We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, European atmosphere, affordable, convenient to San Diego Proper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North
Ranked #199 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“clean, European atmosphere, affordable, convenient to San Diego Proper”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I arrived late, (almost midnigt) and the front desk was very helpful. The room was clean and had a lot to offer for the price of the room. I had a very pleasant, restful sleep.

About 8:00 I was awoke from my late night slumber, hearing the sound of airplanes. Hey, it is a part of downtown San Diego and I do like the airplanes. For people, not sure of airplanes, the landing, which is a lot quieter than a plane taking off, the landing is a very short duration and, if you have kids, they may insist that you to take them out towards Balboa Park to watch the incoming planes. Me, being an older kid, still find myself looking to the air with a smile, when I hear an approaching plane.

For people not caring for an early airplane landing alarm, close the window and you will hear very little noise.

For my flat - I heard no traffic noise with the window open - all day long. My flat was in the back area facing the hotel's central fountain area. There was no traffic noise with the window open. I enjoyed the pleasant sound of the courtyard fountain water cascade.

One thing, I would prefer in the flat is a ceiling fan. I prefer ceiling fans over room air conditioners.

I do recommend this place. It is a little off the beaten path of the other downtown stays, but the place is still within walking distance to downtown San Diego. Also, I feel safer walking around this area, then truding around other nearby areas. But, it is a downtown city area (including Broadway and Gas Lamp) so - Stupid could get what Stupid deserves.

Hope you enjoy your stay here, if you decide....

Room Tip: Ask for a side room. Window is in the rear of flat which may give cross room ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank de_dorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    80
    62
    31
    35
See reviews for
30
86
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Rooms are small and basic, and the hotel is under the landing path to SD Airport so it's noisy till about 11 p.m. Breakfast is pretty terrible. But for $84 a night, it's a great deal. The windows open so there's good fresh air. You can walk downtown, or walk up the hill to nice restaurants on 4th Avenue.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room and try for one facing south - they are private and further from the airplane n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan-GordonSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I had stayed at Americas Best Value Inn, during mid Feb 2012 as we had to attend an event at Convention Center. Rooms were neat an clean and well appointed. There was free wifi, fridge, microwave and for the price we payed it was indeed a best value. The owner of the hotel and his family was kind enough to help us for arranging the sight seeing trips at short notice. The hotel is located near to the Convention Center and should be a 15 min walk / $8 cab. if you are looking for a neat budget hotel for a business trip I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikru405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was a great value place to stay. I spent 4 nights in San Diego and paid less than 50$/night including breakfast, which was by far the cheapest option in downtown San Diego. The hotel is conveniently located just north of the Gaslamp district (10-15 mins walk away), close to Little Italy. San Diego is very compact, so it was easy to get to all the main attractions on foot. The room was small but had everything I needed, including a small kitchen area with fridge and microwave. The shower was spacious and clean, with toiletries provided. There was also cable TV and free internet, which was fast and effective. The breakfast was rather basic, but they made an effort to offer a different selection of foods every morning, from bagels to muffins. There's an on-site laundry and vending machines for late-night snacks, and since Little Italy is not far away, a good selection of cafes and restaurants is nearby. Although the hotel is located just below the landing path of San Diego airport, the noise from the planes did not bother me, and since I am a big fan of planes I was actually happy to watch them from so close! Bring earplugs in case you might be annoyed by the noise. Finally, hats off to the friendly and professional staff who helped me with all my queries and were fast and efficient. I would definitely consider going back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Great Value for price. Good rooms for one (Max two). Good breakfast (Basic one), Great Front desk (Bobby & both ladies), Very helpful. Very near to airport ($10 by Taxi) and downtown San Diego. Next to Gas Lamp Quarters. Small aircrafts run over the property creating a sound, however stops early at night. Internet connectivity is poor.
Great Value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentTraveller752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
146 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I spent 4 nights here on a quick San Diego getaway with a friend. We picked this hotel for the price primarily and the location secondarily.

The price really cannot be beat. The location is great; for those driving from any of the rental agencies at the airport, it is about 5 minutes when no traffic. I was able to drive anywhere I went in San Diego in under 10 minutes (zoo, Coronado, Gaslamp District). The onramp to the I-5, which gets you just about anyplace else, is only a couple blocks away.

The rooms are adquate. They seem dated, but not dirty. There is a room with shower/toilet and the sink is in the main sleeping area. The linens were clean, but there was a mold smell in my sink. That was my only complaint with the room. I slept well in the bed and was not terribly bothered by sleeping with the windows open at night.

Re: outside noise...as others have mentioned this hotel is on the landing path of the airport. If you stand on the roof you could probably hit the planes by tossing tennis balls at them easily, they are about 10 seconds from landing when they pass over. But, the plane traffic stops around 11-11:30 at night and I didn't hear much before 6 a.m. This hotel also seems to attract nightlight/party lovers, who come in late and are loud. That happened two nights. But otherwise, I heard no traffic noise outside.

There is no parking lot but that said, we had no problem finding an on-street space any night when we returned after 6 p.m. (when you no longer have to feed the parking meters).

Yes, breakfast is included but it left a lot to be desired. We ate elsewhere the second two days because it sort of felt like a hostel.

I'd stay here again if cutting costs was the only way I'd get to San Diego. It wasn't horrible, but not the best hotel experience I've had.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amybatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel is centrally located near Old Town and the Gas Lamp districts. About 1 /1/2 miles from the airport. It is a budget hotel which is great for people who just need a clean room and comfy bed, but are out sightseeing all day. No frills, but clean and adequate. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is a fair bit of noise from the street and late returning guests. With a downtown airport, the landing planes are so close it is disconcerting--but they stop fairly early each night. The continental breakfast is very, very basic--cereal, prepackaged danish, juice, coffee, bagels & toast. Skip it and head to Broken Yolk for a filling and reasonable breakfast.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenks19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#203 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#75 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North

Property: Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North
Address: 1840 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2609 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - San Diego Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North is located within walking distance to San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. The San Diego Convention Center and San Diego Airport is located 1.5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing