We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cute hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #147 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“cute hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My family planned a trip to watch a Padres game. I first looked into a downtown hotel but couldn't find one under $350 a night. So, I then looked at the beach towns and, as a whole, much cheaper. This hotel is a cute hotel and it's right on the beach. Yes, there are homeless but if I were homeless, I too would live at the beach. There are lots of eateries and 30 mins from the baseball stadium (at 5:30pm) was nice. The only small thing that got under my skin was the parking - the spaces are way too small.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Jill - thanks so much for the fantastic review! I'm really happy you chose the beach rather than downtown - the gaslamp district is really neat but San Diego is all about the sunsets on the Pacific. Happy to hear you enjoyed our little beach town over here including the restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We are happy to provide free beach parking to our guests but you are right - the spaces are a bit small. Unfortunately we are forced to keep them that way to allow at least one spot per room.

Thanks again for the fantastic review and we look forward to seeing you and your fam again soon! GO PADRES!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    224
    86
    53
    44
See reviews for
141
329
55
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Love,love,love their location right across from the beach & down the street of many cute little shops & resturants & 6 min away from Sea World convinent,convinent,convinent & very affordable & very nice Recepcionests lucky I found them on a day I was so desperate to find a hotel stay for me & my two young one's since most hotels were booked because of Spring break & was lucky enough 2 find a room with them. Overall its a cute little hotel & very clean & their court yard soo cute I would most defenitly recommend this hotel & I look foward to visiting soon & staying again @ Ocean Beach Hotel :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanekarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We love being in the heart of Ocean Beach so people can walk to all the great shops and restaurants - doesn't OB have the best restaurants?! Ocean Beach Restaurant Week is coming up (April 28th through May 4th) - over 30 restaurants will be offering discounts. It might be too tough to make it down here again that quickly but it's an annual event so maybe next year!

Thanks for mentioning all the great things to do in the area including the close proximity to SeaWorld. Just an FYI that we do offer guests discounted tickets to SeaWorld at the front desk - hopefully you were able to take advantage of that amenity.

Very happy to hear that you will be staying with us again on your next visit to San Diego and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location of this hotel is top notch! Literally, right on the beach and close to everything. The view from my room looked right out on to the ocean. The hotel is a little dated, but the bed was comfortable and the shower was awesome - what more do you need? The staff was friendly and fantastic. The little courtyard area was a nice treat at night time. So many restaurants nearby to choose from - Shades next door had killer breakfast and a burger from Hodad's is a must-have. I am so glad to have found this place - can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much for the perfect review, Elaine! I love that you mentioned Shades and Hodad's - two of our best restaurants in OB. Just an FYI that OB Restaurant Week happens every year at the beginning of May and over 30 restaurants participate with specials... so keep that in mind when booking again! Also, make sure to check out our restaurant page on the OB Hotel website to see some of our favorites (and some of Guy Fieri's favorites too!).

Also very happy to hear you enjoyed the courtyard space which we just recently remodeled a couple years ago. It's the best for sipping a glass of wine and watching the waves. Thanks again for the great review and we can't wait to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you want a great stay, on the beach (ok, across the street) with quiet rooms with some of the most comfortable beds we've slept on, this is your hotel! The staff was very friendly. Plenty of restaurants on the same block. You can walk on the OB Pier, the beach, surf, or just relax and enjoy. A short drive from Sea World. Don't miss out on Hodad's burgers just down the block and do breakfast at Shades, right next door.

Already booked our next stay while we were there.

Room Tip: beach view on south side. best on 2nd or 3rd floor. No elevator in case you require it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ToJanMendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Wow - thank you so much for the fantastic review! You pretty much summed up everything great about being in the heart of Ocean Beach on Newport Avenue. We love it when guests recognize some of our latest upgrades which includes the memory foam toppers on top of new extremely comfortable mattresses. We strive for 5-star service so thank you for the shout out to our staff. And you are right, no trip to OB is complete without a burger from Hodad's or an omelette from Shades!

Thank you again for the great review and we can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had a great time at OB Hotel. Staff was great, love the courtyard at night for some down time after fun in the sun all day. Close to sand, Hodad's and Pizza Port, what else could you want? Don't tell management, but the price was so low it felt like stealing too.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are great value, spend a little more for a balcony room if you like people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelipeV15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
YES! Thanks Felipe! And don't worry I won't tell management about the prices being too low. I also won't tell them that they are insane for guaranteeing that we are the lowest priced beachfront hotel in San Diego and if you find cheaper beach front accommodations we will match it!

Ahhh - Hodad's and Pizza Port. I'm not sure it's healthy how many times I eat at those two locations every week but you know what - who cares, life is short and sometimes you just have to have a Blue Jay Burger with onion rings and a strawberry shake... twice a day.

Thanks again for the great review and for the shout outs to some of our notoriously awesome restaurants in town. Next time you are here maybe we can go grab a burger and a beer together.

Best,
Steve
OB Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Unbeatable location on the beachfront, close to the pier, dog beach, shopping and restaurants. The hotel atrium is great for relaxing with a drink and watching the beachfront action. The room was clean and in very good condition, even with being pet-friendly. Fun to watch the characters that make up the beach scene, never felt uncomfortable, though. Would definitely stay here again - a very good value.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have a superior view compared to ground floor rooms, but ground floor rooms have mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thanks for the awesome review ELP59! It means a great deal to us to receive glowing remarks from TripAdvisor Senior Contributors. Thanks for mentioning our centralized location - we love being in the heart of OB surrounded by restaurants and shops. Once guests park (for free I might add) in our parking lot, there is really no reason to use the car again for the entire vacation.

Yep, OB is an eclectic little beach town and the people watching can be an experience all on it's own. And there is no better place to watch the passers-by along with the ocean waves than in our courtyard sipping a glass of wine by the fountain - really glad you enjoyed that space. And yes, we love our four-legged guests and with dog beach just a couple blocks away there is no better place to stay when bringing Fido along.

Thanks again for the great review and we can't wait to see you again soon!! Oh, and nice room tip - ground floor rooms are also the pet-friendly rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The OB hotel, located directly on the coolest beach in San Diego was, for the money, unbeatable. It wasn't perfect, but most hotels aren't. If you're looking for a quiet place with spotless room service you might try another hotel in the vicinity. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbors as if they were right next to you. Luckily everybody seemed to go to sleep early. The room service is a bit suspect. They did a great job cleaning but left our trash cans full, which might have simply been an over sight.

Aside from that it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is at the end of the most enjoyable rows of eclectic bars, coffee houses, and restaurants you could imagine. The hotels courtyard is a fantastic spot to sit and people watch during any part of the day and night. You can't beat the price either. Good luck finding any hotel on the beach for 140.00 a night on the weekends. The atmosphere exuded charm and the owner was incredibly gracious and humble. We talked for 20 minutes while he cleaned the court yard. We will definitely go back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thanks for the great review, Dave. Yes I agree with you that OB is the coolest. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed the courtyard which was recently remodeled so it's really nice to hear from guests that they were able to sit back and relax while watching the waves and people through the big windows. This hotel is family owned and operated - as you saw, the owners are here every day chatting with guests and making sure everything is in top-notch condition. We love to meet people from all over the world and welcome them to this little beach town we call home.

And you are also right about the thin walls - we have recently been renovating rooms with sound & light blocking curtains, as well as, adding new insulation which has helped quite a bit. Hopefully within the next few months these upgrades will be complete. As far as the un-emptied waste baskets - that's unusual so I will talk to our housekeeping about that and make sure it's remedied- thanks for letting us know.

Overall, fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we can't wait to see you again when you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#172 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#130 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#124 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#107 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing