We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Variety, Italian & American Cuisine in a Friendly Atmospher”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sloppy Joey's Pizza and Pasta
Ranked #3,251 of 4,744 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Variety, Italian & American Cuisine in a Friendly Atmospher”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was a great restaurant with a unique "one-two punch" of Italian and American casual menu items available. Sloppy Joey's is owned by the same group that runs Nicky Rottens next door. Both restaurants share a kitchen and you can order from either menu in both restaurants. Sloppy Joey's has great Italian favorites and Nicky Rottens has a typical casual dining American menu (burgers, chicken, a variety of salads, and a steak or two). My family of 5 ordered from both menus and all enjoyed their meals. The signature Sloppy Joe was excellent. We also enjoyed the Jalapeno Poppers appetizer. I think the place would appeal to all types of people, including families headed to the Padre's game or young professionals grabbing a bite to eat after work.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KwajTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Skip it”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Food is mediocre and the service is not good. The server could not have been less interested in being there as well as the hostess.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beetle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Go”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We order the steak bruschetta appetizer and drinks. The food was very good and the atmosphere was nice with lots of televisions. The service was great and the host drawing people in from the street was a really nice guy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
326 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 813 helpful votes
“Nicky Rotten's sister let down by slow service”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Huge servings but very slow service.

There are many many restaurants in 5th Ave, with lots of really good blackboard menu specials to lure in Monday diners and drinkers.

We wanted to eat at Nicky Rotten's as i had heard the burgers were fantastic. It was a Monday night, so Nicky Rotten's also offers happy hour bar prices from 3pm until closing ($3 beer, $3 well drinks) and a number of half priced appetizers.

We arrived at 8:45pm, and was informed that they were about to change from a restaurant to a bar at 9pm, so we wouldn't be able to eat as a family (with two underage teenagers). We were advised to eat next door at Sloppy Joey's, as it as owned by the same owner, and could serve off the Nicky Rotten's menu. Indeed, both restaurants are joined in the back.

We were sitting outside on the street side. with lots of people watching which was entertaining. Even on a Monday night, The Gaslamp still had plenty of activity.

Food was plentiful, high calorie, and inexpensive. The pasta and pizza selections at Sloppy Joey's looked really good when they were coming out, as did the burgers from the Nicky Rotten's menu. My daughter ordered Spinach ravioli from the Sloppy Joey's menu - with large pieces of ravioli swimming in a tomato based sauce. My wife ordered Nachos from the SJ menu. Another large serving, with lots and lots of melted cheese.

My son and I ordered burgers from the NR menu. Huge burgers which were absolutely delicious - although the burger buns and fries were cooling by the time they reached us. The Nachos were half price on Mondays at about $4.95++. The other entrees were all around the $10 price, so good value for quite a lot of food.

Unfortunately, Sloppy Joey's was a disappointment due to really slow service when the restaurant was not particularly busy. I had to go inside the restaurant a couple of times to find our server. This did not seem to be the case at the neighbouring Nicky Rotten's.

There are lots and lots of dining options on 5th Ave, and next time I will likely try another.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really liked it!”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We were going to the restaurant next door and ended up getting seated here because they are both owned by the same people. We were allowed to order off of either menu and all chose to order from here!
It was a Monday and they have a great happy hour! Steak Bruschetta was delicious and half price!! Hubby gobbled up a pizza! I wanted to swim in my portbella mushroom pasta, AWESOME! Son had the lasagna and wouldn't share!
Can't wait to return!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank latink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sloppy Joey's Pizza and Pasta also viewed

 

Been to Sloppy Joey's Pizza and Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing