We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #152 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The title says it all, great location, unfortunately we got a small Courtyard room on the third floor that was in need of some TLC as well as a new bathroom. This
was reflected in the discount we received on check-out

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    229
    90
    56
    44
See reviews for
147
337
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at Ocean Beach Hotel for our honeymoon and it was the perfect place for us. The room was a little tight, but the location and views were awesome! The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the courtyard is really cool. Parking is free for hotel guests & we never had an issue finding a spot. There are plenty of places to eat, drink, and shop in the area. I would walk over to Jungle Java for coffee every morning, but they do have free coffee in the lobby. The ice machine was broken during our stay, but they knew it and bought bags of ice to provide if needed. I don't have anything negative to say about this place - great price and location! We will DEFINITELY be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I am leaving this review for the staff of the OB Hotel. They are professional, helpful, friendly and kind. I have no complaints about the staff. The woman, whose name I failed to get (sorry) who worked last Friday night was AMAZINGLY helpful and patient. Steve was great, too.

The walls of our room were fairly transparent, but the woman was helpful in moving us to a quieter room. The accommodations are very very basic, but fine. Though I think way too expensive for what you get.

I cannot recommend the area for families, however, as in my estimation the scene was quite "ugly." Never mind that you pay top dollar for a room w/a view and balcony, but your vista includes the homeless kids sleeping across the street and all manner of drunk, crazy and poorly behaving people. We were there on a very hot Friday and the streets were incredibly loud with people "cruising" in motorcycles and loud trucks--endlessly. The shops and restaurants along Newport sell mostly cheap tourist junk and cater to folks who want to get drunk. The Joint was great, however, as was Nati's, which was a block or two off of Newport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63kar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Clean & comfortable room*Friendly and helpful staff*Dog Friendly atmosphere* A complete stroll down Newport Avenue is a must! See it at different times try to be there on a wednesday night for the farmers market and if you like some organized chaos the weekend :) Lovely neighborhood a complete laid back beach town :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TinaMarie1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallup, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Clean, comfortable room. Lacks outlet in bathroom (only complaint). Many varied places to eat/drink within walking distance. Staff very helpful. Be aware there is no elevator. Would return in a heartbeat, and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank trailerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very nice but rooms need an outlet in bathroom for hair dryer and flat iron. No coffee pot in room, if breakfast is not included in the cost of the room then a coffee pot should be provided to make your own coffee.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyaz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for the great review, Dyaz81! We are thrilled to be your simply luxurious hotel! :)

I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed our recently renovated courtyard space - a great spot to surfer watch with a glass of wine! The owners of the hotel are the gardeners here (seriously) - and they take special pride in making that courtyard space look and feel superb! So next time you are here and you see a couple deadheading the geraniums, yep, those are the owners of the place and they would love to chat with you if you'd like.

Yes, you are right about the bathroom outlet. That's why we are renovating each bathroom one by one and adding not only outlets but also brand new tile showers along with additional shelving. Next time you are here, please don't hesitate to request one of our newly remodeled bathrooms so you can see our recent changes. As for the coffee, I apologize we don't have coffee makers in the room but we make an excellent "cup of joe" in the lobby every morning from 6:00am to 1:00pm and it's free for guests.

Thanks again for the great feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Location was great and the staff was amazing!! Rooms were nice and clean, view was awesome. If you dont need a pool or spa and want a nice clean basic hotel with an awesome view.. You will enjoy your stay, I highly recommend it.
Free parking too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvinlifeeveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
YIPPEE! 5-star review! Thanks so much for the great review. We dig your style too - that might be the best profile name I've ever heard in fact - LuvinLifeEveryday. That kind of matches a phrase we say a lot in OB - "No bad days".

Thank you for mentioning the staff who work very hard to provide 5-star service to every guest.

We will never be one of those hotels that has hidden upcharges when you check-in that's why we provide that free beach parking you mentioned, free Wi-Fi, and if you need to print your boarding pass or something - don't worry we don't charge to use the business center computer and printer. Everything is included in the price of the room.

Thanks again for the awesome review. And nice picture from the balcony! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#177 of 278 in San Diego
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#135 of 278 in San Diego
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing