We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bargain....Great Location...Great Staff....BAD area ...Horor Elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World
Ranked #235 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Bargain....Great Location...Great Staff....BAD area ...Horor Elevator”
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Ey guys.....i know this is late..but heres my review

a. Heritage Inn San Diego

The place can be good or bad depending on what you are looking for.

Although the hotel itself is okay...its the area that surrounds it that makes it....eerie.

Right across the hotel..there is a grassy area...near dennys..and well..lots of bums in the street and weird people talking to themselves hang out there. But in the 4 nights i stayed in the area...and DO take note that i walk to and from the area Every night ALONE around 11pm....nothings happened to me. Its just really creepy when you have to pass by a bum in the street whos talking to himself.

Looking at the hotel itself...its pretty clean..no complaints...Staff are VERY nice and helpful. Area is superrrrrrrr great! near the beach...near bus stops....and not too far from gaslamp quarter which was hella fun. And it is VERY affordable.

I kinda feel sorry for this hotel actuallly...because the hotel itself is not bad..and the location is good too. But its the area surrounding it that makes it creepy. Rest assured though..the cops are DEFINITLY on watch.

i saw the police come by the hotel TWICE! One guy was caught getting a hooker.

Tips if u decide to stay:

1. Get a room that is on the lower floor..Because the elevator is CRAP! it smells like pi$s...the lights flicker..and its superr slow. (think horror movie elevator scene)

2. If u want to avoid the creepy surroundings..just mjake sure u have a car. Theres no where really to hang out at night anyway in that area.

3. Its cheap..so dont expect 5 star cleanliness. There was NOTHING dirty about my room...but obviously it doesnt have that spark nice hotels has.

4. IF you are truly on a budget..go for it. But the holidayy inn express right beside it doesnt look so bad either.

Have fun! SD is my favorite place in the states!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwtza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    37
    42
    35
    50
See reviews for
63
50
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

For San Diego this Motel gives you good value for money. Its clean, the rooms have fridges, it provides a little breakfast (if it hasn't run out!) and is convenient for Sea World (5 minutes drive away) and the Interstate (just off I8). It also has a reasonable sized pool. The area has quite a few restaurants nearby. The only downside wasa very stroppy man who checked us in. Even though it said 3pm check in and we were there at 3.10pm he got stroppy with everyone in the line and just said he was not checking anyone in until 4pm. I think he was a little stressed as he had been let down by the cleaning staff and others who worked there, however he shouldn't have taken it out on us! We had just had a long drive from Palm Springs. When we returned at just after 4 he was very cheerful pleasant and polite so I guess something really had upset him earlier

  • Liked — Cleanliness, closeness to places to visit.
  • Disliked — The stroppy man on reception!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Stayed at the Premier Inn Sports Arena for 3 nights in June 08. Staff at front desk friendly & informative. We had two rooms, non smoking, one room with a queen bed and the other with two queen beds both on the top floor as requested. Both rooms had a fridge.
They served danishes, donuts, coffee & tea in the front office each morning. We used the pool & hot tub each day. Parking was never a problem.
Both rooms had recently been refurbished. After asking, the staff advised me most of the rooms had been refurbished & they should all be completed soon.
We drove to Sea World only 2 minutes away. The 8 & 9 bus goes past the hotel to Sea World. Plenty of restaurants & shopping nearby.
I would class this property above average for the price I payed & the price they had on their sign. I would recommend it to travelers who are looking for a clean & neat motel room.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ledj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Booked this hotel because it has a good location and was one of the cheapest rates I found in all San Diego.
I was using public transit while in town and the Premier was just off a bus route with frequent service throughout the day ( route 8/9 get off at the Red Lobster past the Sports Arena) This made it easy to get to Mission Beach, Lo Jolla, Sea World, Old Town and Downtown or even Tijuana on the Trolley from the nearby Old Town Station.
Many fast food options and supermarkets nearby.

The hotel itself is nothing special, smallish room, spartan appearance, only two small pillows on the bed - but nothing to complain about for the price. The only thing I did find annoying was that when a neighbor's door slammed shut it shook my room too.

For the budget traveler looking for a basic place to stay I would recommend the Premier Inn Sports Arena.

BTW don't miss checking out Kobey's Swap Meet every Fri-Sun just down the street at the Sports Area.

  • Liked — price and location, has hot tub!
  • Disliked — basic hotel room no extras
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canada75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

I wasn't too pleased with the roaches that were crawling over everything at night and having to pay an extra $9.99 per day for wireless internet. Upon checkout they wanted to charge me 25 cents per local call, even though the phone placard said no charge for local calls and nothing else in the room made mention of it. And the checkout time posted on the room door was incorrect. I was told that what is posted on all hotel room doors is never correct.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — attitude and roaches
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Excalibur13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

San Fernando Valley
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2007

Budget conscious,I researched many hotels on line for price
and positive feedbacks before I booked. I'm posting to assist other travelers looking for good deals. Area was okay - walking distance to Dennys, Red Lobster & other food places. Room was clean,fridge included & comfy beds,buidling well cared for! I saved extra using my AAA. No need to pay Fancy Hotel prices
unless you plan in staying in your room all day! Heck you're
in San Diego, you'll have extra money to go Sea World 5 min.
away and explore the town. Will come back again.

  • Liked — Confortable bed,I slept very well! Close to Sea World,Historic distric,SeaWorld, frwys
  • Disliked — Area looked okay, behind commercial - heck I'm not gonna live there only 2 nights to sleep
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank arosa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2007

Being a research buff, I discovered this motel after a lot of digging -- wanting to simply find a clean motel at an affordable price. After staying here for 3 nights with my 21-year-old daughter, we both agreed we'd prefer staying here again over the Hotel Circle facility stayed at 3 months ago (which was slightly higher in price). Depending on what you're looking for in a room, the price cannot be beat for what you get (comparing it with San Diego's high prices) -- a clean, comfortable bed (pillow-top in the upgraded rooms); clean room; manicured lawn; and a central location with quick access to/from I-8. Be aware, however, that small amenities are not provided in room -- coffee pot, hair dryer, or iron/ironing board -- so either bring what you can from home or borrow from the office. Noise level (next door neighbor's t.v. or maid's cart wheeling by on sidewalk) was dealt with by turning on the heat/air conditioner unit, which runs constantly while on ... a benefit! ... (versus the "on-and-off, on-and off" type of unit which can disturb your sleep). We'll definitely consider staying here again on a return trip. I chose to rate it "above average" WHEN COMPARING IT WITH other hotels at the same price ... due to the PLUS factors (comfortable bed; clean room; central location). It's otherwise just an average motel ... nothing fancy. If you're looking for atmosphere, check elsewhere and pay the price! I'll spend the money saved on healthy, delicious food!

  • Liked — A good night's sleep in a clean, comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — No ironing board available in room, but office will provide.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own hair dryer if needed.
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAC111333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#226 of 278 in San Diego
1,261 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 278 in San Diego
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
California Suites Hotel
#224 of 278 in San Diego
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World

Property: Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World
Address: 3333 Channel Way, San Diego, CA 92110-5102
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn - Sea World San Diego Hotel San Diego
Premier Inn San Diego
Premier Inn Sports Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing