We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoky !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of E-Z 8 Motel Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
E-Z 8 Motel Old Town
Ranked #234 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smoky !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Huge smell of smoke inside the room, even in the bathroom.

Only 2 outlets near the TV, no outlets near the bed.

Wifi is not free, what a shame..

Otherwise, everything was okay. But I think $93 per night for such a room is too much.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIERRE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    37
    20
    16
See reviews for
21
31
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here during Comic-Con 2014 and I knew that I only needed a place that was reasonable. I booked and I requested a non-smoking room, I arrived to check-in, was told all non-smoking rooms were taken and only smoking was available. This did not sit well with my friend who has become a germaphobe with a slight OCD to the highest degree. I reviewed four different rooms before we decided to stay, anywhere else would have cost of twice the rate we paid. When con was over we checked out two days early.

Pros: Cheap, HBO, fridge, air conditioner, no bugs, security officer, two blocks from Trolley station, walking distance to stores on other side of the i5

Cons: Non-smoking room 1st come 1st serve, smoking rooms not as clean as should be, furniture outdated, needs new carpet, bathtub in some rooms had chipped paint from a paint over and looked like rust, rent the iron & ironing board from the front office, coffee only offered in the lobby/office, microwave located in the laundry/vending area.

Room Tip: Arrive as early as possible for a non-smoking room and bring your own towels, sheets and blanket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vansay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights & was a little hesitant from some of the reviews, but we were on a tight budget this visit & decided to stay. Overall, it's an older hotel, & rooms are on the small side with nothing fancy, but it was quiet & clean, security guard on the property, & the pool & jacuzzi were a good bonus for the $.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rknrljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very small, bed and furniture are very cheap and old. As I walked in the room it just hit me with a really strong ammonia/ Clorox aroma. It was to strong for me. I turned up the AC and left the door for a while and it just would not go away. I went to go get a refund and they told me they could not do a refund. Overall the location is good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I hotel is a small hotel on the edge of old town by the train station. It is. 1 star with cheap beds and furniture and 40 channels of TV. But it does have a great location.
I would stay there again if I needed. Cheap hotel that was safe and family friendly. They do have an armed quard on duty.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Older two story Motel with 2-3 buildings and Pool and Jacuzzi near Old Town, but situated on an industrialized Aerospace Industry area along PCH. This is a low cost Motel reminiscent of a Days Inn or Howard Johnson's from the 70's. Plenty of parking, an evening Guard for complex. Pool and Jacuzzi open until 10pm. Here are a couple of rare qualities in San Diego.....A/C in rooms, and no extra charge for a pet! Walk to Old Town in 5-10 minutes, or drive to Airport in same. My room was dated, but who cares for $47. w/ tax and safe parking? Certainly not me. It may be one of the best deals in southern California. The Staff and Guard could be transplanted to a fancier place, but they seem happy!

Room Tip: There is a menu in rooms for Italian Bistro delivery from the University area. I can't recall th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhughd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I do NOT understand why people are making such a stink about this place. They must be too sensitive or are expecting a five star hotel for the price. Get real ya'll. For the price (130 for three nights) it is great. My bed is comfortable, my room is clean, it has no order at all, NO bugs, the staff is hilarious, security guy is awesome, room neighbors are quiet, and as for the noise, if you're going to be a sissy use ear plugs. Its not even bad without them but I'm a light sleeper and always use them no matter where I go. I am happy with my choice and especially happy with the price.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank caseyjcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#221 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E-Z 8 Motel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Z 8 Motel Old Town

Property: E-Z 8 Motel Old Town
Address: 4747 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-2749
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — E-Z 8 Motel Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your E-Z 8 Motel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
e-z 8 Motel Old Town Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing