We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Ranked #143 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was no question a value and nice place to stay. My kids and I were comfortable and enjoyed the amenities. I would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaster2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

3 items 5+, for Location (AT&T, Motorola, Qualcomm) ,SUPERIOR HELPFUL STAFF, and WOW WIFI - furthest room on the 4th floor and had 100% connectivity. For those of us who need it that in itself makes this hotel a great bargain. The breakfast was fine with a different mix of items every day. Evening "meals" are what you expect for "free". The rooms are OLD and need to be updated....which I was told will be happening starting 3/12/12....much needed compared to other "suite" hotels. Would like a jacuzzi to relax in but that is a "want" not a need. I utilized the shuttle to go back and forth to work (AT&T offices) and they were super!
"

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaveiPhoneWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I travel to this area a few times a year for work and have stayed at a few different hotels. I will not be staying at this one again.

Bad: Dirty furniture and floors, see pictures. Loud gas station and busy street outside, love being woken up at 6 to honks and trucks backing up. Ancient zenith TVs with terrible picture and reception. Very little sunlight in the Mira Mesa-facing rooms. AWFUL mattress, my back hurt every morning. Old decor.

Good: Has a kitchen. Next to grocery store and food court. Free parking. Heated pool (no hot tub). Breakfast and snacks 5:30-7:30. Nice staff.

I was only here 2 nights, I'd be depressed if I had to stay here for a long term assignment. But if you do, ask for a room facing the pool or rear of the hotel. The front, facing Mira Mesa Blvd is so loud, dark, and crappy view.


My corporate rate was $199, which is way too much for this place . As a comparison, we pay the same as the Torrey Pines Hilton which is way nicer (you will pay $25 a day for parking at the dHilton). Or Drive a few extra miles to the Embassy Suites on La Jolla Village Drive if you don't need a kitchen.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room, facing rear of hotel or recreation area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoesTo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear GoesTo11,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at our hotel.
Your feedback is appreciated as this lets us know on what areas we can improve.

Thanks again,

Katie J
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This suite is close to the business district (qualcomm and Motorola offices). Very hospitable staff and great breakfast in the morning. Also close to the super markets and shopping complexes. You could also use the complimentary shuttle service for short trips around the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed at Staybridge suites, San Diego for a month during one of my assignments in office. The place is next to a food court and very close proximity to major corporates. Overall this place offers a nice stay with homely atmosphere and benefits you can truely utilize.

They offer free shuttle to nearby office locations, nice buffet breakfast and mouth watering freshly baked cookies in the evening.

The taste of freshly brewed beer alongside the swimming pool is definitely a relaxing experience.

This hotel has ample of parking space and well mannered front desk executives. Definitely a suggested place to try for foreigners visiting San Diego.

The down side I found is the room service on some occasions. The room cleaning is sometimes delayed and you need to remind them every time you leave the room.
The other problem is the magnetic access cards. Most of the times they wont work and you need to run to the front desk to get a replacement card.

The hotel has a nice Gym with decent amount of equipment to exercise for fitness freaks.

Laundry facility is available on the ground floor so you need not carry bag full of clothes for your trip.

Free Wifi and wired internet access are also a plus point.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed but the rooms on 2nd floor overlooking the Mira Mar airbase offer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santu71182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My wife and I have both been assigned to San Diego recently (since late August) as part of our company's expansion. We initially stayed at Residence Inn in a 2 bedroom suite for 3 weeks before deciding to move to Staybridge Suites in Mira Mesa, with similar amenities and accommodations. My wife and I initially thought that value wise it gives more bang for the buck. But just after one night we already had a scary and disappointing experience. First when we were getting ready for work, the closet door which should at least be 50 lbs heavy, fell on our 3 yo son while he was closing the thing after getting a pair of socks. We were scared s#*t upon realizing what happened. But when we realized it was just his toe that got hit, we decided to call the operator to send in the maintenance guy to fix the closet. Our son recovered and looks fine to me. However, when we came back to our room later that day, the house keeping did not exactly do what was supposed to be done, which is to clean at least the floor and replenish the coffee, soaps, shampoo and conditioners in both rooms. At least the house keeper took the tip we left at the table. So far it's disappointing now we're thinking of moving out by Friday.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnecolus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa hotel is a very good hotel - but in need of a bit of a face lift. It has all the usual facilities you would expect from Staybridge - large, comfortable suites, good facilities and a lovely outside pool. The rooms and corridors leading down to them were in need of a bit of a facelift - but nothing too drastic (we were told that the hotel plan to do this soon - so it is very good that the management hotel realise this themselves). The hotel is located close to a main highway and this provides easy access to all the sites from the area. I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blownawish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
8.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
3.4 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Address: 6639 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-6307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £70 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to the Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa! Located just minutes from I-805 and I-15, we put all of the wonderful things San Diego has to offer at your fingertips! Nestled within San Diego's Telecomm and Biotech Corridor, we are also a quick drive to Sea World, La Jolla, Lego Land and the North County beach communities. Next door you'll find a shopping center complete with over 15 restaurants including: Thai, Greek, Mexican, Sushi, and Indian cuisine, BevMo, UPS Store and a Fresh and Easy Grocery store. All of our spacious suites feature our newly upgraded bedding as well as a fully equipped kitchen. We also offer premium cable, complete with international channels, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Our 24 hour guest service staff are always on call to help make your stay with us exceptional. Please make yourself at home and get comfortable at the Staybridge Suites in Sorrento Mesa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Staybridge Suites Sorrento Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing