistakes did not really affect your vacation with us. We will always do whatever it takes to make every guest happy with the resources we have available. The main mistake was the room type, and this was my fault as I miscoded a new room and only realized this after it was too late. Thankfully, we were able to correct this error quickly and thus were able to please you and your family. Me and the entire staff look forward to your visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

When I arrived to check in the first night they told me they didn't have the room I booked and would have to stay at their "sister properties" a few blocks away. Everything turned out ok with that and the new place ended up being very nice. When we went to check back into sea coast for our last nights stay they gave us a room with one bed when we specifically booked and paid for a room with two beds!! We tried getting the room we booked and the "manager" was extremely rude and said there was nothing he could do. Not only was it the wrong room and we were being charged more, our room was in the far corner next to a busted up stove and other non working rusty items. We ended up having to call the sister hotel to get us out of our room since the "manager" didn't know how to check us out ( there was no way we were staying after that). The sister hotel offered us a room with two beds back at their property for 50 dollars off. After everything we had been through and how rude the manager was we were not going to give our money to them. My friends credit card was then charged over 300 dollars when we never even stayed and the lady that checked us out told us we wouldn't be charged!!!!! We will never return and I will tell everyone I know to NEVER book this place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Baylee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

I'm really sorry for the entire situation you went through at our new property. I am glad though that we did have our other property just one block away that could accommodate you and your family. We never expected to sell out that day, and when we did, it was very fast and we could not repond quickly enough. As for the rate, my policy, as the general manager, is to not charge more for any changes that are the result of a mistake from us. I do apologize again for this, and I do hope you will contact me to get the rate situation resolved. Mostly, I hope you will try us again with much better results the next time. Thank you for taking your time to let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This place has the worst customer service EVER the lady up front was rude the minute I walked in then they didn't have the room I reserved so I was sent to another hotel. My friend checked in two days later and she had booked a double bed room when she got there it was one bed and after going up front to get it fixed the man told her there was nothing they could do and this was what they have. No apologies were ever given just rude customer service me and all my friends and family will NEVER stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeseden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Well, I'm apologizing for me and my entire staff. We are striving for excellent customer service and we have unfortunately hit a few bumps along the way with room types. The room type error is mostly my fault for incorrectly coding at least one room type. And two weekends ago, we ended up overbooking with two thirds of the property available earlier in the day. This has never happened before, and we have taken the necessary steps to help prevent this in the future. I hope you will stay with us again at a much reduced rate. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This place does not have a waterfront view, but it has a great location and the rooms were just renovated, so I was extremely pleased with the value.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roughgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you!!! Being mentioned with the four star hotel down the block is quite a compliment. Remember, as a return guest, you will always receive a nice discount with us. We appreciate your business, and we do hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have seen this hotel change alot over the past year, since I live in the area. I recently needed a room for a short stay while my apt was being painted. The new rooms are amazingly bright and clean. New everything big comfy beds, granite counters, and nice modern wood floors, and a great wall mounted flatscreen TV. The bathrooms are very roomy and the showers are all modern glass and tile. My room had a nice little dinning nook and table to enjoy my complimentry continental breakfast each morning, which was fresh O.J. pastrys and coffee in the loby area. The rooftop patio was a nice spot to enjoy the ocean view and chill and have a afternoon drink and meet other guest. Cozy patio chairs and tables. Jim the GM and the staff were all very helpfull in getting anything extra we needed from towels to patio chairs. The beach is a block away you can hear the waves at night and plenty of food choices just a short walk down the main street. The shared pool across the street is nice to even though it is not on site, it is better than no pool at all. Dont be discuraged by other old reviews this hotel is a great bang for the buck. Enjoy it while it last at this low price because im sure once all renovations are finished soon this place will be booked solid. I am going to have all my friends needing a close to the beach hotel stay here for sure...Thanks again Jim to you and your staff

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUPmansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this very informative review of the Seacoast Palms Inn. The renovation has made a complete difference in every way. You are right about being booked solid, as I predict that will occur as more people realize the changes that have taken place. Each time a return guest stays witth us now, they can't seem to believe the transformation of what it has become. Thank you again, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Seacoast Palms Inn and plan to go back. Perfect location for that area and remodel work is first class.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newdeal1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for the great comments about the remodel. We also think it's very nice and we were shooting for something very special. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

It was a last min planned vacation to San Diego. Never had a place to sleep just a rental car. Never expect to be find a inn never the ocean for affordable price. Everything you'll need is within a 1/4 mile walking distance or if you're hitting the bar it's crawling distance :)

Rooms are amazing. Clean comfy bed, awesome granite sinks and tables, flat screen tv, and AC

Service is great and workers were friendly. They were there to help me anytime I needed like losing my room key. Quite at night and lots of privacy.

Planning on staying for just 2 nights but liked it so much stayed an extra

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

It sounds like everything worked out perfectly for you, especially without having secured lodging ahead of time. Most people do not know about us yet, and probably 99/100 people are shocked at how nice we are now, especially if this was not their first time staying with us. I hope that you will just go ahead and reserve with us again the next time you decide to stay in San Diego. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#177 of 286 in San Diego
495 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#211 of 286 in San Diego
182 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#139 of 286 in San Diego
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 286 in San Diego
720 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#150 of 286 in San Diego
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PB Surf Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PB Surf Beachside Inn

Address: 4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £66 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PB Surf Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring surfer style and modern amenities in the perfect beachfront location, our friendly hotel offers an appealing blend of style, setting and service. The beach is steps away, inviting you to stroll along the soft sands and soak in the salty sea breeze. You'll be dazzled by the choice of local restaurants within walking distance. Relax in our heated pool or on the rooftop patio. From BBQ grills to free continental breakfast, our hotel in San Diego is a comfortable setting for your beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your PB Surf Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Palms Hotel San Diego
Seacoast Palms Inn
Seacoast Palms San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing