We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Urban Plates

Urban Plates
Ranked #215 of 4,724 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
201 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My new favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I wish I lived in San Diego again. If only just to come here to eat. Cafeteria style eating. But amazing value. All meals are $10. Lots of side dishes. And the desserts are out of this world. I had the Cobb salad with chicken. Made right in front of me. Side of Brussels sprouts. Best side dish ever! The Mac and cheese looked amazing.

Only issue was long lines but they move pretty quickly. HIGHLY recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    49
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cafeteria style goodness ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I would definitely come back. It'll fill you and is good food for you. The only thing I didn't love was that the food was a bit cold but you can expect that at a cafeteria. Very good.

Helpful?
Thank Dj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All meals are only $10.00”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Fresh, tasty and good hearty selections. Servings are a good size. Its cafeteria style seating. Love it here!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finderica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Amazing value - how do they do it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is not the place to go if you want a gourmet meal, but if you want good food freshly cooked at rock bottom prices, it represents unbelievable value. A main course for $10.99! We both had the most superb steak, cooked in front of us, to exactly the rareness which we wanted, and well trimmed. You have to wait in line as you choose your food, but it only took us a few minutes, and we were able to choose our wine at the end of the line. I suppose the downside is that the food cools slightly as you wait to pay, and at busy times, the line will be longer, and you might find it difficult to find a table, but overall this is a great find for a quick great value meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ericmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Healthy, fresh and yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The line out the door is only one indication of how popular this place is - but don't let the crowd deter you. The service is fast and efficient and the line moves fast. Salads, sandwiches, soup and decadent desserts are only some of the offerings at this wonderful restaurant. The prices are reasonable and the portions are big enough to take extra food home. It can be noisy at lunch time, so either try for an outside table or time your visit a little early or late.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urban Plates also viewed

 

Been to Urban Plates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing