We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PB Surf Beachside Inn
Ranked #137 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Camdenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel. It is well decorated and very clean (although the inside doors front and bathroom needed cleaned). Love the showers! Front desk was helpful and courteous (Randy). The price was very good as is the location, simply steps from the Board Walk with many restaurants/bars close by. Our last stay was in August 2013 and it was filled with a younger, stay up all night crowd. This stay was in February 2014 and it was much quieter hence a better sleep was had although I would like to stay on the back side and not on the street side next time. My husband complained about parking both times although we never had trouble finding a spot :-) A great place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kromos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Yes, sometimes the idea of an issue is enough. We never know what kind of a crowd we will have stay with us, as it seems like we are gaining a lot of new clientele with the word finally getting out about the quality and pricing of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    117
    34
    14
    19
See reviews for
69
125
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We planned our trip last min, it was affordable and very comfortbale. We just wanted a place to leave our stuff and be able to walk to beach. Will definitly go back. Very accomadating for our early check in.....found a roach in the room....but its san diego so i didnt think much of it.

Room Tip: our room was backed in the corner with no view.....but it really doesnt matter in my opinion....this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
That's definitely not acceptable to us, and do a lot to try to prevent this from happening. I'm glad that you found the accommodations nice and that you will be returning again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This property has an unbeatable location and the rooms have been updated nicely. I really can't complain about the rooms, except the wet dog smell in our suite shower. HOWEVER, I can complain about the staff and the way they handled our situation. Upon arriving, the woman at the front desk said she couldn't find our reservation. It took her 10 minutes to find it - I booked directly through the hotel so it shouldn't be a problem. We booked a suite, however, we were checked in and sent to an accessible room without saying a word. We went straight back to the desk and got some story about electrical problems from a man who was suddenly at the desk. When we asked why she didn't tell us this upon check in, she had no response. We noticed lights on in all the suites but one but we believe they overbooked. We weren't compensated beyond the room rate lowered to the current rate. The next day, they didn't know when we'd get our suite so we left our suitcases by the door. When we returned from our day we did have our suite, but no apologies or compensation. Nothing. The next morning the office was closed when we left. The front desk staff was very dishonest and didn't even tell us that we couldn't have the room we paid for, they just sent us on our way to a different room. I travel enough to know that is not how they should have handled the situation. I'm not sure we'll be back.

Room Tip: Verify your room prior to getting your key!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jent123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
I am apologizing now for the service you received upon check in. We do, from time-to-time, have issues in the various rooms, like plumbing, and electrical. However, we should have perhaps given you more compensation at the time. I do hope you will return, and hope you can see the value with what we have done to the property. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I knew from the beginning that it would be a great place to stay because I had to sort out a mistake in the reservation made before we got there, and Alpha who works there took care of it on the phone. When I checked in she was there at the desk with Randy, the manager. A very professional team. The rooms were large, clean, and the location in San Diego is the perfect place from which to tour the area. There is a rooftop deck with a great view.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKlassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for the terrific review! We look forward to your return very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights when in San Diego. If your goal is to be near the beach, this place is perfect! The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the beach, and is in a perfect location to the water, bike rentals, the big pier, restaurants, and bars. However, we were there to go into the city, which was a 15 minute drive- not too horrible, but not as convenient as staying downtown. The hotel itself was very nice. The rooms were clean, albeit a little small. The breakfast was pretty simple, but enough to get you through the morning. My biggest complaint about the room, however, was how thin the ceilings/floors are. There must have been a child in the room above us, but it sounded like an elephant was stomping on the floor all night. But overall, this is a very nice option for the money when staying in San Diego.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are very sorry about the noises from the room above you, and hope this will not deter you from staying with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Az
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This very clean and well located hotel is awesome. I've been staying around the area off and on for the past year and PB Surfside is without a doubt the best value in the area. The front desk staff is helpful and polite.

The location is perfect also. Walking distance to many restaurants and one of the best beaches in the area.

You can't go wrong with this hotel. If you need a place to stay for a night or two and it's available give it a try.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank robcamacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you! Very nice, and very much to the point! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland, VT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Clean, modern room.We asked for one on the back/quieter side. Only one block from the beach and on Mission Blvd with lots of restaurants (including Taco Surf - good, cheap Mexican food) and a good supermarket nearby. Friendly, helpful staff. Convenient for La Jolla and Mission Bay. Breakfast OK - pastries, coffee and juice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Everything is new and very modern at the PB Surf Beachside Inn. The location is perfect as you said with so many choices of restaurants within walking distance and the beach being a half block away! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#129 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#227 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific View Inn
Pacific View Inn
#172 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PB Surf Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PB Surf Beachside Inn

Property: PB Surf Beachside Inn
Address: 4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PB Surf Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring surfer style and modern amenities in the perfect beachfront location, our friendly hotel offers an appealing blend of style, setting and service. The beach is steps away, inviting you to stroll along the soft sands and soak in the salty sea breeze. You'll be dazzled by the choice of local restaurants within walking distance. Relax in our heated pool or on the rooftop patio. From BBQ grills to free continental breakfast, our hotel in San Diego is a comfortable setting for your beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your PB Surf Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Palms Hotel San Diego
Seacoast Palms Inn
Seacoast Palms San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing