We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It all depends on the other guests here.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #186 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
1 review
“It all depends on the other guests here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have been at this location for a week and have a few days left on our stay. I cannot wait to leave.
Until two nights ago, I would have rated this property 4 or even 5 stars. What changed is that we got new neighbors below us, and have learned that the resort does not enforce their quiet hours and that smoking on patios and balconies allows the smoke to come right into the windows of adjacent units. Our new neighbors are apparently nocturnal, because we hear nothing from them during the day but then at night, they party and swear loudly and slam their patio door over and over again while having loud conversations on their patio and smoking into our windows. They also have a baby who does not sleep through the night and whom screamed at the top of her lungs last night for hours on end as her family mimicked her and laughed and yelled over her screams. A mostly quiet and peaceful stay turned into a big city, close-living, ghetto experience. So, it's the luck of the draw. Calls to the front desk were answered by a kind and empathetic attendant who could do absolutely nothing.

This experience has lead to another complaint about the resort that wasn't even a complaint until today... our unit is very musty and must have a window or two open to air out at all times. When we come back from even an hour away, when the windows and sliding door have been locked tight, it smells like a sweaty gym sock. This is even with a blower running on fan speed to bring in and circulate outside air. It is disgusting.

So now, with smoking neighbors, we are realizing that we must choose between sleeping in a gym shoe or an ashtray. (Or not sleeping at all, if those neighbors are also noisy and have a baby who does not sleep through the night.)

Otherwise, the property is decent. It is quite clean and the staff are mostly courteous, however ineffectual. The pool is small and chilly, but that hasn't kept my children dry. :) The underground parking has been appreciated.

However, as it stands and as long as smoking is allowed and noise rules are not enforced, we will not be returning, much less buying into the program.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter than those overlooking the pool or shared patios, but lower two f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry M, General Manager at WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I am so sorry about the inconvenience from neighboring guests. I know it is important to feel completely relaxed when on vacation. We do have onsite security that are trained to enforce quite hours, I will research the noise calls you made to our front desk further to see what was done and what more could be done in future. I also apologize that smoke was blowing back into your unit. Please feel free to reach out to anyone in management during your stay if this occurs in the future so that we can look at options while you are still onsite. We are happy to do what we can in making your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    33
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
41
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freedom, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We exchanged here through RCI. We had a 2BR unit for the two of us. There was ample space for 4 but not sure if it would have been comfortable for 6. The unit was very nice and the kitchen was well furnished. Location was outstanding for seeing San Diego. I5 was just a few minutes away, but you couldn't hear a thing! Major shopping on the other side of the highway as well. Parking in a secured garage underground.

Wireless internet was available for a fee, but I used my phone as a hotspot so don't know how good it was.

Several gas grills by the pool area made for easy dinner!

Fitness area was okay, several cardio machines, but no one seemed to be using when we were, so it was plenty! Hot tub and pool were small for the size of the resort.

The carpet in the dining area of our unit was torn and needed to be replaced/fixed. Was surprised that only soap was provided in the bathroom - no shampoo, so bring your own.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tap0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry M, General Manager at WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am aware of the carpet issue you mention and we are in the process of getting this repaired. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for a week in a two bedroom thru an RCI exchange and we could not been more pleased. We arrived on Super Bowl Sunday and the resort was having a party in a large room near the check in. They served chili with beans, sandwiches, con queso and drinks....very nice to be able to eat after a 13 hour drive. Check in was quick and the room was very clean and had all the plates etc. you would need for a fun week in SD. The location dips just off I-8, near 163 and I-5 so getting to Balboa park, old town or the Wharf was extremely easy. The people who work there were wonderful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was very quiet and underground parking was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albuquerquebigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Such a perfect location ... easy getting off and on the freeways ... close to major shopping and many restaurants ... but still tucked away in a quiet area.
We always use this timeshare when we travel to San Diego ... the front desk staff is well trained and accommodating ... we have rarely had a poor experience.
The units (we generally get a one bedroom, but have had two bedroom, two bath units) are always clean, well stocked and fit our needs. We are appreciative of the free washer and dryers in a common area ... would rather have the w/d in the units like at most other Worldmark locations ... but understand the logistics of redoing a former apartment building.
The free underground parking is great .... like the security of having a gate ... and being able to drive up to one of the four elevators is convenient.
Having a 12 noon check out time is an added bonus. You don't feel so rushed.
We have 'discovered' the hill side ,,, so much quieter and peaceful ... I would recommend asking for a unit on the top floor facing the hill ... you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BornInHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldMark W, Social Media Team at WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. It’s great to hear you frequently stay with us when in the area and find our amenities and accommodations fully satisfactory. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
383 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

A year ago, I probably would not have rated this property very high. But now, I really enjoy this property. It is always clean, newly upgraded, staff is very friendly, great location. The wireless has been greatly improved. I stay here a lot for business and it is just perfect for my needs including the price!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cooking_Hawaiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldMark W, Social Media Team at WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are so glad you choose to stay with us for business trips and have been fully satisfied during each stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Accommodations were fine. Pool and hot tub had been drained, so we would have had to drive somewhere else to use a pool. The location was ok. We stayed there because a friend is a Wyndham owner. We had just come from a place near the bay and ocean, and in comparison, Worldmark just did not measure up for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

In reading other reviews, I agree with the main points listed below. It is a great location, 5-15 minutes away from most of the great locations in the greater San Diego area. We were 20-30 minutes from my wife's family in Chula Vista so it was perfect for us. We are Wyndham owners but have stayed at multiple Worldmark locations. Typical Worldmark style property. Full kitchen, King master bedroom, double twin 2nd bedroom, balcony (or patio), sofa or murphy bed and 2 full baths. They placed us on the top floor facing the mountians in the back and we were not placed on the front side facing Interstate 8. Thank you staff of Worldmark Mission Valley. We could have an enjoyable cup of morning coffee on the back balcony gazing out at the mountianside. The pool and spa area were being renovated while we were on property but we knew about this ahead of time. We did receive access to a local indoor pool landmark but we ran out of time and were not able to take advantage of it. Our room was close to the elevators and the laundry room. With 2 small kids these are the little things that we appreciated. The only issue we had was being interupted a couple of times the morning of check-out. Around 9AM, a maintenance person started to come in and was surprised to see us. He told us the desk told him we had checked out but we had not left yet. Usually I lock the front door of a hotel/condo room where I am staying but I had just returned from the laundry room and did not relock the deadbolt. So, that was on both of us. Around 11AM (Noon is check-out time) as I was loading up the luggage cart and head down to the car there was a knock at the door. As I was right there with the cart I opened it up and a housekeeping supervisor was there wondering if we had left yet. I showed her the cart and said that even though check-out was Noon, we would be out in a couple of minutes. She smiled and thanked me. Again, this is not a deal breaker for a return trip but it was the last thing that happened after a great 3-day stay. Guys, call to see if we have left and don't assume. I have worked in hospitality for over a decade and I have walked into an occupied room before too. But, 2 interuptions in 2 hours on check-out day? Just call the room next time to see if we are still around. But, the unit was clean and comfortable. Our kids loved the TV in their room!!! Can't wait to come back, try the updated pool area and see our family again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room that faces the back of the property to avoid a room that may face out f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmbyopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley

Property: WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley
Address: 425 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly Oakwood Apartments Mission Valley)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark San Diego - Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing