We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #150 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Don't believe the bad reviews: the OB Hotel is great! The staff were wonderful, very responsive to all of my requests. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day. It was quiet despite being on a busy street. The best thing, of course, is the location-it is practically on the beach! In fact, it seemed to be the only hotel in Ocean Beach that was within a block of the beach. Close to many different kinds of restaurants and shops. I will definately return!
Read less

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abrammer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    229
    90
    56
    44
See reviews for
147
338
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I were spanning on a week long trip up the coast, and this was the starting point. We had a few hotels to choose from though our rewards program, and this one looked like our kind of fit. Of course we read the various reviews and felt fine with our choice.
The hotel is located right on the beach in Ocean Beach, which has a personality of it's own. It's not for everyone, but I liked the culture. The hotel had a nice peaceful courtyard looking out onto the beach, with a some seating areas, a fountain, and even a little shower to wash off any excess sand, which was appreciated. The rooms were clean and adequate, right on par for what I expected. We stayed in a standard room. It wasn't luxurious by any means, but it met all of our needs. While we didn't travel with our pets, the hotel is dog friendly, which was nice. It actually did make me miss my dogs!
The staff was very friendly and courteous, and helpful with any recommendations. The location was ideal, right on the corner - the pier, the ocean (including Dog Beach), and busy Newport Ave. all in your sights. The first night we were in OB we partook in the large Farmer's Market on Newport Ave. It takes up a street block with artists, food vendors, jewelry makers, and musicians. Very fun! Most anything you'd want to see in OB is a short walk, and it is not a far drive from the airport, Sea World, or downtown San Diego.
Several reviews mentioned noise well into the night, but we didn't stay on the side closer to Newport, so I can't touch on that, but on our side, we didn't have a problem with the noise.
I definitely enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and would absolutely stay here again. I wasn't ready to leave after the two short nights we got in OB - thanks for the great stay!
p.s. Don't forget to say "hey" to Woody.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cordium23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I am in love with the adorable courtyard with the beautiful window view of the ocean! The room was quiet and clean and the hotel was conviently located near a ton of fun bars and delicious restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieLeighS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel and found it to be perfect for our needs. It was a budget hotel and we only had to say for 2 days. The service at the hotel is good, the staff is quite friendly. The best part of the hotel is the location of the hotel, it is on the beach. It takes hardly 2 minutes to reach the shore. The hotel itself is a bit old and dated but the services were decent. The room was also a little worn down but it was quite clean. We never faced any problems during my stay and would surely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor MI
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

....they have the spot right on the beach. If there is something else in this price range in San Diego that is simply steps from the beach I couldn't find it. And while it is certainly true that while on vacation you can DRIVE to the beach, it's not the same. It was simply wonderful to be able to walk out the door in the morning and be 60 seconds from having your toes in the sand (perhaps following a short diversion to the Starbucks conveniently located a couple blocks inland).

If it was not for that (and the dog policy; more on that later), there really wouldn't be a lot to recommend about the Ocean Beach. For one-third the price I could have found something within a 10 minute drive that has odd furniture arrangements, a/c as an afterthought (and which did not work in our room), no bedside tables or lamps, and the smallest bathrooms ever built. I'm not saying there is NOTHING else of value here--it definitely has charm, they have a lovely courtyard and free parking, and it's definitely very clean. I think they went too cheap on the renovations, though, and it's starting to show, such as the beige paint peeling off the pink tile in the shower. And the staff were very nice.

About the dogs: They are welcome here, and for good reason--two sections of beach to the north is an off leash dog park that is simply delightful. All breeds and mutts bouncing around on the beach and in the water. High tide or low there were plenty of dogs to watch and play with. Unless you really hate dogs make sure you walk up there. Dogs are also allowed on the beach right in front of the hotel on-leash before 9am and after 6pm.

But back to the Ocean Beach Hotel...as long as you realize you are paying for the beach--and especially if you are bringing a dog--you may think it's work the price. The commercial area immediately around it is pretty worn down and dirty with a post-college football game look and smell to much of it, but there are a few excellent restaurants and a bit of fun shopping.

Room Tip: There are four rooms that a view of nothing but the parking lot, even though they are called "c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We loved the location. It was on the beach and within walking distance of the pier and strip of places to eat and drink. It was also easonably priced with free parking. The hotel itself was very dated and the room we had was small. Very no frills. The room and bathroom were clean. You could hear your neighbors thru the thin walls. If location was your priority and good value i would definitely reccomend this place, but dont have high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itravelhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I took our adult granddaughter, along with our dog to San Diego for a quick trip. We stayed at the Ocean Beach Hotel during the week and loved it. We were able to leave our dog in the room. The manager/owner advised that if there was an issue with noise, etc., he would call us on the cell phone, as we went to Sea World for the day. Sea World is 5 minutes away by car and wasn't at all busy. We enjoyed Wed. PM on the main street because it was the old fashioned, close the street, farmer's market and music. My granddaughter had never had that kind of experience and can now understand Grandpa and Grandma's love for our history...it doesn't get better than that. The beach is open before 9AM and after 6PM to leased dogs (clean up after them) and our dog had the best time of her life (she slept all the way home). There is an off leash dog park just down the beach as well. I say, if you want to do San Diego...don't hesitate to enjoy this area ! You can definitely spend more money at a different location if you want, but you can't get closer to the real ocean lifestyle.

Room Tip: Ground floor with outside enclosed patio for travelers with pets, they have a balcony on the front w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunLakesAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#178 of 278 in San Diego
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#136 of 278 in San Diego
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing