We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #153 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stay here every time we come to San Diego. We bring our dog and she just loves it. The court yard is very well kept - during our most recent visit a local landscaper was creatively renovating the area. The hotel is just across the street from the beach, and a short walk to Dog Beach. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The hotel rooms are very clean. It is a great location to sit and watch surfers and an eclectic array of non an

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your dog,Get a room with the patio.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

The room itself was a little small. There were 2 sets of french doors that opened up to the beach. Unfortunately, because the room was a little crowded, we were unable to open up one set of doors more than a crack. The bathroom was also pretty small. The view was fantastic and at night even with only being able to take full advantage of one set of doors, the ocean is just steps from the room so you can fall asleep to the tranquil sounds of the waves crashing. Had a great time on newport with all of the small bars. Being steps from Hodad's (best burger in the world in our opinion) also makes this a winner!

Room Tip: We spent a little extra for a room that faced the ocean and thought the view of the boardwalk and oc...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funkifiedspunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Love staying here. Great location. Walking distance to great places to eat and just feet from the beach. Lovely court yard to people watch. Front desk employees are very friendly and courteous. Cleaning staff is very through

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turtle51562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Great vacation spot! Me and my husband came with out 13 mo old son, for our first family vacation! I couldn't be happier, the hotel is older but well kept. It's right off the beach. The beach is open 24 hrs so it's perfect for a late night stroll. We will defiantly be visiting here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdavngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Unfortunately, the excellent reviews written by travelers/locals on this hotel are well rewarded by the hotel with a discount toward their next stay. Read the negative reviews. You will get a clearer and more honest review of the hotel and surrounding area.

Room Tip: When asking for an ocean view, ask from what point of view in your room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willmore w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We just spent 3 wonderful nights at this hotel. I used tripadvisor to find that "perfect" place. I wasn't looking for a resort vacation. We wanted to park the car and not get back in until it was time to go home and that is exactly what we did. The hotel room was small but clean and faced the beach with an incredible view. Bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. We spent time in the couryard with some adult beverages watching the surfers and visiting with the dogs in this dog friendly community. We walked to shops, antique stores, restaurants and bars. We rented bicycles and rode along the beach front to Point Loma. It was so casual and relaxing. We had intended to go to the Zoo but didn't want to leave our little community. Maybe when we return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed here for the first time in January and would never stay anywhere else. Its right in front of the beach and the bars and restaurants are right down the street so this location was perfect for us. The rooms are very clean and updated... the price was such a great value too. looking forward to our next stay in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingstar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#178 of 278 in San Diego
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £114 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing