We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very good"...for a Motel 6”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown
Ranked #197 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Very good"...for a Motel 6”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I am not one to normally stay at a Motel 6 by any means. But this one was recently redone and we were on a budget. Rooms were clean and pretty comfy. Sort of like a private room in a hostel. The pillows were pretty uncomfortable and bring your own shampoo! They only supply soap. Great location, felt safe walking at night and could get to all the major attractions by walking or taking public transit. Far from luxurious, but the rooms were clean and was a great budget option.

Room Tip: Don't take a room by the stairs! We were told stair rooms were corner rooms so we would have dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wordofthewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    150
    103
    40
    26
See reviews for
29
162
64
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I've stayed here twice now at the Motel 6 in San Diego. The most recent being September 2011 and the first time in February 2011. Both times were excellent and exceeded my expectations. I'm usually a solo traveler when I go to San Diego and take the Amtrak from Los Angeles to get there. It's just a little over half a mile to walk from the train station to this Motel 6. It can be an uphill walk depending what street you take.

The location might not be as good compared to the other hotels that are closer to the popular downtown spots or the Gaslamp District, but what it makes up for is in value. The rooms look like they're straight out of an IKEA catalog without all the bells and whistles- I think they look simple but still modern. The rooms have always been clean and the bed and pillows are just fine. And I think they have free parking for hotel guests too, which seems like a rare gem to have in San Diego with all the paid parking lots around. It's also surprising to see the good flat screen TV in the room that has the good cable channels in there, including HBO. The staff were very nice as well- checking in and checking out was a breeze.

I'll probably stay here again next time I need to go to San Diego.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the first floor can be noisy depending on what side you're on, and if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starbright31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Whenever we travel locally, the Motel 6 is always our default motel to stay at. It's cheap and has the basics. Most locations are outdated with a late 70's early 80's feel. However, this location is different.

First, you cannot beat the location. It's walking distance to Gaslamp (or a short cab ride). For the price you pay, which is more than a typical Motel 6, it's a good deal. It's clean and the front desk is always friendly and accommodating. The rooms have all be renovated and have an IKEA feel to them, but that's what makes it unique. All the rooms have flat screen TV's with cable. The rooms are a bit small, but that's what you get when you stay in a downtown area. The beds were very comfortable.

As with any Motel 6, they have complimentary coffee in the morning, which you could probably skip, as it's not that great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBPurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

we found this place excellent!.. was very clean!, the photos show exactly how the room is it... everything it´s completely new!.. it has a plasma tv, the bathroom it´s nice!... also the staff it´s very friendly... they all the time tried to give us information about the city!

i want to come back to this place!.. it´s very nice!... it´s in the second avenue, so you can walk to the center, it takes like 15 minutes, near to everything... 10 min to little italy, 20 min by car to the premium outlets...

it´s very safe at night...

we didn´t have any problem at all...


the only thing it´s that they don´t have breakfast includes.. but they put coffee in the morning..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JocelynSoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Hi

If you know the Motel 6 brand, then you know what to expect. If you don't know the Motel 6 brand, then you may need to adjust your expectations. Compare what you pay at Motel 6, with what you'd have paid at the Hilton, Mariott etc. For what I paid at Motel 6, it was great value.

The location is a little bit out of the centre downtown, but an easy walk. You can be in the Gaslamp area in 7-10 minutes. Depending on which route you walk, you do walk by the sad reality of San Diego's homeless problem, however there are no issues with people hassling you (in my experience).

I stayed for 7 nights. The room was functional, clean and the staff helpful and friendly. The free car parking was a definite advantage.

I've seen some comments about cleanliness, this is dependant upon the individual staff member (and the floor manager). My room was cleaned well.

Not much around the hotel, however there is a restaurant and liquor store/deli only 1-2 minutes walk away.

For what I paid, it was very good value. It won't be for everyone, especially those with certain expectations, however for a business traveller like me who has an eye on costs, then it was the right choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HernanCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Firstly, this is a Motel 6 not a Radisson or Hilton, so some perspective, but we loved it here. The staff have been friendly and helpful, providing tourist information and answering any questions with humour and politeness. Our room was immaculate, cleaned every day and the bed was comfy, couldn't ask for anymore. The location is great, equi-distant from Little Italy and the Gaslamp and an easy walk for all but the laziest guest. Free parking, free coffee and a minute of the interstate. Go Motel 6 !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

It was decent. The room remodel is a step up from what it use to be. The location is great! Just minutes to almost any major tourist spot and quick access to the free way. I'm not a fan of the faux wood floors in the rooms, I though they looked dirty. The reason I gave a low score on service was the front desk employee who checked us in was rather unhappy and one of the days the elevator was broken so our room never got cleaned (I needed towels and more cups). I would stay here again... You can't have high expectations for leads than $70 a night in downtown SD.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanersD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#173 of 278 in San Diego
496 reviews
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#203 of 278 in San Diego
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 278 in San Diego
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Property: Motel 6 San Diego Downtown
Address: 1546 2nd Ave, I-5/San Diego Freeway at 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-3006
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Motel Six San Diego
San Diego Motel 6
San Diego Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing