We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable but rough around the edges”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #158 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in March with the family using two different rooms. Was cozy but a very old hotel. Had individual heating and air units in the rooms. Dogs were allowed and so there was bothersome barking in other rooms some of the time. Walls apparently thin to the outside as we heard a lot of partying very late. The courtyard was nice, however the aroma of THC welcomed us from that area everytime we returned to our rooms. Overall was a good stay. Great location as right on the beach and walking distance to the coolest eating places.
Was bothered by the "trip Advisor" logo sign on the front desk promising $75 gift certificates for a future stay if you "show us some love on Trip Advisor".

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherrlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

We have been making bi-annual trips to OB for about 5 years now and Ocean Beach Hotel is our home away from home. We've watched it change and improve over the years, always maintaining its local charm. We just returned from our most recent trip 2 weeks ago where we went for one last visit to OB with our senior 4 legged son Riley that was in poor health. OB was our favorite family destination and he chose to have one last trip to Ocean Beach and enjoy the beauty of the town and the people one more time. We were lucky enough to meet the owner of the hotel and spend a wonderful evening hearing about how he acquired the hotel and the rewards and challenges that have come along with it. We have dealt with his daughter for many years in our travels as well and are so thankful to be able to visit a place where you have a real family making decisions that help to make your visit more enjoyable. I have read some of the somewhat negative reviews and do not understand for anything what these people are thinking. Perhaps they took a wrong turn and should have continued on to La Jolla and stayed in one of the overpriced, no-character, pretentious resorts. Being from Scottsdale Arizona, I am very familiar with the trendy and 5 star destinations, but if that is what you are looking for, OB may not be your kind of town. OB is full of kind warm people that embrace local business, diversity, art and more importantly, one another. OB is a beautiful beach town with wonderful food, fabulous music, amazing views and some of the warmest people on earth, if you can let your guard down and relax and enjoy the experiences that are out there waiting for us. OB Hotel is just an extension of what the town stands for. The staff is always kind and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable (and now with the memory foam beds even more so!!). Every time I come back, I'm impressed with some small (or sometimes large) improvement the hotel has made, yet they remain quant and inviting, something can cannot have a price on it. Check it out the next time you're in OB, just make sure they leave room for me!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rileydog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I read a few reviews on-line and this place was great. Local flavor by the truck loads plenty of small shops and eateries. Next time we go we will stay there again. Right across the street from the beach sunsets to die for. Everyone at the hotel was great and helpful. The only bad thing about the stay was our room was right at the stairwell other than that it was a perfect get away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank steve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The room was decent for staying for a night. If staying longer I wouldn't have been that comfortable. The pictures did a good job of showing the room but it was small. The bathroom looked nothing like the picture on the site and was also small. The courtyard was very nice and was just a few steps from the beach, which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My boyfriend and I had stayed here last year. We are now currently planning a trip at the same hotel! The beach, bars, and sites are convienent. not recommended for families but amazing for couples.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We've been to Ocean Beach several times and I always wanted to stay at the hotel. It's the perfect spot to check the ocean . So when the opportunity arose for another visit, we decided to stay at the hotel for the weeked. The view was fabulous; the weather was glorious and the "surf was up".

The area is perfect to stroll around, plenty of restaurants, and plenty to do.

The staff was outgoing and very hospitable--thanks Stephanie.

We will be back.

Room Tip: We had a room facing south and it was on the third floor, perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Right on the ocean, great staff, nice courtyard with heated pool. We stayed in the one bed suite, good room sizes, clean. Came with stove, microwave, 2 tv's, fridge, everything you need for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antix1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#151 of 286 in San Diego
371 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#145 of 286 in San Diego
382 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 286 in San Diego
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#140 of 286 in San Diego
224 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#24 of 286 in San Diego
1,082 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#213 of 286 in San Diego
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £107 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing