We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World
Nearby Hotels
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$591
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$413
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$652
HardRockSD.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$423
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
24
39
46
37
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
39
46
37
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports arenadesk clerkbudget hotelcoffee makerearly checkmaidsshampoosdzoo
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed one Saturday night in May and the room was clean and quiet. According to the management, the rooms are in the process of being renovated and we happen to get a renovated room. I gave it a score of 4/5 and titled my review "Better than what you might first think... " because you might get discouraged from choosing the Heritage Inn from based on some of the recent reviews, and the appearance of the buildings. Give it a try. We will for three more nights this July. I will write a follow-up review...

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inAZ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

My sincere thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property. Your positive comments are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in July.

Regards,

Laurence Bergin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the Heritage Inn recently for 5 nights and it was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed. When I was looking for a hotel for our vacation I was looking for a place that accepts pets, has wifi and that is by the water. This hotel had what I was looking for and was, what I thought was a decent rate. For our stay this hotel averaged about $107.00 per night, which included a pet fee along with a fee for electricity. Really they charge $2.00 a night for electricity, its not much but come on. As we got into our room it showed that their rates were way too high for what we got, plus they advertised that their average rates are about $125.00 per night which is ridiculous. The bed was awful and the carpet filthy. The free continental breakfast was a muffin and a cup of coffee, which was limited to 2 per person.
On Saturday night when we returned to the hotel there was absolutely NO parking at all. Nothing in the lot or along the road by the hotel. There was a semi cab taking up at least 2 spots and when we told the front desk the lady said she can't do anything about it, um yea get it towed or call the cops. Then on Sunday night there were at least 4 cars that were parked in 2 spots and again the lady at the front desk said there was nothing that she can do. Which is crazy considering upon check in you are required to give them your license plate number and car make and model.
This hotel says that they are pet friendly, well the area for your pet is in the back corner of the lot and is a 10x10 of just dirt. The hotel was quite noisy and the guests in the room next to us were smoking pot all weekend. I didnt realize we were staying in a party hotel. I absolutely will NEVER stay here again and will be passing on how terrible this place was.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our best for all our guests, but unfortunately , sometimes we fail. I will look into each issue that you noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel. I would invite you to contact me personally at 619-23-9500 to discuss this with you further. (email is lbergin@heritagehotelgroup.com)

Regards,

Laurence Bergin
General Manager
Heritage Inn San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This inn got mixed reviews and we were wondering what it would be like. Our room was clean and quiet. It isn't an upscale place to stay, but it isn't bad either. The price during the week was affordable compared to other options. The staff were very helpful and friendly. One section of this inn has been remodeled and we got a remodeled room. Maybe the less desirable reviews were from people who stayed in the older section. Getting to Ocean Beach from here takes just a few minutes and our objective was to stay near the beach at a clean affordable place. We got it!

Room Tip: Request a room in the remodeled building.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytraveler2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your comments especially with regard to our staff being helpful and friendly. We are striving to improve our facilities and service and will continue upgrading the property in the coming months. We appreciate your business, and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Laurence Bergin
General Manager
Heritage Inn San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Not a great place to stay . The area where it is located is shady. At night it is scary.
Rooms are old & worn out but there is refrigerator, coffee maker ( which was not so clean in our case),TV in the room. In short you get what you pay for. It is not so frenzy hotel just average one which may save you some money. Also one good thing about the hotel is the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBNK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. The upgrades to our property are ongoing, and reaffirms our commitment to providing a positive guest experience.

Best Regards,

Laurence Bergin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have been on this hotel for a couple of nights. The hotel is outdated, but is still a good choice. The location is very good near the Sea World. It is also close to the downtown and Gaslamp. Easy access to the city. If it is on your budget: go !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renato C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are working on upgrading the hotel both on the exterior and in the guest rooms. This is a work in progress and hopefully the results will be apparent in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews