We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North
Ranked #194 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Lumby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Americas Best Value Inn in downtown San Diego to catch some Padres' games. The lobby area is small; but did have some small comfortable sofas. I wasn't expecting much when I first entered my room; but was pleasantly surprised. The room was small; but very clean and had all the amenities you would need. Flat-screen TV with numerous channels, microwave, fridge, coffee maker with coffee, and iron with ironing board. Good sized closet. The bathroom was also small; but no problem in moving around in. Large shower - no sink in the bathroom but this was OK as there was a kitchen style sink in the main room for brushing teeth, shaving etc. The hotel appears to have undergone major renovations recently and everything appeared new and that word again - clean. Comfortable bed with 3 pillows. A bus route ran right by the hotel heading toward the downtown area with easy connections. The hotel is not actually downtown per se although it is titled as such; but more to the North in a quieter area (close to Balboa Park) and a mile from the Gaslamp area. Still a pleasant walk to the downtown area for someone of average fitness or hopping on a bus if you don't have a car as I didn't. Now for the bad news - this hotel is close to the airlines' flight path and you can hear planes flying close to the hotel. Surprisingly you get somewhat used to it - at least I did - and the flights are less frequent the later it gets; but I also used my earplugs when I went to bed. Very pleasant and relaxing courtyard with a fountain, benches, and numerous aromatic plants. They also had a complimentary breakfast; but I didn't partake of this service so can't comment. All in all great value for the money and if you're not looking for something extravagant; but for a serviceable and clean place this is it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    81
    63
    34
    35
See reviews for
31
90
49
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Our stay at the hotel was quite pleasing. Small rooms but quaint--reminded me of something you would find in Europe. No frills but clean and really enjoyed the courtyard and foilage. Bobby at the front desk was very pleasant as well as all of the staff that we encountered during our brief stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

If you care about breakfast, dont stay here . their breakfast is HORIBLE! they don't even have brewed coffee!!!! they just have instant coffee and hot water. They don't have cream cheese for their bagels, and they dont have milk and cereal. All they have is bunch of sugary pastries, the kind you can get at a gas station, apples and oranges, instant oat meal, and low-grade juice boxes. your better off going to a gas station cuz then you can at least get brewed coffee!

I would of given this place a 4 if it wasnt for the breakfast, but I ended up having to spend $5-7 a day getting breakfast at other places, when I had planned to just eat breakfast at the hotel, so I was very annoyed.

the rooms are pretty nice for a under a $100 room. but its under the plane path so planes go by every 5 minutes. Very close to the freeway though, and unlike the rest of downtown, parking was easy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjvosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Cathedral City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our experience was fantastic! Clean room,great ammenities,and best of all hospitable employees. In particular Mr. Bobby at the front desk. Highly efficient, cool under pressure and best of all, always smiling. Awesome location within blocks of everything! I will continue to tell anyone within earshot about this great inn and its great employees. We cant wait to be back sometime real soon....many thanks to all involved at A.B.V.I-SD downtown! Cheers Bobby keep smiling bro!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I arrived when the leavers were checking out. Every check out was fuss free and easy for the guests. I was given a drink while I waited and then I was checked in wthout delay and given a room even at checkout time.
The room was clean and well prepared.
The amenities were great.
In particular Bobby's service at the front desk was very good. He wrote out my Wi Fi Internet access details and the security detail. These were all very clear and easy to follow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I arrived late, (almost midnigt) and the front desk was very helpful. The room was clean and had a lot to offer for the price of the room. I had a very pleasant, restful sleep.

About 8:00 I was awoke from my late night slumber, hearing the sound of airplanes. Hey, it is a part of downtown San Diego and I do like the airplanes. For people, not sure of airplanes, the landing, which is a lot quieter than a plane taking off, the landing is a very short duration and, if you have kids, they may insist that you to take them out towards Balboa Park to watch the incoming planes. Me, being an older kid, still find myself looking to the air with a smile, when I hear an approaching plane.

For people not caring for an early airplane landing alarm, close the window and you will hear very little noise.

For my flat - I heard no traffic noise with the window open - all day long. My flat was in the back area facing the hotel's central fountain area. There was no traffic noise with the window open. I enjoyed the pleasant sound of the courtyard fountain water cascade.

One thing, I would prefer in the flat is a ceiling fan. I prefer ceiling fans over room air conditioners.

I do recommend this place. It is a little off the beaten path of the other downtown stays, but the place is still within walking distance to downtown San Diego. Also, I feel safer walking around this area, then truding around other nearby areas. But, it is a downtown city area (including Broadway and Gas Lamp) so - Stupid could get what Stupid deserves.

Hope you enjoy your stay here, if you decide....

Room Tip: Ask for a side room. Window is in the rear of flat which may give cross room ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank de_dorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Rooms are small and basic, and the hotel is under the landing path to SD Airport so it's noisy till about 11 p.m. Breakfast is pretty terrible. But for $84 a night, it's a great deal. The windows open so there's good fresh air. You can walk downtown, or walk up the hill to nice restaurants on 4th Avenue.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room and try for one facing south - they are private and further from the airplane n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan-GordonSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#203 of 278 in San Diego
212 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#134 of 278 in San Diego
613 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 278 in San Diego
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North

Property: Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North
Address: 1840 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2609 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - San Diego Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North is located within walking distance to San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. The San Diego Convention Center and San Diego Airport is located 1.5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing