We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World
Ranked #223 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This inn got mixed reviews and we were wondering what it would be like. Our room was clean and quiet. It isn't an upscale place to stay, but it isn't bad either. The price during the week was affordable compared to other options. The staff were very helpful and friendly. One section of this inn has been remodeled and we got a remodeled room. Maybe the less desirable reviews were from people who stayed in the older section. Getting to Ocean Beach from here takes just a few minutes and our objective was to stay near the beach at a clean affordable place. We got it!

Room Tip: Request a room in the remodeled building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveler2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your comments especially with regard to our staff being helpful and friendly. We are striving to improve our facilities and service and will continue upgrading the property in the coming months. We appreciate your business, and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Laurence Bergin
General Manager
Heritage Inn San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    36
    39
    31
    47
See reviews for
59
47
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Not a great place to stay . The area where it is located is shady. At night it is scary.
Rooms are old & worn out but there is refrigerator, coffee maker ( which was not so clean in our case),TV in the room. In short you get what you pay for. It is not so frenzy hotel just average one which may save you some money. Also one good thing about the hotel is the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBNK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. The upgrades to our property are ongoing, and reaffirms our commitment to providing a positive guest experience.

Best Regards,

Laurence Bergin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have been on this hotel for a couple of nights. The hotel is outdated, but is still a good choice. The location is very good near the Sea World. It is also close to the downtown and Gaslamp. Easy access to the city. If it is on your budget: go !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renato C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are working on upgrading the hotel both on the exterior and in the guest rooms. This is a work in progress and hopefully the results will be apparent in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This place is old and run-down. Lights were burned out, the toilet wouldn't flush (and they apparently couldn't fix it so we had to move rooms), broken security latch on the door. One of the days, housekeeping didn't even bother to come into our room and clean or bring towels. The neighborhood is sketchy - strip clubs all around and lots of junk vans and old RVs parked out on the street with people sleeping in them. Lots of bums walking around the neighborhood / asking for money. I did not feel very safe at all here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Heritage Inn San Diego. Our property is an older property but we continue to take steps to ensure that the rooms are comfortable and appealing. Within the last year a number of rooms have had new carpeting, drapery, bedding, beds and furniture. We will continue to improve our hotel to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hvide Sande, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Unfortunately Heritage Inn San Diego was our last stay on at 3 weeks roadtrip in California spring 2013.

It was horrible! Extremely dirty, unfriendly and lazy staff, non-working free wifi which was not fixed during our stay, time-worm rooms, suspect guests etc.

WE CAN NOT RECCOMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorthe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I do apologize for the issues that you encountered while staying with us, and can assure you that I have taken steps to correct the situation. I would be pleased to discuss these issues with you at any time. Once again, thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Regards,

Laurence Bergin, GM
lbergin@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This old-school style motel is conveniently located right across the bridge from Sea World, a few blocks from Old Town and the Pacific Highway, with easy access to Mission Boulevard and Harbor Drive. If you're looking for a resort hotel, look elsewhere. We two older (60's & 70's) females stayed here for two nights with no problems. Yes, we heard some noise from outside and adjoining rooms, but not during the night, and, yes, the continental breakfast is minimal - just small pastries and coffee (there was a coffee maker in the room as well), but fresh enough and if I wanted more, I'd be going to a restaurant anyway. I'm a huge hater of bugs, and I didn't see any, the room was reasonably clean (like most old-school motels), and I saw no signs of illegal or illicit activity. I also like a good shower, and I didn't have any complaints. The desk staff was friendly and helpful, fellow guests were decent, and the location was great. I wouldn't mind staying here again if I was going to be in the area and just needed a room in which to sleep and clean up.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write your comments and to give us this positive review. Our goal is to provide a positive experience for all our guests and my staff and I are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Laurence Bergin
619-223-9500
lbergin@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

It is a minimal type of accommodation. Beds were average quality, air conditioning was ancient and made horrible sound all night long. They claimed to have wireless internet but it was so weak that none of my devices connected. Shower was a trickle of water. "Continental" breakfast was more like Can't-it-at-all - some measly pastries and coffee.

But all said and done, for the price it was not bad. San Diego is an expensive place and this place is close to beach and Sea World. So if you are not too picky about accommodation then this place is alright.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Heritage Inn San Diego. We appreciate your feedback and do apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused by the issues you mentioned. We are working on updating our air conditioning units as well as the wi-fi access to the internet. Our goal is to improve the experience at the hotel for all our guests. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#222 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#96 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World

Property: Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World
Address: 3333 Channel Way, San Diego, CA 92110-5102
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn - Sea World San Diego Hotel San Diego
Premier Inn San Diego
Premier Inn Sports Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing