We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Ranked #150 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good for business stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa is a home style equipped suite hotel in business and shopping district of San Diego.

Suites are spacious, with acceptable furniture, a kitchenette has everything, and even coffee is almost good… for US:)

Free parking and fast WI-FI are clear advantages. Sleeping quality is very good, although air-condition system is noisy. Full service is only once a week, everyday service is provided on a "quick touch" basis.

Boring - but free - breakfast. Social events with free food and beers and wines are on some weekday evenings are a really nice attraction if you come on time.

Cons: far away from downtown and city attractions, which is not a problem when you are with a car.

All-in-all, very good place to stay in north San Diego when you are there for business and are not looking for luxury.

Room Tip: Don't miss self-service washing machines and driers. You can buy a detergent in a hotel kiosk fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LevAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maruja A, Digital and Social Media Specialist at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Hi,

We would like to Thank You for your great review about our hotel. We appreciate your business with us. If you need any assistance with a future reservation you can call us directly at 858.453.5343

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    66
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
77
19
10
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Staybride in Anaheim as well and this one was much nicer. The rooms were newer and bigger. The breakfast was about the same but had a few more choices like omelets and rice. The staff was awesome. It was quiet and not crowded like Anaheim. The location was a little far from Old Town and the Zoo (30 min) but close to beaches at La Jolla and Torrey Pines (15 min).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmccoypta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maruja A, Digital and Social Media Specialist at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Hi

We would like to Thank You for your nice review to our hotel. We appreciate your business.

If you need any assistance on your future reservations please call us directly at 858.453.5343

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Comfortable beds. Clean rooms. Average hot breakfast every morning. Light dinner, beer and wine Tuesday thru Thursday evenings. Shuttle takes you within 5 mile radius, but unfortunately only runs until 6:30 or 7:00 at night, apparently dependent on the mood of the driver. Small, but nice pool. Nice outside sitting area.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Urban5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maruja A, Digital and Social Media Specialist at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
We would like to Thank You for your review. We appreciate you business with us. We will forward your concern to our Manager. We hope to see you again soon. If you need assistance or question with any of your future reservations. Please call us at 858.453.53.43.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

This is a very good choice hotel for short as well as long staying guests. Very good price, well appointed, clean room with kitchenette. Friendly front desk staff.

The only shortcoming of my stay was the breakfast which I feel could have had a better choice of fresh fruits and the scrambled eggs were over cooked.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckenzthm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maruja A, Digital and Social Media Specialist at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Hello,

We our "thankful" that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your business with us.
We hope that your next visit is to choose our hotel once again. If you need any assistance or question with a future reservation. Please call us directly at 858.453.5343

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The apartments are new and everything is included.
We had a 2 bedroom suite, it had 2 bathrooms, a lounge area and kitchenette.
There is a BBQ area outside, heated outside pool, basketball court and small gym (cardio and some light weights).
I think what totally blew us away was the FREE laundry room! About 6 washing machines and dryers, with our group of 5 adults and 2 small kids it was very handy.
The breakfast had good variety and they even had a free drinks and snacks in the dining room at night.
Across the road was a shopping area (loads of eat-in and takeaway food places, a small fresh supermarket, Starbucks, the regular fast food haunts, etc).
The staff were delightful and if we weren't booked for the rest of our trip we would have definitely stayed longer.
It only took us 30 minutes to get to the zoo, sea world, the gas lamp quarter in our car.

Room Tip: We were on the lower level around the back - great access to the car park, and the laundry. It was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronni68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maruja A, Digital and Social Media Specialist at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi,

We really appreciate and thankful for your business. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. If you need any assistance on booking your future reservation please call us directly at 858.453.5343

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

After reading all the reviews of this hotel we figured we made a good choice..We were surprised after checking in that it is lacking in many regards but also has some very good points as well.
The check in was great and they are very friendly at the desk..Our room was somewhat disappointing..The room wasn,t very clean.The cupboards glass fronts were greasy and the dishwasher and especially the microwave were quite dirty.The fridge had a layer of dust on the top.We found that the room was just generally not very clean and the stairwell we used instead of the old slow elevators were bogus as well.
It's true that the rooms have been updated and I am sure they look better than before but even new can be dirty if not kept up and that's the case here.
We could also here everything being said and done next door..We had to turn the TV up so we could listen to what was on!
The other bogus issue is at the breakfast area..Smokers chuff right out the front door and the smoke wafts in while aging your breakfast..that's sooo enjoyable when you hate the smell of that Shiza.Also this is the only hotel I have been to that puts the cutlery with the business end facing up for everyone to touch.
Some things that are nice here, the free self laundry area is unusual and great and also the grounds and good amount of parking space..The large retail area next door is really handy and has a nice grocery store and many eating options.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Trailblazer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Trailblazer44

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding laundry and parking.

However, We’re sorry you received poor service from our housekeeping and for the smoke in the breakfast area. We will address these points. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel and room were very clean and honestly the kitchenette was nice. Unfortunately we booked with a wholesaler and it bit is in the tush-- being limited.

Pros-
1. Very friendly staff. Can't think of one bad thing regarding them.

2. Clean, very very clean and fresh!
3. Lots of space- and designed to use it efficiently.

Cons-
1. Booked with a wholesaler which feels a full size bed is quite accommodating for two adults over 6 feet tall, which generally is, except upon booking notes were added for king or even queen bed and if there was a surcharge that's fine, we'd pay it. Even spoke to a res agent but the ball was dropped. This is not the hotels fault- they did not receive this information. Would have booked direct at a higher rate to ensure bedding was proper had we known. We asked the front desk if something else was available and we'd pay the surcharge but no luck.

2. Room- have super thin walls. We could hear the folks next door talking- and fully understand their conversation.

3. Location- we were placed in a room right across the hallway from the fitness center and elevator area on the ground floor. BAD SPOT. Absolutely horrid. Why on earth any sane architect would knowingly place a room in such a high traffic area is beyond me. We listened to kids screaming, luggage wheeling across the tile, teenagers running amuck/having giggle fits, folks yelling at each other to grab something from the car and our favorite the gym and laundry facilities door banging shut every 5 minutes. Our window faced the parking lot which wasn't too bad, until a fighting couple walked by and a car alarm went off. Mix all of that with ridiculously thin walls- made it a nightmare to get any sleep-- and this is coming from a woman who lives in a house with a 12 foot tall window facing one of the busiest streets in the city (5 foot walk to the street) which I sleep through fine.. This was just absurd. -- Again asked for ANYTHING away from this area but no luck.

Really, all in all we would stay again- the kitchen was useful- next time we will book direct to ensure bedding and location is not less than satisfactory. Like I said, had the potential to be great-- just a sloppy wholesale company flubbing it up.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maruja A, Digital and Social Media Specialist at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi,

I would to thank you for your comments and We really appreciate your concerns. If you need any assistance on your future reservations please contact us directly at 858.453.5343

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
8.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Property: Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Address: 6639 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-6307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to the Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa! Located just minutes from I-805 and I-15, we put all of the wonderful things San Diego has to offer at your fingertips! Nestled within San Diego's Telecomm and Biotech Corridor, we are also a quick drive to Sea World, La Jolla, Lego Land and the North County beach communities. Next door you'll find a shopping center complete with over 15 restaurants including: Thai, Greek, Mexican, Sushi, and Indian cuisine, BevMo, UPS Store and a Fresh and Easy Grocery store. All of our spacious suites feature our newly upgraded bedding as well as a fully equipped kitchen. We also offer premium cable, complete with international channels, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Our 24 hour guest service staff are always on call to help make your stay with us exceptional. Please make yourself at home and get comfortable at the Staybridge Suites in Sorrento Mesa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Staybridge Suites Sorrento Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing